Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the series
Love him or hate him, The Miz has taken this series by storm. While Cena may have started it off and had a few good moments, and Ted Dibiase had a few of his own, Miz really takes it up another notch. Great action movie. Not something you would expect to see in the theaters of course, but perfect for a Straight-to-DVD release.
Published 21 months ago by TormentedHero

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HE'S NOT A LOSER
This film is grossly formulaic with bad acting. It has the lame soundtrack and writing of a Lifetime film. Jake (Mike 'The Miz' Mizanin) is home on 2 weeks leave in the small town of Bridgetown, Washington. He stays with his two sisters, doesn't approve of their boyfriends and has a hard time controlling himself to the dismay of family and friends. For a Marine, he needs...
Published 20 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HE'S NOT A LOSER, March 16, 2013
This film is grossly formulaic with bad acting. It has the lame soundtrack and writing of a Lifetime film. Jake (Mike 'The Miz' Mizanin) is home on 2 weeks leave in the small town of Bridgetown, Washington. He stays with his two sisters, doesn't approve of their boyfriends and has a hard time controlling himself to the dismay of family and friends. For a Marine, he needs a haircut.

Meanwhile, Jonah Pope (Neal McDonough) is a bad guy who has a grudge against the system. Being raked over by the stock market, banks, and health insurance companies, Jonah devises a plan of revenge in the city of Seattle. During an arms deal, Jake's sister Lily (Ashley Bell) and her "not a loser" boyfriend (Jeffrey Ballard) get taken as hostages as they witness a crime.

The FBI is apparently helpless to save the hostages and the city of Seattle, only a Marine can do that.

The script was written very badly. I can't fault the actors for trying. The political speech made by Jonah was unbelievably phoney. This is for fans of the combination of Steven Seagal, Marines, anarchists, and after school specials.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the series, March 5, 2013
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
Love him or hate him, The Miz has taken this series by storm. While Cena may have started it off and had a few good moments, and Ted Dibiase had a few of his own, Miz really takes it up another notch. Great action movie. Not something you would expect to see in the theaters of course, but perfect for a Straight-to-DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, lots of fun!, August 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
Knowing the reputation of this series, and the fact that it's a WWE-financed vehicle for wrestling superstar John "The Miz" Mizanin, I can't help but love this movie. While the first one was unremarkable (save for Robert Patrick, as the villain), with the second being totally forgettable, "Homefront" throws away the two previous films and introduces a totally new story.

"The Marine 3" feels more like a reboot of the first two, despite the fact that 2 was unrelated to 1, and is actually serves as a good stand-alone film that can be watched with no prior knowledge of the previous ones. A lot of the movie hangs on whether or not you happen to be a fan of The Miz (which I am), as he caries a number of scenes. Unlike John Cena, Mizanin can actually put on civilian clothes without looking like a wrestler in disguise. I was also surprised by the fact that he get's pretty beat up over the coarse of the film, a la John McClane from "Die Hard". Speaking of which, the film is clearly influences in par by the Die Hard films, but this wasn't a problem for me, as it never felt like it was veering into being a rip-off.

Aside from Mizanin, the other central character of the film is the story's villain- played by Neal McDonough (who has shaken off the taint of his role in the awful Chun-Li film). McDonough is one of those actors who alwaya seems to skirt on the edges of the mainstream, yet never achieve full acceptance, but his surprisingly understated performance gives me hope that he has a future. The story is more ambitious than might be expected, with a bit a nice of social commentary that doesn't beet you over the head, and a fairly decent budget for a direct-to-DVD film.

The best of the three films, strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All is as expected., March 11, 2013
By 
MegsJedi (ME, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
Quite frankly, the way the part of The Marine is cast, I don't care. Lead actors in this series take second place to my absolute adoration of action movie high-octane scenes. Running, jumping, shooting, things exploding everywhere! Mindless, senseless, wanton destruction! Now that's what makes an action movie!

Come now, don't tell me that you actually enjoy Arnold's acting! The man has four facial expressions: Stone Face, Gleeful I'll Kick Your Ass Face, Crazy Face and Fake Fear Face. His voice has never changed tone or inflection, it's just loud and louder. He has the range of of a broken-necked guitar. We love the BOOM!

One thing about Mike Mizanin, he's got some talent. He IS in the WWE, and every Superstar/Diva is an actor/actress. Ted DiBiase and John Cena are reasonably talented as well; they don't bore me like Arnold does. I love the WWE enough to watch the Monday and Friday shows regularly, I even like the OTHER wrestling company enough to watch it sometimes.

The love of action movies is mostly about the love of the adrenaline rush. A big, manly man running around, dodging bad guys, making stuff blow up, shooting big guns. The Marine series is rolling on, and it's GREAT! Mizanin is admirable participant in the lastest installment. Haters Love the Miz!

RIP Paul Bearer. You'll be sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay but not good, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
bought this because of the miz. he was okay but this purchase was not worth the money spent. watched it once then donated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was pretty good movie., April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
It was a pretty good movie over all. It did have some good action moments. Yet, the movie seemed to go slow at some points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mike "the Miz' Mizanin was terrific, April 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
After seeing this movie, I feel that Mike Mizanin has a star waiting for him in Hollywood in the near future. He did most of his own stunts and he shined brightly.. I got this movie about 2 weeks ago and have watched it an unbelievable 26 times. You may not watch it as many times as I have (so far) but then again, I am a true fan of Mike's and I am going to watch it again today. Hope you enjoy this movie because he really out shines himself. It is a very intense performance as the Marine and the brother in Jake will stop at nothing to get his sister back, not even the FBI. Thanks Mike "the Miz" for stepping out of wrestling long enough to do this film. I am waiting for "Marine 4" to come out before I wear this DVD movie out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marine 3, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was very supriised by the acting and the overall flow of the picture ... was fun to watch and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of my seat, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
I enjoyed the movie. It had me on the eudge of my seat. I lost count after five. Great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Miz Has Trouble On The Homefront, April 23, 2013
By 
D.P. (California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Marine 3: Homefront (DVD)
Mike "The Miz" Mizanin stars as Sgt. Jake Carter who returns home to Bridgetown, WA for two weeks to his family of his big sister Amanda (Camille Sullivan) & baby sister Lilly (Ashley Bell) along with his friend & who he later finds out is Amanda's boyfriend in Officer Harkin (Jared Keeso) but is critical & overprotective of certain issues going on such as Lilly's boyfriend Darren (Jeffrey Ballard). Lilly & Darren later witness a shooting during an arms deal with Jonah Pope (Neal McDonough) before being taken hostage by his group of extremists which Jake finds out about & goes after her but encounters difficulties along the way such as F.B.I. agents Wells (Steve Bacic) & Thompson (Nicola Anderson) who attempt to stop him from interfering in their own mission to stop Pope from committing a deadly terrorist strike.

The basic plot for this movie was no different than the previous editions where it's an off-duty marine going after the group of villains who kidnapped someone close to him so that hasn't changed but the way it was portrayed takes after the previous sequel where it's a more realistic & serious tone instead of over the top acting & action like the first installment. The action was your basic fist fighting & gun play while this had the best acting out of "The Marine" trilogy as Miz did a good job while I've enjoyed Neal McDonough's work in various movies as well. This is definitely worthy of a rental while it's a movie I wouldn't mind watching more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Marine 3: Homefront [Blu-ray]
The Marine 3: Homefront [Blu-ray] by Mike Mizanin (Blu-ray - 2013)
$11.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.