Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Mario Bava was one of the most underrated filmmakers of the 20th century -- not to mention the most versatile, turning out giallo thrillers, gothic horror, Viking action, Hercules, a Western, and even a Swinging Sixties crime caper. Five of these brilliant movies are brought together in the "Mario Bava Collection Volume 1," including one of his most famous horror movies ever.

The poorly-named "Kill Baby Kill" opens when a young woman leaps onto an iron fence. Dr. Eswai (Giacomo Rossi-Stuart) is called in to do an autopsy, with the help of beautiful Monica (Erica Blanc). He finds a coin in the girl's heart, and none of the townspeople will tell him -- because if they do, they will suffer a similar fate.

He's even more annoyed when local sorceress Ruth (Fabienne Dali) begins using her powers to protect a young girl from a childlike specter -- little dead aristocrat Melissa Graps. But as the bodies pile up, and Monica is plagued by bizarre nightmares, Eswai must accept Ruth's help to save Monica from the ghost, and an evil baroness.

"Black Sunday (The Mask of Satan)" is a bizarre tale of vampirism -- evil princess Asa (Barbare Steele) and her servant were executed centuries ago, for serving the devil and all-around nastiness. As usual, she places an evil curse on the Vadja family, and vows to return one day to get revenge on them, just before being impaled by the "devil's mask," a spiked mask that kills the wearer.

But in the modern day, two doctors on their way to a convention accidentally reopen her grave, and awaken her with a drop of blood. Turns out that Asa isn't QUITE dead -- and now gaining new power, as she discovers that her distant descendent Katia Vadja is a dead ringer for her. Now she's trying to possess Katia's body -- can one of the doctors save her?

"Black Sabbath" is actually three stories -- "The Telephone," a Hitchcockian giallo thriller about a woman haunted by phone calls from an ex-lover. "The Wurdalak" is a twist on typical vampire stories, with Boris Karloff turned into a wurdalak, a vampire who only drinks the blood of loved ones. And in "A Drop of Water," a nurse steals a ring from the corpse of a medium, and is unsurprisingly haunted by her.

"Knives of the Avenger" is one of Bava's lesser movies, but shows he could handle unusual genre films. A mystery man (Cameron Mitchell) who calls himself Helmut saves young widow Karin (Elissa Pichelli) and her son from some thugs, sent by a local regent who wants to marry the woman (whether she likes it or not), because she is the widow of the late king.

Helmut stays in the house to protect Karin from the regent, and becomes a sort of mentor to the boy. But Karin doesn't realize that Helmut (not his real name) has a nasty past that he's keeping hidden -- he may be the man who raped her many years ago. When Karin's husband returns, the mystery man saddles up to save the mother and child.

No, "The Girl Who Knew Too Much" was not a sequel to Hitchcock's movies, but a stylish Hitchcockian giallo. Nora Davis (Leticia Roman) arrives in Rome to care for an ill friend, only to have her expire that evening of a heart attack. As she tries to get help, she is mugged, and blearily sees a man pulling a knife out of a woman's corpse -- but of course, nobody believes her.

Nora moves in near her friend's house, and does some detecting on her own -- it seems that this murder follows the pattern of a serial killer who has haunted the area for years. They thought they caught the man who did it, but they captured the wrong man -- and now the killer is coming after Nora next.

Mario Bava didn't need massive budgets or special effects to create his brilliant movies -- just some solid actors and a haunting backdrop. Crumbling castles, the streets of Rome, sword-and-sandal countryside and misty mountains are all used in these movies, with performances that range from brilliant (Steele) to merely solid (Mitchell).

In fact, Bava was such a brilliant director that he was able to elevate anything with his cinematic touches -- colourful lighting, eerie camerawork, exquisite use of light and shadow, gory executions, and even a touch of comedy here and there. Even when the scripts are subpar ("Knives of the Avenger"), he manages to include some nice touches.

