Customer Reviews


466 Reviews
5 star:
 (383)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


230 of 235 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same content as the 2002 release -- and that's good!
Despite new packaging and a hokey new subtitle, this release of Disney's original three Winnie the Pooh featurettes is actually identical to the 2002 "25th Anniversary Edition" -- same video, same audio, same bonus features. And for once, that's good! That earlier DVD transfer was already digitally restored and had some good extras, including "A Day for Eeyore" and one of...
Published on June 17, 2007 by Julie Neal

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forced Widescreen, Cropped Image
I would like this Blu-Ray release if the video wasn't missing a lot of the top and bottom of the original picture. It's been forced into widescreen by cropping/cutting picture off of the top and bottom of the video and then they added black bars to the sides so it didn't look stretched and set it to play as widescreen.

I want the original 1:33 aspect ratio with...
Published 11 months ago by Becky


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

230 of 235 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same content as the 2002 release -- and that's good!, June 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Despite new packaging and a hokey new subtitle, this release of Disney's original three Winnie the Pooh featurettes is actually identical to the 2002 "25th Anniversary Edition" -- same video, same audio, same bonus features. And for once, that's good! That earlier DVD transfer was already digitally restored and had some good extras, including "A Day for Eeyore" and one of Disney's better making-of documentaries, but was pulled off the shelves early last year. Now, however, it's back, with the same vibrant colors, sharp focus and near-perfect 5.1 soundtrack.

In other words, this is Disney at its best. "The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh" is a charming, gentle, quality film that hasn't aged a bit and looks and sounds terrific. Unless you already own the "25th Anniversary Edition," this new release is a must.

Actually, there is one new bonus feature: an episode of the computer-animated Disney Channel series, "My Friends Tigger and Pooh." In case you haven't seen it, it adds two new characters to the story: Darby, a 6-year-old girl, and her dog Buster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Movie, July 27, 2002
A Kid's Review
People have watched Winnie the Pooh on videos separately from 1966 to 1977, when they made the video we now call "The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh." In 1977, Disney brought the videos together to make a wonderful, heartwarming video.
The video contains 4 storybook classics. In "Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree", Pooh eats so much honey at Rabbit's house and gets stuck in a hole.

In the Oscar award winning "Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day", there is a big flood and Piglet must be saved.

In "Winnie the Pooh and Tigger too", Tigger learns that even bouncing can be over done, and gets stuck in a tree.

In "Winnie the Pooh and the Day for Eeyore", Eeyore thinks everyone has forgotten his birthday, but Pooh, Piglet, Tigger, Owl, and Christopher Robin throw him a party.

Even though these stories are all good, the best of the four is obviously the classic "Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree". I think it is the best one because it is the first, and it is full of action, like when Pooh climbs the honey tree, and when he gets stuck, and when he flies into the honey tree.
These stories have been entertaining Pooh lovers all around, especially the first two.

