Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget shape shifters who make you want to howl, this one will make you want to cover yourself in honey!
I really liked the hero of Mane Squeeze, who can deny the charm of a seven foot drop dead gorgeous shifter in a kilt? As a grizzly shifter, Lock MacRyrie has an understated danger about him that I found truly appealing. A danger which allows this thoughtful sweetheart of a hunk the ability to make even the fiercest breeds of shifters run for cover - or play dead...
Published on October 28, 2009 by melindeeloo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Laughed out loud
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Thanks to a friend suggesting I might like it. Not only did I like it. It was so funny that I read it all in one go.
Published 14 months ago by MJM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Laurenston is my favorite author! I love ALL her books, and this one certainly did not disappoint. Can't wait till the next release...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another furry romp!, December 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This author writes a fun read and the shape-shifters are well-designed. In fact, this entire series is just plain fun. Adult only, but well-plotted and the characters are interesting. Enjpy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 8, 2013
By 
edith simpson (SPANAWAY, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another fascinating series with lots of drama and more, and who knew wolves could be romantic. Waiting for another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition Squeezed into the Pride Series, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Adore the writing of Shelly Laurenston! Another great addition to her Pride Series. Read it many, many times and laugh out loud each and every time. The writing flows in your head and creates the visuals you need to keep a smile on your face, and the book in your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!!!!!!, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mane Squeeze (Paperback)
This is the first book I ever read from Shelly Laurenston and I had my family staring at me like I was crazy because I was laughing so hard. Lock and Gwen are perfect for each other but it's their characters that do not fail to amuse. And then there is Gwen and Blayne who never fail to attract trouble, like the snake incident at the basement. That was funny but Project Bear-cat was hilarious as are the author's take on Lock's unexpectedly frightening mother (when she wants to be) and Gwen's relationship with her siblings. This book is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good addition to the series :D, October 26, 2013
4 stars

This was a very good story. I really liked Gwen and Lock was great. This is a really good series and this book was a good addition to it.

Gwen is a crossbreed shifter, being a combination of a Lion and a Tiger. She is from Pennsylvania and is the half-sister of Mitch (from book #3 The Mane Attraction). She lives with her mother's pride but isn't truly part of the pride. Unfortunately, her family is pretty much always trying to run her life which doesn't make things easy. She and her best friend, Blayne end up in New York for a visit when her life gets turned upside-down.

Lock is a grizzly shifter. He has a pretty sedate life and enjoys it. He does software work as a job but does woodworking as a hobby (but dreams of doing it full time). Lock doesn't think he's interested in a woman but when he meets Gwen for the first time, he's strongly attracted to her. Unfortunately, interfering family causes problems when he tries to get close to her.

Lock and Gwen first meet at Smitty and Jess' wedding. The meeting is brief but makes an impact. When they meet again, it's during a stressful situation and Lock helps Gwen and protects her. Unfortunately, Gwen's brother (actually the half-brother of her half-brother Mitch but no blood relation) Brendan decides to take it upon himself to chase Lock off and "protect" Gwen. To be honest, Brendan and Ronnie (his mate) seemed put in the book just to cause issues for Gwen. Brendan and Ronnie behaved horribly and they did nothing but piss me off with their actions for around the first 20% of the book. Due to their interference, Lock and Gwen don't see each other for a while and Gwen thinks Lock broke a promise he made to her so she's not happy with him. During this time, Gwen has moved to the New York area and is running a plumbing business with Blayne. It's a plumbing job that brings Gwen and Lock back in contact with each other and after a few more meetings, Lock has decided that Gwen is the woman he wants.