"Mario Bava Collection Volume 1" is a collection of five excellent movies, ranging from amazing to solidly enjoyable. And it's a good demonstration of Bava's talents, and the kinds of movies he could undertake. Definitely worth getting, especially for horror buffs.
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2003
Unlike the other reviewers, I am not an expert on Bava's oeuvre, although I know that horror film fans respect him highly. However, I have always enjoyed the Italian "spear and sandal" epics that were popular in the late 50s and early 60s, even when the setting moved north to Scandinavia and the heroes and villains were Vikings. Of course, this is what we have here.
I really enjoyed this movie. The simple plot is very familiar--one reviewer mentioned "Shane"--Clint Eastwood's "Man-With-No-Name" persona also comes to mind. Instead of bullets, we have blades. Cameron Mitchell--not always a great actor--is very effective here as the world-weary "avenger", searching for the man who destroyed his family. The otherwise Italian cast is adequate, although--given this type of movie--the villain could have been a bit more "hissable". The action scenes are well staged, and our hero's knife-throwing prowess certainly gets the viewer's attention.
What impressed me the most ? This film has a great "look"--it is beautifully photographed, which I understand is a Bava trademark.
The DVD exhibits a gorgeous picture, and it is widescreen, both of which add much to the viewer's enjoyment. I have seen other Italian action pictures of the same vintage on DVD that did not exhibit such quality.
This movie is not in the same league as "The Vikings" or even "The Long Ships" ( The latter is due for release on DVD in June 2003--great news ! ) Nevertheless, with a much more modest budget and story, "Knives" is entertaining and--kudos to Mr. Bava and the people at Image--beautiful to watch.
So put on the popcorn, break out the beer, and enjoy it !
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2007
Well...........in case you didn't hear, don't have frequent Net access, or whatever. This new Bava set, cool as it is, is now no longer going to have the AIP/US cut of BLACK SABBATH. All the Net reviews of pre-release copies I have seen as of this date (4/2/07) confirm the prints on both the BLACK SABBATH & BLACK SUNDAY are cleaner prints, but essentially the same as the Image releases. I don't want to knock Anchor's restoration, but it's the same ol' same ol'....what was gonna make this set pop was the release of both versions of the films. I know there is an audio distinction to BLACK SUNDAY, but it escapes me at this second. So buyers who were looking for the OTHER variants to these specific titles like I was (I already own the original Image releases and am a semi-CASUAL Bava fan I suppose...these two films being my favorites of his), make sure you do your homework to see if the upgrade is worth it to you. Luckily, the price is somewhat cheap enough depending on where you get it (cheapest here, so far). But I was expecting to run out and get this the day of release, then saw the reviews and that basically put the fire out of my little shopping purchase. This can wait.
And before anyone screams at me for not having this in hand and 'reviewing': Hey. a lot of people were expecting BOTH versions to these films to be included, and now they're not, so this might be helpful and save some disappointment. I sure was going to be ticked off.

And the film companies wonder why the bootleg market flourishes....lol
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 8, 2007
It's great to have all of these Mario Bava titles in one set. The transfers are really beautiful, and a revelation to those of us with memories of grainy 16mm TV prints. "Black Sunday's" monochrome atmosphere looks particularly lush in this set. "Kill Baby Kill" is a major upgrade to the crummy, desaturated DVD I have from Image.

