Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars - Sexy and Funny, it will make you want to roar!
Mane Event is one of those guilty pleasure kind of books but somehow Shelly Laurenston manages the erotic content while telling two connected stories that are romantic and funny. This is no neat feat considering that the couples spend most of their time getting hot and sweaty and some people may be uncomfortable with the sensuality level and language here. But where a...
Published on September 25, 2007 by melindeeloo

versus
62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two stories in one volume - werelions and werewolves...
"The Mane Event" is two linked stories in one volume. The first story, "Christmas Pride", follows the meeting at Christmastime of two people who were very close at school but whose lives diverged for twenty years. Mace Llewellyn is a human who can turn into a lion and he is being pressured to take up responsibilities within his Pride with regard to the females; however he...
Published on October 4, 2007 by Helen Hancox


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two stories in one volume - werelions and werewolves..., October 4, 2007
"The Mane Event" is two linked stories in one volume. The first story, "Christmas Pride", follows the meeting at Christmastime of two people who were very close at school but whose lives diverged for twenty years. Mace Llewellyn is a human who can turn into a lion and he is being pressured to take up responsibilities within his Pride with regard to the females; however he remembers Dez MacDermot from his youth and believes she is the woman with whom he wants to spend his life. Their meeting again isn't entirely auspicious as it is over the body of one of his Pride members - Dez is a police detective and Mace has just left the Navy. However he instantly insinuates himself into her life, trying to show Dez that they should be together whilst Dez investigates the murder.

The murder plot of this book, although good, is definitely subordinate to the sex part of the book. In some ways that's a disappointment as there were some interesting angles within the mystery - the Lions, Wolves and Hyenas' fighting for territory and yet various individuals crossing boundary lines within species. Most of the action in the book is between Dez and Mace and between the sheets (or in the shower, against a wall, on the couch...) with just a brief fight between the Hyenas and the Wolves to add some interest. Mace's plan for Dez appears to be to wear her down by sex and proximity so that she agrees that they should be together. There are some amusing moments with her two police dogs, with her family and with Mace's partner Smittty but most of the story focuses on the relationship between the main characters - although as a lust-at-first-sight relationship there's little growing or changing between the main characters. For those who enjoy reading books that are largely about sex this is a better example than most with more characterisation than you often see but I felt it would have been a little better if more were made of the murder mystery and of the turf war breaking out between the various Were creatures and if the characters themselves, particularly Mace, changed and grew through their relationship.

The second story, "Shaw's Tail", starts at the end of the first story as Brendon Shaw, one of the lions, is rescued by some of the werewolves. One wolf in particular, Ronnie Lee Reed, is detailed to take care of him after he has been injured. He has a fever and it means Ronnie has quite a tricky time caring for him as he keeps turning into a lion, escaping and trying to seduce her. However they spend more time together and Brandon begins to understand the ties that bind him to his family as well as his desire for a more settled life. Ronnie Lee is a lighthearted, fun girl who never stays anywhere long, who isn't serious about relationships and who often gets into trouble. However, now she's turned thirty she wants to settle down a little and to stop using men for sex; however, when she meets Brendon she finds it difficult to change her nature and to relax into his care.

This story was pleasant enough but the plot was rather thin - most of the action is about Brendon and Ronnie. Ronnie's skittishness as she tries to change from free spirit to settled woman is well written, Brendon's character is less clear - he decides he wants Ronnie and that's it, although he is learning how to handle her as the story continues. Brendon's relationship with his brother and sister, as well as his two children, serves to show us a little more about how Pride and Pack dynamics work but there is less story to this part of "The Mane Event" and consequently it's less of a satisfying read.

Overall the two stories are similar in that their main (mane?) focus always appears to be sex. "Christmas Pride" has more plot but still not a great deal; the characters are interesting but not as well defined as they could be in some cases, and the background world of the Pride and the Pack deserved more detail as it was an interesting construct. It's enjoyable enough reading but without the depth that some other books in this genre have.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book, [...] © Helen Hancox 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars - Sexy and Funny, it will make you want to roar!, September 25, 2007
Mane Event is one of those guilty pleasure kind of books but somehow Shelly Laurenston manages the erotic content while telling two connected stories that are romantic and funny. This is no neat feat considering that the couples spend most of their time getting hot and sweaty and some people may be uncomfortable with the sensuality level and language here. But where a full length novel might have gotten repetitious, these short stories didn't have that problem.

In Christmas Pride - Mace a gorgeous ex-Seal Lion-shifter is back in town and determined to have the one women he's always loved Desiree. Back in high school they were best bud's but now they are all grown up and nothing is going to stand in his way. What I liked about this story is that there was the leftover crushes from when Mace and Dez were kids to build on. Mace has always been in love with this women and never doubts for a minute that she will be his. Dez is a great strong character, and when she ends up in a face off against some nasty shifters, she is tough and smart enough to handle it on her own. No damsel in distress here, definitely a worthy mate for the king of the beasts.