Lock knows he'll have to sneak a relationship up on Gwen because she'd reject a straight out push for one. Lock does very well at being very sneaky about getting her to want to see more of him. What they don't realize, is that Blayne, the Wild Dog pack and a few other allies are behind the scenes trying to help him get together with Gwen. While she's attracted to Lock, she just wants to sleep with him. Lock refuses right off the bat because he wants more from her. This doesn't last very long though and Gwen soon finds out what's so great about sex with bears (can we say magic lips?). Lock slowly reals Gwen in (with help from their friends) while they deal with multiple issues, including Gwen's family interfering in their relationship and a family feud that Gwen didn't know about that ends up bring trouble (and danger) to her multiple times throughout the book. Through the troubles, Lock and Gwen grow closer, admitting their feelings for each other and solidifying their relationship. In the end, they work through their issues and Gwen and Lock are happy together, starting a sweet HEA.

This was a very good story. I liked Gwen and enjoyed seeing her make a life for herself away from her family and with Lock. Lock is so sweet and I loved him (I'd have loved to see him in his Halloween costume!!!) and was happy that he found happiness with Gwen. As usual, the secondary characters in the book are great (outside of Brendan and Ronnie being annoying at the beginning of the book) and help make the story interesting. I can't wait to read book #5, which will be Blayne's book. I'd recommend this book. Thumbs up. :D

* note - I listened to the audio version of this book. The narrator did a good job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of my favorite books!!!, October 24, 2013
By 
Honeybearshaddy1 (Tucson, az United States) - See all my reviews
If you have never read a Shelly Laurenston book - then you are missing out. I love her stories - they are full of humor and romance. Every heroine is well developed with attitude and they fall for some pretty amazing heroes. Please take the time to read her pride series books - you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Main Squeeze, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just loved this series. I really hope Shelly Laurenston writes more in this series. I could not put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bears are good, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this series. A calm good natured big old bear!!!! The bear is just the most loveable protective man in this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this bear shifter!, May 30, 2013
This review is from: The Mane Squeeze (Paperback)
This book I really loved. I liked Gwen from the start, she is half lion, half tiger, also called a tigon. She is Mitch's little sister (the hero from the previous book) and at the wedding of Jess and Smitty, she meets Lock, a grizzly bear shifter. Hybrids are not really welcome in shifter society, a lot of shifters want to keep the bloodlines pure. And the mixes often look really strange when shifter. Like Blayne, Gwen's best friend, who is a wolf-dog. For the most part she looks like a wolf, but she has dog ears and feet. And I am dreading to read her story, as she is obnoxiously perky and happy and always smiling. I did meet her briefly in the latest book, Wolf with Benefits, and did not really like her in that one either. She is a major secondary character in this book, as Gwen and Blayne get into business together, as plumbers in New York City. Which means they will have to stay at Brendon Shaw's hotel, at least until they find a place to live on their own, on which their family has approved.
I absolutely disliked Mitch even more in this book, as he never approves of anything his "little sister" does; he wants her back home at Philly and in their mother's Pride. He can't understand that as a tigon, she has never been accepted into the Pride, even though she is a member of the family.

Then there is our hero, Lock. I loved him from the first page. A grizzly bear shifter, huge in human form, enormous in his bear shape. He sure loves his salmon and honey, and he thinks about things, before acting on something. Which is totally new for someone like Gwen, who often jumps to conclusions. I love it when he just take hold of her, when she wants to run off when she misunderstands him. He explains himself to Gwen, and I just love Lock.
His family is strange but nice, and Gwen's family is just weird and not-nice. And well, bear shifters are exemplary lovers thanks to their versatile lips ...
Lock has his future all planned out, just a few more years of making money with software, thanks to Jess, and then he can retire and start woodworking fulltime. For now, it is just a hobby, a passion. But when Gwen finds out, she starts selling his stuff for him, calling him an artist, as he makes the most gorgeous wooden furniture. I enjoyed how she just takes control of Lock and looks after him.

There is a little plot about the bias against hybrids, and bad guys who abduct them for some sort of cage fighting. And what I loved especially, is that it brings Dee Ann Smith back into the thick of things. I enjoy her character, and can't wait for her book, as Ric Van Holtz is totally in love with her already.

9 stars.

© 2013 Reviews by Aurian

Full review on my blog, www.boeklogboek.blogspot.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mane Squeeze
The Mane Squeeze by Shelly Laurenston (Paperback - October 27, 2009)
$14.00 $11.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.