But they really SHOULD have included BOTH US and Italian versions of the star attraction, "Black Sabbbath". Or at least cut in Karloff's actual voice to the Italian version! Why not re-edit the way it should be? I still rushed out to buy this set, but cannot give it five stars due to the pre-release publicity which stated BOTH Black Sabbath versions would be in the box set. Anchor Bay owes all of us an apology or a free DVD of the English version.
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2007
I would have bought this set, being a fan of Bava and particularly of these films, but without Karloff's voice in Black Sabbath I personally consider it not worth having. I already have the version with the Italian actor's voice and it DOESN'T WORK. Sorry, Bava and Euro/Iti film fans, but the edited American Version is superior to the original for this reason alone (the other drawbacks are relatively negligable). Why else use Karloff if you don't get the full actor? The Italians never shot synch sound, anyway, so even the original Italian version is dubbed! Dubbing is NOT the issue - in fact, it's a non issue. In fact, due to the Italians use of non-synch, I think most Iti films shot this way often work better dubbed into the native language of the viewer, except where a fairly recognizable actor/voice is concerned, so learn that damn lesson and do things my way now!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
I was introduced to this movie via Net-Flix and learned it was part of a trilogy through Amazon! Amazon offered me the opportunity to get these great B-rate movies at a reasonable price. You may wonder how can this knuckle head give a B-rate movie's a 5 star rating. Well its like this I rate a movie for what it was intended to be, these are low budget fun action film's never intended to compete for an Oscar! "Erik the Conqueror" is the first followed by "Last of the Viking's" and finishing with " Knives of the Avenger". This may be the most graphic in the bunch. The restoration is great, the story is fun and fast paced, the acting is adequate & the cinematography is exceptional with some truly beautiful shot's. The musical score foreshadows the T.V. western Cameron Mitchell would go on to gain popularity in called "The High Chaparral" from 1967-71. A little strange hearing western style soundtrack in a Viking film, but it doesn't take anything away from this film. If Mario Bava & Giacomo Gentilomo were given a huge Hollywood budget these films would have rivaled the Technicolor all star epics of the 50's for their gritty edge. But sadly they do reflect there limited budget. But as I said before I rate them for what they were meant to be and this movie succeeds in its objective Fun violent Viking action!!! If you've been searching for the movie "Viking Massacre" search no further as this is the same film with a different title. I missed out on these as a kid & I have been having a ball discovering these old gems. If your a fan of everything sword related like me get them while they last as I have a feeling these cult classics will become very hard to find & and probably increase in value as they get scooped up & happily added to other fans collection. A great way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon & bulk up your Viking collection as the genre isn't exactly overflowing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
Reviews for different versions, releases and formats of BLACK SABBATH are lumped together. The movie which I streamed via Amazon is the American version of the film. No subtitles. No "adult" themes. Look elsewhere for the international release of this movie. It is still a classic Boris Karloff movie.

Moments ago I tried to write a review for THE KNIVES OF THE AVENGER only to receive a message that I had already reviewed it. Apparently the physical dvd's are a set of Mario Bava movies and reviews of the individual movies are lumped together. I do not have the dvd's. I streamed the movies via Amazon Prime but my reviews are still treated as if they are for one movie. I know that Bava is considered a great director but even the great have off days. The movie is actually fairly dull. Cameron Mitchell rides around throwing knives in an extremely unrealistic manner and mooning over a woman he had wronged. All the while seeking revenge against a villain who wronged him. One of the irritating things about this movie is that there is no sense of space and distance. Karin is hiding from the villain seemingly right next door to him. All of the action may as well have happened in someone's backyard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2008
Mario Bava is probably one of the most important and influential, yet lesser known, genre directors to come out of Italian cinema. His films combined an art house sensibility within the 'exploitation' tag they we're labeled with. As it's been noted elsewhere here, he was a master of the gothic horror film, yet his body of work included such genres as Science Fiction, Greek mythology, Viking Sword and sandal tales, Crime capers, serial murderers, anti heroes, sex farces, westerns, surrealism, and psychological tales. His real love was special effects photography, yet he was capable to delivering decent performances from actors. He started off wanting to be a painter, and yet, in spite of that disappointment and yet following in his father's footsteps, he accomplished more as a cinema photographer and director through painting with light and celluloid. One of the stunning aspects of his career was the fact he was able to accomplish more with the limited budgets of his films, then what many new directors do in Hollywood with their multi million budgets, and their unlimited resources of computer effects.

While that might seem an overstatement, considering the many visual delights one can find in the standard Bava film, even a below par films, he's the kind of director that can inspire other filmmakers with his ideas. He was a master of trick photography, especially glass mattes and the layering of images. His skills with lighting a scene, colored lighting, the use of shadows and splashes of light, has been imitated by others, yet many other filmmakers just haven't had the same panache. All of the films included in this first Bava box set, demonstrate all of the above points. "Black Sunday" and "Black Sabbath" have remained his two most celebrated and praised films, and for good reason, but I'd like to comment about other three lesser known films in this set.