In Shaw's Tail - The way that Lion-shifter Shaw falls so completely for Ronnie Lee a former wild child wolf-shifter, is really appealing. Their courtship is a dance: Shaw stalks and pounces and then retreats so that Ronnie Lee won't feel trapped and flee. Both characters have a great sense of humor, and are playful both in and out of bed. Who says cats and dogs don't mix?

There are also some good supporting characters pulling the strings to get these couples together. I am not familiar with Laurenston's other Pack and Pride stories but it looks like she has a great setup for some follow-on books, starring Dez's former military friends, and the Smith wolf pack (including the sweetly manipulative Sissy Mae and her brother Smitty) who have joined up with Mace to form a security company. And some obnoxious Lionesses that need to meet their mates.

Mane Event was sexy and funny. A great read if you are looking for a light romantic and steamy paranormal read with fur and fangs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I've never laughed so much while reading a romance novel. LOVED the humor! Unfornately, sex took over & cheapened it., January 1, 2009
By 
Alyce In Wonderland "The Looking Glass" (Over the hill or underland, or just behind a tree) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With many synops already written, I'll make my review brief. Note: This book is comprised of two short stories by the same author.

I loved Laurenston's sense of humor. She literally had me busting up and laughing. Few authors are this much fun to read.

I was very disappointed when, half way through the first story, sex took over and everything else was drowned out. Not only were there several chapters in a row of nothing but the h/h having sex, thinking about sex, wishing they were again having sex, imagining having sex..., the language was vulgar to the point of distraction. Not once did the couple "make love" or even "have sex". It was always "f---ing". Truly, I've never seen that word used so many times in one book. After several chapters of it, I started to skim pages so I could get back to the actual story.

With Laurenston's ability to delight a reader so much with her humor, the overwhelming vulgarity and abundance of sex scenes are a waste of her talent. During the first half of the first story, I was sure I'd be coming back on Amazon to order more of her books. After the second half, I didn't even want to read the second story in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mane pride, September 15, 2008
I have read a couple stories in this author's universe but this was the first one in the loosely-connected series. It's well-written and even with my prior knowledge, there were some surprises. It's good enough that I'll be getting more books by this author. The level of eroticism is high so I would not hand it to a younger romance reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read every Laurenston book you can!!!, October 27, 2007
As just an ordinary reader but a prolific one, I say you have to read Mane Event. Then you will run around looking for Shelly Laurenston's other books. The stories are about shape shifters, wolf, lion, and tiger. The characters are kick-butt females and drool worthy males. Of course, loving is involved and lots of humor of the dry kind. Laurenston's books are not dark fantasy like JR Ward. The shifters are totally humanlike in their shifter world. My favorite place to be. Karen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A playful escape with a lot of hot sex scenes, but don't expect much in the way of plot, relationship development, and romance., August 25, 2010
By 
Jane (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has two short stories which are similar. The guy is a lion shifter. He smells a woman and knows she is his mate for life. He is obsessed with being with her, touching her, and having sex. The woman doesn't want a relationship, but she is unable to resist him sexually. The second story was a little better than the first.

CHRISTMAS PRIDE:

STORY BRIEF:
Mace and Dez (Desiree) were best friends in high school until Dez moved away. Mace spent 14 years in the Navy, and now comes back to town for Dez. He has loved her the entire time and his only goal is to make her his. Dez was in the marines and is now a NY City cop. She is sexually drawn to Mace, but she doesn't want any commitment or talk of love. Mace is a lion shape shifter. Dez is human. Their entire relationship seems to be about sex. He is touching her, petting her and having sex with her pretty much throughout the story. And when he is not, he is thinking about it.

When the story begins, Dez does not know shifters exist. Mace's best buddy from the Navy is a wolf shifter. Hyena shifters cause problems for the lion shifters. There are also other lion shifters causing problems for Mace's family (his pride). Someone kills Mace's brother. Mace's sister doesn't think Dez is good enough for Mace.

REVIEWER'S OPINION:
I wanted more plot development and more relationship development. I was tired of hearing how turned on Mace was and how much he wanted Dez. I don't recommend spending money on this, but it might be ok from the library for those hungry for shape shifter books. The best parts were probably the sex scenes which were pretty hot.

DATA:
Story length: 223 pages. Number of sex scenes: 10. Estimated number of sex scene pages: 31.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SHAW'S TAIL:

STORY BRIEF:
Brendan Shaw is a lion shape shifter. He was beaten and almost killed by other shifters when some friends rescued him. He was taken to a hospital. None of his lion relatives were able or willing to stay with him, so someone asked Ronnie to stay while he was in the hospital. Ronnie is a wolf shifter. When Brendan smells Ronnie, he can't resist her. He's never been drawn to anyone like this before. Ronnie only wants short term dating and fears commitment. A second story is about Brendan's brother Mitch who keeps disappearing and never tells Brendan what's going on. There is some time spent with the families of Brendan and Ronnie.