This video has great voices and animation. Paul Winchell does the voice of Tigger, Sterling Holloway does the voice of Pooh,(in the Day for Eeyore it is Hal Smith). Hal Smith also does Owl, Ralph Wright does Eeyore, Clint Howard does Roo, Junius Matthews does Rabbit, Barbara Luddy does Kanga, and for Christopher Robin, it is different each time.
This is a great movie for kids, and if you buy it, I hope you enjoy it. Pooh and his friends go on many adventures, and you will enjoy watching Pooh's adventures.
If you buy this, I know you will enjoy it. The video is full of magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WInnie the Pooh.......a family Treasure....., September 16, 2003
By 
mypetconcubine (Waianae, Hawaii U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This is one of the Disney's materpieces. I'm in my 20's and I grew up with Winnie the pooh not only with the movie but with the tv series and the Book. It is hard to imagine a more delightful DVD introduction to A. A. Milne's cherished Winnie the Pooh books than this 1977 short stories, which gathered the Disney studio's original trio of animated featurettes: Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree (1966): Pooh of course goes out looking for hunny and gets into some trouble, the Oscar-winning Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day (1968): the hundred acre woods is flooded and piglet is in trouble, and Winnie the Pooh and Tigger, Too (1974):this is one of my favorite of the short stories where you meet tigger and you hear him sing his memorable song. Pooh was a pet project of Walt Disney, whose children loved the books about the "willy nilly silly old bear" and his friends in the Hundred Acre Wood. Faithful to the look and gentle spirit of the books, these mellow shorts do Milne proud. With the voices of Sterling Holloway as Pooh, Paul Winchell as Tigger, and John Fiedler as Piglet, the delightful characters come to life. The DVD edition includes a honey jar full of additional special features, including interactive sing-alongs and various activities. But the best part is how they restored the animation vivid and stunning as i would believe as when the movies first arrived in theathers. This movie is my family's favorite. At least once a month my nephew watches it and sings along and is enchanted by silly Pooh, little piglet, gloomy eeyore, rabbit and his gardening,know it all owl, kanga and little roo and bouncy tigger too. This is sure to be in your dvd collection already or soon, where you can be enchanted by one of disney's greatest materpieces about a boy named christopher robin and his nilly silly old bear pooh and his friends and a wonderful place called the hundred acre woods!
5 stars ***** two thumbs way way way up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly Old Bear, November 1, 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Before his death, Walt Disney had started his staff on a series of shorts starring A. A. Milne's creation Winnie the Pooh. Because he knew American audiences weren't that familiar with the character yet, he decides that a series of short features would be best, followed by a movie combining them together. This is that movie. Originally released in 1977, it combines the three shorts that had been previously released, "Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree," "Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day," and "Winnie the Pooh and Tigger, Too" with a couple new transitions to make the stories flow together.

The story is set in the Hundred Acre Wood where Winnie the Pooh, a bear with very little brain, lives along with his friends. There's Christopher Robin, a young boy, wise Owl, gloomy Eeyore, Rabbit, small and easily frightened Piglet, Kanga and her son Roo, and bouncy Tigger. No matter what they face, they face it together, at least in the end.

The first set of stories revolves around Pooh's love of honey. When he runs out, he tries to get some from bees and then visits Rabbit where he gets stuck after eating too much.

A natural disaster visits the Hundred Acre woods when a blustery day is followed by a flood. While facing danger, Pooh also learns about Heffalumps and Woozles who may be after his honey.

Finally, Tigger's bouncing gets the best of Rabbit and he tries to debounce Tigger. Undeterred, Tigger gets himself and Roo stuck in a tree.

These cartoons are sweet and innocent. They easily bring back memories of childhood and simpler times. There is gentle humor and the simple lessons aren't done in a heavy-handed manner.

The style of the animation is fairly unique in the Disney canon. It's pencil line heavy. Even though the artists have made it their own, it still reminds the view of Ernest Shepherds charming "decorations" from the books.

These stories are very true to their source material. The new character Gopher is introduced, but as he's not in the book, he's not even in the second half. Probably the most curious choice was the use of a book. The pages turn as the story progresses and we move in on page illustrations to see what happens next. I'll admit it took me quite some time to get used to the idea, but I do see the charm in it now.

The main audience for this movie has always been kids, and the 25th anniversary release reflects that. Most of the features are kid friendly, with games, a sing along song, and a story time segment. Adults will enjoy the behind the scenes featurette. You can choose to watch the movie with pop up facts running. Most of them are ordinary, but there are a few fun trivia items included. Also included is the short "A Day for Eeyore." It was originally released in 1981 and features a few new voices because of cast deaths. It's a fun feature with a couple of my favorite stories from the books, but is a little disconcerting to watch right after seeing the film. As to the film itself, the picture is sharp and the sound is great. It's presented in full frame. I have no proof, but I suspect that was the original aspect ration.