"The Girl Who Knew Too Much", (1962) which was released in the states under the title "The Evil Eye", the Italian title being "La Ragazza Che Sapeva Troppo", has been noted as the first giallo, is the biggest surprise of the set and a real gem of a film, although it might simply play as quaint to contemporary eyes. It was Bava's final film in Black and White and yet it demonstrates what mastery he had of even that medium. The charming Leticia Roman stars as a visiting American tourist, while staying with her aunt and after a red herring at an airport involving tainted cigarettes, meets John Saxon, a doctor who is treating the sickly aunt. That night the aunt dies of a heart attack that Nora witnesses, under distress, she flees the apartment for the streets of Italy, after being attacked by a purse snatcher, she believes she witnesses the murder of a woman. She convinces Marcello (Saxon) to help her investigate the 'alphabet murders', Valentina Cortese plays a woman who may or may not be the sorted protagonist of this cat and mouse game. While the film is a satire on a Hitchcock thriller, it remains an innovative and fun film. Ironically, and of interest, it was released in 1963 in the States at the height of the Cuban Missle Crisis, and was his biggest commercial disappointment.

"Knives of the Avenger", (1966) going under the Italian title of "I Coltelli Del Veniccatore", is a lesser film. Bava was probably a director for hire on this project. It manages to be a fairly interesting Viking sword and sandal take on "Shane". Cameron Mitchell stars as Helmut, a drifter who was a ruler named Rurik, a man who was shunned by his people, and gave up his title to roam the earth, until he finds atonement. The main part of the story involves Karin and her son Moki, the wife and child of a rival king believed to be dead. Argon, who has taken over the kingdom through treachery, wishes to marry Karin at any cost, leaving the woman and the boy to remain in hiding until her husband, Arold, can return. Of course Helmut is intertwined with all of these characters and protects the mother and son. For a Bava film, the relationship between Helmut and Moki is touching. While there are some good action sequences, this film is far more introspective than you'd expect. Visually, it's a beautiful looking film.

"Kill, Baby...Kill" (1966), which is known under it's Italian title "Operazione Paura", is another exceptional gothic inspired ghost tale. Martin Scorsese used this film as an inspiration for some sequences of "The Last Temptation of Christ". A remote village is tormented by the ghost of a little girl who is driving people to kill themselves. Giacomo Rossi-Stuart is a coroner brought in under the advise of an inspector to uncover the mystery. Erica Blanc assists and may be the key to this whole matter. Some very surreal and innovative photography can be found in this film. Max Lawerence's role as Burgomaster Karl is strange yet effective, and Giana Vivaldi as Baronness Graps is memorable.

The flagship of this set is "Black Sunday (The Mask of Satan)" / "La Maschera Del Demonio" (1960), has probably been the most critically praised and, in some respects, over-analyzed film of Bava's career. It does live up to its hype of a masterpiece of Gothic horror. Bava's use of black and white photography is masterful. There's a real sense of bleak decay in every frame of celluloid. After a famous opening sequence where the witch princess Asa, and her Warlock brother Javutich are impaled with Masks, two centuries pass where two travelers, Professor Kruveian and Dr. Gorobec unwittingly break open the crypt of Asa, triggering her resurrection as an all powerful Vampire. After Asa calls back Javutich from the dead, Kruveian and Gorobec (John Richardson) are pulled into the castle of the doomed Vaida family, the decedents of Asa. Princess Katia seems to be the identical decedent of Asa and a romance develops between her (Barbara Steele) and Gorobec, in the midst of a day and night of supernatural murder and mayhem. This film took the Hammer films of the 50s to the next level with it's images of perverse sexuality and sadistic horror. Simply put, essential viewing. Arturio Dominici's Javutich is probably one of the most memorable henchmen to appear in horror, and Steele's Asa has become iconic. This is the English dub version of the film