REVIEWER'S OPINION:
Most of the story seems to be about Brendan being obsessed with Ronnie and wanting sex all the time. There wasn't much story or plot. Something about Mitch is revealed toward the end but his mystery is told and not shown. For a lot of hot sex scenes, this was pretty good, but I prefer more plot, character, and relationship development, and maybe a little more in the dialogue area.

DATA:
Story length: 195 pages. Number of sex scenes: 8. Estimated number of sex scene pages: 25.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DATA FOR BOTH STORIES COMBINED:
Story length: 418 pages. Swearing language: strong, including religious swear words. Sexual language: strong. Number of sex scenes: 18. Estimated number of sex scene pages: 56. Setting: current day New York City area. Copyright: 2007 and 2009. Genre: erotic paranormal romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did I read the same book?, May 2, 2011
Well I must admit the book had some funny momements. But I really did not care for it. It is two stories Christmas Pride, Mace (a lion shifter) and Dez (a human cop). I did not like not one single female character is this story. They were all obnoxious, rude and throughly unloveable. I am having a couple of weeks with female leads in Paranormal Romance Novels. I had to make myself finish the story. The second story is Shaw's Tail about Brendan Show (a lion shifter) and Ronnie (a wolf shifter). I liked the female wolves marginally better that the lion and human females!

What makes these shifters different is that the females run the packs-atleast for Lions, but I am thinking kill them all and hand it back over to the men if these are the women you have to deal with. The lion men leave the pack they are raised in and go to another or stay and become a breeding male that satisfies the ladies when they decide they want some kids and they take care of him in return. E[...]
All the characters just argue and fight constantly and use every bad stereotype about New Yorkers and Southerners that there is. None of the siblings in any of the families get along except the wolves and they are just mean to each other and thats supposed to show their love?! I was really looking forward to this since everyone said it was so funny, but not my cuppa tea at all.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted shapeshifter romances, October 5, 2007
"Christmas Pride". When NYPD cop Desiree "Dez" MacDermot sees her childhood friend Mace Llewellyn for the first time in years; she thinks he is one muscular hunk. His stare could melt an iceberg as Mace makes it clear he wants Dez and she feels like heavenly ecstasy as he sniffs and tongues her neck; even his purring puts her in the mood. However, even as she is FALLING Dez has doubts as Mace insists he is a shapeshifting man-lion.

"Shaw's Tail". New York City Hotel owner Brendan Shaw lies in his hospital bed battered from head to toe. However, in spite of the severity of his injuries, Brendan knows his nurse is his soul mate. The lion shapeshifter has to persuade the wolf from Tennessee Ronnie Lee Reed that he is the one for her.

These two linked paranormal novellas star shapeshifting lion-humans and their seemingly opposites in a cat vs. dog tales. Each story is amusing as the lions know who they want, but it is the feline who prove to be the tamers. Lighthearted in nature except in the boudoir, fans will enjoy the jocular romances of shapeshifters.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost a PWP, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mane Event (Pride Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What is a PWP you ask? It stands for "Plot? What plot?" in reference to stories that seem to be written for the express purpose of letting the author write erotica without being encumbered by silly things like character development or a deeper reason for the story to be out there. This is a two volume book (Christmas Pride and Shaw's Tail). In both books, the male characters, Mace Llewellyn and Brendon Shaw, are alpha male shape shifters (lions) and in both books they find their one true love and convince her to stay with them forever in a matter of days. In both books, the men are not the commitment challenged. Both lead woman characters are fairly strong women who fall in lust at first sight, more or less. Dez is a human cop who is investigating a murder in the Llewellyn Pride who knew Mace from school years earlier before he turned into sex on legs. Ronnie Lee is a shape shifter (wolf) who is given the task of looking after Brendon after he is attacked by a pack of hyena shape shifters.

If you are looking for erotica where references are made to "throbbing manhood" or "honeyed wetness", this is not the book for you. The descriptions of the sex act and body parts border on the crude and step over the line a couple of times, especially with Dez. I suppose this is because she was in the military and is now a cop. I must say you do get some character development, more with the women than the men.

I am not a prude, so my objection to all the sex is not that it exists in the stories, but that it gets, well, boring. There is a good role playing scene with Ronnie Lee and Brendon and one scene involving handcuffs with Mace and Dez, but really, if 90% of the story is about the characters getting it on, I would expect a little more adventure in their activities. I bought the book on the recommendation of a friend who found the stories witty as well as sexy, but I can honestly say, I rarely smiled and never had a LOL moment. Not to say I was frowning all the time, but had more of a bored response. I did finish both, which is why I gave this a 3 star, but if I could have given 2 1/2, that is more accurate. To each their own, but I won't be spending more money, or more importantly, time on this particular author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars she makes me laugh, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mane Event (Pride Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Shelly laurenston just has a way of writing some scenes that just makes me chuckle and sometimes laugh out loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mane Event (Pride Book 1)
The Mane Event (Pride Book 1) by Shelly Laurenston
$1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.