This is a nice film for young kids. Adults may not enjoy it as much as some kid's films, but if they watch with an open mind, it will release their inner child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Many Adventures Of Winnie The Pooh 25th Anniversary DVD, June 29, 2002
I was never really interested in Pooh, even as a kid. So I never saw or really researched the original Disney classic until now with the new 25th Aniversary release on DVD. I was very surprised to see that the majority of the movie's vignettes were produced by Walt himself before his death. I have never read any other the original stories by A.A. Milne, but judging by what I have heard this film does justice to the original classic tales.
The film offers simplistic animation, becuase of budget or artistic integrity - - I do not know. I assume it's the latter becuase the art works perfectly. The art looks just like drawings would look in an old English children's book.
This is indeed probably one of the few Disney classics that children 2 years and under could watch all the way through without having to skip over an evil witch, or a pirate, which are too intense for toddlers. For parents, this film is far from the worst thing you could sit through. It's actually not bad at all. It's full of charm.
The DVD also has a great making of documentary, with interviews and highlights with the film's artists that better expressed what Walt's vision for Pooh was before he turned into a multi-million dollar machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winnie The Pooh Before He Went Hollywood (and Orlando), April 14, 2000
Like that other cuddly British import, James Bond, Winnie The Pooh grew (diminished?) from literary figure to film icon to corporate symbol. Each new feature starring either has dumbed down character and plot to cariacture; in Bond's case, gadgetry and double entendre, in Pooh's, platitudes about family and friendship (Not that A.A. Milne, Pooh's creator, opposed these bedrock concepts, he chose more creative, knotty ways to express them in his narratives.)
It helps to remember the basics. In Pooh's case, that means Milne's books and this film, which gently introduces Pooh and his friends Owl, Rabbit, Piglet, Eeyore, Tigger and Christopher Robin. It does so while adhering to the books' narrative tone (helped by narrarator Sebastian Cabot). The songs, voices (particularly Paul Winchell and the late Sterling Holloway as Pooh), backgrounds, and characterizations would never be closer to Milne's (or for that matter, Walt Disney's) original vision. The Pooh TV series tried weekly to capture the wistfulness of the book's and film's final moments where Christopher Robin goes to school and leaves the Hundred Acre Wood. Here, it's done with minimal sentimentality while capturing loss of preschool imagination and happy isolation children face. This video is essential for anyone owning anything with Pooh's picture on it. This movie, and book it stems from, are why so many love Winnie The Pooh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEFFALUMPS AND WOOZLES-BEWARE!!, May 5, 2007
By 
The film is actually composed of material from three previously released animated shorts:

Winnie the Pooh and the Honey Tree (1966)

Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day (1968)

Winnie the Pooh and Tigger Too! (1974)

Also included:

Winnie the Pooh and a Day for Eeyore (1983)

WTP and the Honey Tree (sp HUNNY)

This is the first episode and here we have Pooh visiting an unenthusiastic Rabbit who never enjoys Pooh's company because of his amazing appetite: Pooh's exercise song-"When I up down touch the ground

Puts me in the mood-

Up down touch the ground-

In the mood-

for Food!"

Pooh, predictably, eats up every last "smackerel" of Rabbit's hunny and finds he is now so tubby he is unable to leave Rabbit's house as he cannot squeeze through the hole!

The animals run to get Christoper Robin, who, after some consideration, decides Pooh must go on a crash diet. This experiment lasts several agonizing days for both Pooh and Rabbit, who tries in vain to disguise this plump bear and sits in his chair in despair.

Eventually Pooh returns to his former "svelte" state and emerges from Rabbit's hole with such force he is flung into the next page of the storybook and finds himself in the hole of a hunny tree!

WTP and the Blustery Day

It is Wednesday, or WINDSDAY in the Hundred Acre Wood, and little Piglet is industriously sweeping fallen leaves in front of his house-"It's not the leaves that are going, it's the leaves that are coming!" and Pooh comes by just in time to catch hold of Piglet's scarf to keep him from being carried away in the stiff breeze.

Kanga and Roo hop by and Roo begs Pooh: "Can I fly Piglet next?"

The Blustery Day turns into an even more Blustery Night and Pooh hears a Noise. He opens his door to investigate and hears the Noise again-this time he decides (being a bear of Very Little Brain) to invite the Noise in.

Here we have a joyous introduction to Tigger, T-I-Double-Ger Tigger!

The Wonderful Thing about Tiggers-

Is Tiggers are wonderful Things-

Their Tops are made out of Rubber-

Their Bottoms are madde out of Springs-

They're Bouncy Flouncy Bouncy Flouncy Fun Fun Fun Fun Fun!