After Bava followed up with "Hercules in the Haunted World" and "Erik The Conqueror" (1961), as well as the "The Girl", Bava returned to gothic horror in 1963 with an even more effective anthology, "Black Sabbath (The Three Faces of Fear)" / "I Tre Volti Della Paura". Film anthologies are hard to pull off, usually it requires a unified vision to make it work, for example, George Romero's "Creepshow", yet Bava manages another masterful job with three tales. "The Telephone" about a woman who is stalked by a caller at her home who threatens to kill her, "The Wurdalak", a tale of a doomed family fated to Vampirism and Mark Damon's character who is lured into this family, as well as "The Drop Of Water" about a nurse who is stalked by the ghost of a dead medium,.her former employer. Boris Karloff anchors this film as well as plays the Vampire in "Wurdalak" and it's considered one of his best performances. Fair warning, this isn't the AIP English print of the film, but the superior Italian language version.

The DVD's of "Black Sunday, Black Sabbath, The Girl Who Knew Too Much" includes a generous portion of extras. Excellent Audio commentaries from Tim Lucas, a good ratio of film and TV spot trailers, Bava biographies and biographies of other cast members, a retrospective of Mark Damon's work is included with the "Black Sabbath" set, as well as a very informative interview that's included in "The Girl Who Knew Too Much" DVD of John Saxon's experiences of working on that film. As far as their aspects ratios are concerned, the widescreen formats of these discs range from 1:66:1, 1:77:1, to 2:35:1. All will fit into the widescreen format's of 16x9 screens with ease. My only complaint is the absence of substancial credits for "Knives of The Avenger", it's fairly apparent they were added in post for the prints of "Knives" as well as "Kill, Baby...Kill", yet the quality of all of the prints are excellent, great color saturation, and a richness to the prints that shows an improvement from the Image DVD additions.

Highly recommended collection.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2001
It's great that Bava's films are finally being released in the US. I grew weary of buying one poor dub after another. I had lost interest in the maestro's work until his films resurfaced on laser disc in the nineties. Now, with the popularity of the DVD format even more facets of Bava's career are being revealed. Beyond his classic horror films there are smaller gems like Rabid Dogs, 5 Dolls For An August Moon and this film, Knives of The Avenger. According to Tim Lucas' always informative liner notes Bava made this film so quickly that he finished three-quarters of the film in less than a week. After watching the picture I never would have guessed that such a fine looking film could be made so fast (or cheaply), but that is part of Bava's genius isn't it. Knives... is not a great film but it is enjoyable. The film's plot and look doesn't differ much from Leone's western films. The anti-hero of this picture is Cameron Mitchell. He's scruffy, looks like he smells awful, and he's just as quick with a knife as Eastwood is with a pistol. He's a loner condemned to a life of wandering. Other than the excessive jumping into the air at an opponent (a ridiculous feat that I doubt any skilled fighter would do) the fight scenes in this film are well staged. The added bonus here is Mitchell's endless supply of knives (Bava's idea). The film has a great score, but that too follows the spaghetti western formula. Despite some of the lame dialogue, "She's dead", Knives Of The Avenger is well acted. The DVD is decently letterboxed and the colors are fairly strong. The disc comes with a heavily damaged black and white trailer and a small supplement of production photos and poster stills. Take a close look at the production pictures and you'll see Mitchell's stunt double. The disc also comes with English and Italian language options but no subtitles.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2007
Sorry, but giving this set a bad rating just because the AIP-versions aren't included is stupid in my opinion.

This box includes 5 fantastic movies by Bava (yes, even "Knives Of The Avenger" is a great one) in overall amazing quality with very good bonus features. I believe there is a good reason that AB didn't include the different cuts of "The Girl Who Knew Too Much" and "3 Faces Of Fear": legal issues. If these are solved, hopefully we see these versions someday on DVD (though the only one that really interests me is "The Evil Eye". "Black Sabbath" would just be nice because of Karloff's own dubbing,

but everything else is clearly inferior to the italian version.)

Until then - enjoy what's IN this box, it is an amazing value for the cheap price. Of course many people who want to buy this, already may have different DVDs of some of the movies in there - so everyone must decide for themselves if it is worth getting.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.