Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Marine UNRATED
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2008
Basicly this story is about a retired marine whose whife gets kidnaped from a hostage situiation. Well it's definatly action packed...but not completly true to life. Lots of explosions and fight sceans that are unnecessary. But it is very fun to watch if you don't mind random cars blowing up all over the place.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2008
I was skeptical of this movie featuring a WWE wrestler (WWE wrestlers are notoriously bad actors) and because the movie was produced by the WWE rather a than a major motion picture company. However I was wrong. The movie was full of action and special effects. John Cena did a respectable job acting. The theme and plot were very entertaining, not cheesey or bogus. If you like action movies such as "Arnold" movies or Rambo movies then you will very much enjoy this movie!
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2007
You pays your money and you takes your choice. When you go to see a movie like this, you should know what you're in for. There's going to be a lot of bad guys, and they're going to be really bad. There's going to be a damsel in distress. There's going to be a surprise bad guy. And, last but not least, there's going to be a good guy who is good and tough beyond belief.

John Triton (John Cena) is an heroic ex-marine whose wife, Kate (Kelly Carlson) is kidnapped by a brutal gang of jewel thieves led by Rome (Robert Patrick), who kills with glee and without remorse, which doesn't set him apart from his psychopathic gang members. John takes out after them. You get the feeling that John can take on anything up to the size of a platoon without much of a problem. While credibility might suffer during his chase, it's still fun. You will rarely see a human being with arms the size of Cena's.

Written (Michelle Gallagher and Alan McElroy) and directed (John Bonito) with humor and pace, what surprised me about it was that the acting is uniformly good, including Cena. This is a tongue-in-cheek chase film with some absurdly unbelievable stunts and special effects, but it's all done on a level that nobody takes very seriously.

Although there is a lot of violence, it's not graphic in the sense that we see people's heads being blown off. I was tired and sleepy when I attended the film, but never even felt a twinge of nodding off.

Perfect for a saturday night with friends after a long week of work.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2007
To be honest , I gave it 4 stars but it's more like a 3 1/2 simply because it does have it's good points to it .

This film take's us back to the "later 80's action film ara" and can be compared to some of Steven Sagals films , or even Dulf Lungren.

I just can't get over the fact that it's John Cena in this film (and that's not really a good thing) His acting was OK and the action was good , but it's no "Condemed" with Stone Cold !

In short , it's OK and that's about it . It will entertain and it isn't a waste of money or time .

3 1/2 Stars
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
John Cena may not have started out in the movies, but he, like so many other "professional athletes" doesn't seem so bad and does have a decent screen presence.

In The Marine, Cena plays John Triton, a former Marine, just trying to get on with his life. Kelly Carlson plays Kate, his wife. She is abducted by thieves and taken as hostage. Rut-oh, Raggy, Triton doesn't like that. Robert Patrick, best known for his role as Terminator 2: Judgment Day plays Rome, one of the main bad guys.

If action is on your list for entertainment, The Marine will scratch that itch. Cena does a pretty good pissed off husband who'll do anything to get his wife back. There's lots of shooting, explosions and all around mayhem. Watch it for the fun of it and you'll not have to worry later about trying to remember "that special moment". This is a guy flick, storyline optional.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 9, 2007
The Marine DVD

It's interesting to see Vince McMahan and the WWE going into another form of "scripted entertainment", i.e., diversifying. Smart business move.

This is in fact a terrific action/adventure movie in the mold of the Rambo or Schwarzenegger films (e.g. "Commando") or the Indiana Jones series. The violence is not accurate in depiction of results, but neither is it in any movie where female stars takes full-power strikes and come bouncing back. If reality counted in the movies, there would be no girl-star action movies.

The violence is actually toned down in favor of action. For example, Sgt. Triton chooses to takes out two very tough villains in exciting brawls when he has a good fighting knife with him. Reality would have been different .... and much bloodier. Not much gore or blood in this picture, however, and you can safely take your pre-teen or teen son. Or yourself. My wife liked it, too, for that matter.

Don't be surprised to see the knife on the market soon, ala Rambo.

The acting was top-drawer within the context of the plot. I never heard of John Cena,so I can't be considered biased. Triton was seen first in front of his commanding officer, then interacting with his wife. He was supposed to be emotionally restrained with his commander, and strong but a little reflective with his wife. He was. Then The Marine had a mission. He had to complete it, not emote and burst into tears. After the adrenalin high wore off, he'd probably start shaking, but while things were going on, he didn't have time to be upset. Man, haven't the sweetie-boys who have panned his acting ever been in a fight? I never heard of the star,but he turned in a very believable good performance for the part. The excellent-looking wife did a fine job as well. No nudity in this movie. Unfortunately.

