Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mannerheim Line
This is a great period action story. The author certainly knows his way around airplanes and gives the reader lots of unusual detail that will be appreciated by airplane buffs. The chapters on World War II in Finland provide a new picture of a little known campaign. The characters are well drawn. They aren't unrealistic glamor types, but good guys trying to get the...
Published on June 9, 2002 by Jo

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I regret my decision to read this
I'm somewhat of a WWII history buff, mostly because of family involvement. While casually searching for titles on the progress of the war in the China-Burma-India theater, Amazon popped this recommendation up. After a quick Internet search about the Mannerheim Line, I decided to buy the title.
Mr. Evans, who is obviously self published, has titled his novel after the...
Published on November 16, 2010 by Pennsylvania Paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mannerheim Line, June 9, 2002
By 
Jo (SAN FRANCISCO, US, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mannerheim Line (Paperback)
This is a great period action story. The author certainly knows his way around airplanes and gives the reader lots of unusual detail that will be appreciated by airplane buffs. The chapters on World War II in Finland provide a new picture of a little known campaign. The characters are well drawn. They aren't unrealistic glamor types, but good guys trying to get the job done. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of history, July 20, 2002
By 
Willa Bose (Waskom, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mannerheim Line (Paperback)
The author evidentally thoroughly researched the historical events in this book. It was well written and easy to read. The narration is excellent. The characters are made to seem as real American heroes. It records a part of history that is little-known to the average reader. Those familiar with aircraft would particularly appreciate the book and its terminology. Recommended reading for those who are interested in lesser-known world events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nevil Shute fans will like this book, August 9, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mannerheim Line (Paperback)
As a Nevil Shute fan I always wondered what happened to the Viceroy parked in the rear of the Airspeed Ltd. hangar that Shute described in his book Slide Rule. Now I know. Airspeed Ltd., Nevil Norway and the Viceroy are all packed into The Mannerheim Line. If you like Nevil Shute you'll like this book--it's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ0---A PAGE TURNER, February 5, 2006
This review is from: The Mannerheim Line (Paperback)
If you're an aviation, history or WWII buff, you'll like this book. The timeline is historically correct and you'll learn about the Russo-Finnish War---a war that you probably never heard of. It was a page turner that I hated to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I regret my decision to read this, November 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm somewhat of a WWII history buff, mostly because of family involvement. While casually searching for titles on the progress of the war in the China-Burma-India theater, Amazon popped this recommendation up. After a quick Internet search about the Mannerheim Line, I decided to buy the title.
Mr. Evans, who is obviously self published, has titled his novel after the major defensive line upon which Finland relied to protect it from Russian invasion at the beginning of WWII. It really has very little to do with the Mannerheim Line, or Finland. In fact, the Mannerheim Line is not even a major episode in the wildly disjointed chapters that Mr. Evans has tacked together and sold as this book. Don't misunderstand me, I read a lot of junk and always have, and I've even enjoyed some of it. But not this book. The story is improbable and the characters are as hollow as empty beer cans. The writing is downright poor, reading like the kind of mass produced term paper I understand high school students now buy so they don't have to learn how to write. It's got everything: misspellings, improper useage, absent punctuation, miserable paragraph structure, you name it. If you are a high school English teacher, reading this could be hazardous to your health. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mannerheim Line
The Mannerheim Line by Jacques Evans (Paperback - April 20, 2002)
Used & New from: $189.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.