Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing results!
When was the last time you had a meeting that was so well organized and efficient that EVERYONE in the room complimented you? Since I started implementing the lessons in The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings, participants thank me for making sure everyone is prepared (there are tricks to that!), for keeping the meeting moving, and especially for not EVER wasting...
Published on April 3, 2003 by Janet

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dumb book
I have to say that reading this book was a waste of time - a bigger waste of time than the worst meeting ever! The book is written for morons. It's all bullet points and idiotic, irrelevant quotations from Ben Franklin and Shakespeare. I wish I could find a decent book on managing meetings - this one is certainly not it.
Published on February 22, 2007 by Jonathan W. Cohen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing results!, April 3, 2003
By 
Janet (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings (Paperback)
When was the last time you had a meeting that was so well organized and efficient that EVERYONE in the room complimented you? Since I started implementing the lessons in The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings, participants thank me for making sure everyone is prepared (there are tricks to that!), for keeping the meeting moving, and especially for not EVER wasting their time. The use of easy-to-read formatting helps to make this book user friendly and, best of all, the shaded hint boxes with snippets of information make the suggestions, cautions, and concepts easy to remember when it counts most!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, December 21, 2004
This review is from: The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings (Paperback)
This is a handy, short, to-the-point guide about how to conduct meetings. Much of what author Barbara J. Streibel says is common sense, but any manager charged with running meetings knows how quickly common sense goes out the window in that setting. The author covers all of the bases and provides a series of useful checklists to help harried managers meet more effectively and efficiently. Streibel also provides many helpful references to other books that discuss specific techniques and practices. While little here is wildly original, we find that the author gives fresh, lucid and practical treatment to tried-and-true guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective Meeting Skills, December 5, 2006
This review is from: The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings (Paperback)
Many people regard meetings as a nuisance, a total waste of time and money. This is because most meetings are not very productive and are poorly managed and the meeting leader often has no guide on how to run meetings effectively as this subject is seldom taught at schools and colleges. Barbara Streibel has sought to rectify this by coming up with a concise guide that should help managers run productive meetings.

The author captures the essentials of a well run meeting, by providing useful tips and techniques to lead, facilitate and participate productively in meetings. The advice and tips that the author gives are clear, practical and easy to follow and use.

The book teaches readers how to create an agenda, starting and ending meetings on time, stimulate discussion and participation, deal with conflict, focus on achieving meeting goals, providing good leadership, delivering effective meeting presentations etc.

The ideas presented in the book should provide managers with a good and useful reference guide whenever they are holding meetings to ensure that they have lively, well run and productive meetings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dumb book, February 22, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings (Paperback)
I have to say that reading this book was a waste of time - a bigger waste of time than the worst meeting ever! The book is written for morons. It's all bullet points and idiotic, irrelevant quotations from Ben Franklin and Shakespeare. I wish I could find a decent book on managing meetings - this one is certainly not it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meeting cookbook, March 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great for information on how to properly hold a meeting. A source of information for structuring the agenda of a meeting. Good information on what not to do as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Less Expensive Alternative, January 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings (Paperback)
This text can be repetitive and boring. There are other texts I like more, but this had all the nuts and bolts I needed to use in a Leadership Develop Group. I bought over 10 texts. There were a few complaints regarding repetitiveness, but overall it can fit a basic need. Printing quality and paper is ok, not glossy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tips for even the most experienced managers, July 13, 2013
By 
TLFC (Auburn, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings (Paperback)
I've used this book series with many classes I've taught on ways for managers to become more effective. This particular topic - running meetings that are efficient and results-centric - is one I've found to be of tremendous help to even the most experienced of managers. Great, easy-to-implement techniques that take meetings from being a waste of time to being experiences that create forward momentum. FANTASTIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars manage more quick get to the point powerful meetings, February 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings (Paperback)
great book on putting together more shall i say,...exciting ,..yes thats what i said!! exciting meetings!! great book for supervisors and managers at any level! look forward to holding meetings instead of shying away from them. A MUST HAVE !! for putting together well managed meetings!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings
The Manager's Guide to Effective Meetings by Barbara J. Streibel (Paperback - November 8, 2002)
$16.95 $14.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.