In sum, a fine example of its type and highly recommended for all. It requires some suspension of belief, but most action movies do.

Recommended for fans of John Cena, the WWE, and Arnold and Rambo for that matter.

Gunner

Gunner December, 2007
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2007
it's funny how stereotypes can either make or break a movie. this was an aweful attempt to sell something that it wasn't. John Cena might be able to act, but he got completely shot down in this one from the horrible directing and script, as well as the terribly bad acting from the supporting cast except maybe from the sarcastic guy from Terminator 2.
I had an unbelievably hard time trying to get passed the self-stereotyping done by the bad guys. it was like they were trying to get the audience to hate the fact that they were even casted into the movie. This is one movie i wouldn't recommend to anyone except the extreme fans of the WWE, or maybe the little kids who believe the storylines in wrestling are actually real drama.
one fine point that i thought was extremely humorous about the movie. How is it that you can drive a camero (or whatever the cop car was) at top speeds with a million and one bullet holes in it and not either a) blow up, b) blow a tire, c) just die or d) not allow the driver to get hit from any of the million and one bullets?
i certainly hope this movie was supposed to be strictly a comedy because if it wasn't, the director should be shot and left in the car that mysteriously didn't blow up.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2006
OK. First off, I don't see this movie winning any prizes for story, script, plot, or anything like that.

That being said, I think it was a good action flick. It was well-casted, the fight scenes were well-choreographed, and the explosions were lots of fun. Also, I think it was a good start for Cena. Get the man some acting lessons and let him try something that doesn't involve as much running around and beating the heck out of people.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2012
Firstly, let me tell you that if you are an elite critic and watched this movie, ask yourself why. Do you even like the action-movie genre? No? Then don't waste our time by writing reviews about stuff you don't enjoy. We like it here and we like Hollywood. So astalavistababy.

For all WWE Fans and those who have come to see John Cena blow things up by more than just his fist - this is an awesome action flick. I too came to see this movie because I am a fan of WWF now known as WWE and because I admire John Cena as a person and not just as what we see him do inside the squared ring.

The first 5 to 10 minutes of the movie needs to be passed over. To be forgiven. It is not the best start to an action movie. And this is an out and out thriller of an action movie. But then Robert Patrick shows up and everything rocks and everything is cool again. Yes, I came to see Cena and got bowled over by Robert Patrick. Patrick carries this movie. I would say he saved the movie. Cena is great. He is our hero. And we cheer for him throughout the movie as he gets beat while trying to rescue his dear wife. But you can't help fall for Robert Patrick. He waltzes in all bad-a$$ and mean. He is ultra, uber-cool. He makes the badguy role come alive and give meaning to the whole story. As in any story, for the hero to be a hero, you need a strong adversary. We get that in the form of a team of criminals led by Robert Patrick.

The action is non-stop. As soon as the villain has done his first job in the movie - the action keeps up the tempo and we get big gunfights and bigger explosions. The crazy black dude routine is well played here by a henchman of Patrick. I was a bit disappointed with the truth behind the "rock candy story" - they should have made it as big as it sounded. But there is plenty of more fun in the movie. Some dark humour and Cena is incredible as he chases down the bad guys in the mandatory car chase sequence and then on in the swamps. This is thrilling from there till the very end. Some good hand-to-hand fights. Cena gets punished and he triumphs. The deviation with the 2 other crooks in the same swamp thinking Cena is a cop looking for them is also brilliant turn of events. More action. More a$$-kicking. The scenes with the explosion are very well shot.

The two big ones with Cena at the petrol pump explosion and him at the shack in the swamp exploding are incredibly well captured. You could feel Cena getting the fury of the fire. Awesome stuff. And Patrick is unstoppable too. He is determined and he has the wife as a leverage and hostage. There is the essential bad girl accompanying the villain, Patrick. She does a great job, better I think than the actress who plays Cena's wife. In all I would rate high the casting as the team of Patrick is well picked bunch of actors doing what they do best. These bad guys are worth cheering for.

Cena of course makes it to the climax. An epic one it is, involving a truck, a motorboat, explosions, fistfights, splattering of blood and the suspense of whether Cena's wife will survive this ordeal or not.

Watch this one and make sure you reload the popcorn.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 10, 2007
I never expected to be so thrilled and entertained by this almost tongue-in-cheek non-stop action thriller.

Robert Patrick (The BAD Terminator, in Terminator 2) is perfect as a vicious killer, but still pokes fun at his own movie when one of his killer friends who is failing at getting "The Marine" off their back, comments: "This guy is worse than the Terminator!".

The DVD and Blu-ray releases are crystal clear and fully color satutated. The spectacular stunts are supported by an incredibly potent DTS soundtrack.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.