But the most Wonderful thing about Tiggers is I'm the Only One! I'm-the only one!

Tigger, after trying Pooh's hunny and finding Tiggers DON'T like it, warns Pooh to beware of Heffalumps and Woozles...

Tigger departs leaving Pooh alone to patrol his house guarding against these unknown but scary sounding beasts.

Eventually he gets tired and falls asleep dreaming of Heffalumps and Woozles clomping, tromping and trumpeting through his head in a wonderful sequence reminiscent of the Pink Elephant part in Dumbo.

The next day the 100 Acre Wood is flooded and Piglet gets swept away on the water clutching a chair. Eventually Piglet is rescued and the friends all meet with Christopher Robin to help Owl find a home to replace the one he lost in the storm. Eeyore ambles over and takes the group to Owl's new home, which turns out to be Piglet's!

No one says anything and Piglet generously allows Owl to have his former home and Pooh puts his arm around Piglet and invites him to move into his house.

This touching episode ends with a party for the heroes of the day and everyone happy and no one homeless.

WTP and Tigger Too

Tigger's bounce gets on Rabbit's nerves and the friends try to lose him on a trip into the Woods. Rabbit winds up getting lost and scared and Tigger rescues him. Tigger, resuming his bounce, bounces himself into a tree and elicits the help of Sebastian Cabot, the Narrator, to Narrate him down, which Cabot obligingly does, by tipping the book and letting Tigger slide down to the next page of the book.

The last episode is WTP and a Day for Eeyore

Eeyore's Birthday and he thinks no one remembers it. But the gang gets together and eventually give Eeyore his gifts, not in their original condition (Pooh eats all the hunny in the pot which was his gift and Piglet pops the balloon which was his gift) but gratefully accepted nonetheless. Here we are introduced to the new game of Poohsticks.

This is really excellent animation and storytelling, with the Disney stalwart Sterling Holloway bringing Pooh to life with his wonderful voice (Cheshire Cat) and Paul Winchell as Tigger.

The last feature Disney oversaw personally (with the exception of the last short) and a fine one it is.

Pooh is an indispensable addition to any childhood and the animators have a distinct Ernest Shepard flavor to their work, which adds even more to this great classic.

"Somewhere in the 100 Acre Woods a little boy and his bear will always be playing."

Paraphrasing from the book, after Christoper Robin goes away to school and has to leave Pooh behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!!!, March 3, 2005
By 
This movie is such a classic none of the new pooh movies do it justice. Sterling Holloway is THE voice for pooh he just fitted it so well. The songs in this movie are so charming and get stuck in your head they are perfect songs to sing to your newborn. So sweet and calm. This movie really touches my heart. I love mostly all Disney movies but this one really is in a catagory all its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sweet and entertaining, July 28, 2005
My two year old son really loves this DVD. The first time we watched it I think I was even more entertained than him. It's very sweet. I love the fact that it ties in so closeley with the book. Each animated chapter starts with an actual page of type. There are no scary scenes, no meanies, just light sweet entertainment that's perfect for a tiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Winnie, March 20, 2006
The whole family will find this cute, but very young children will get the biggest kick out of it. This is probably one of Disney's best. Charming story based on childrens books by A.A. Milne who wrote based on his son Christopher Robin's adventures with a bear at the zoo and the stuffed animals that were made for him. You can't beat the animation, narration, voices, or music used in this wonderful animated version of the story. This is a timeless classic that generations will enjoy. Get it for your kids and keep if for your grandchildren.

I immediately bought it when it first became available. I'm glad I did as Disney in it's infinite wisdom sells a certain number and doesn't produce more for eight years typically. This is their marketing strategy for keeping demand up. Personally I think their marketing person or whomever thought that up should take a long walk off a short pier. What it means is your kids at the prime of when they should see it won't unless you own one all ready. Now being the wonderful guy that I am, I'm sure your possitive votes will show it. I am going to tell you to go to eBay.com and search this title. There are some reliable people still selling copies for less than half what you see the scalpers here trying to get for it. Be careful for copies. If the box does not have a serial number on the folding end, there is no Chapter index card inside and the DVD label is not painted onto the DVD, but a paper label, it is a fake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.