Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into the world of Martha and the world of business
There's nothing amazing or breakthrough about the Martha Rules...except that you won't find this advice put together in just this way. For instance, Martha Stewart emphasizes the importance of identifying a target market that will buy what you offer. She talks about geographic mismatches: pick a location where your product will be welcomed.

Sounds obvious...
Published on November 24, 2005 by Dr. Cathy Goodwin

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all.
Its been several months since I read Martha Rules but I decided to write a review today because I just finished Lloyd Allen's book Being Martha and his book reminded me that Martha Stewart did in fact utilize the 10 essentials for achieving success in her amazing climb from home based caterer to expert on all things domestic to media star to media mogul. Martha Stewart...
Published on January 25, 2006 by J. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into the world of Martha and the world of business, November 24, 2005
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
There's nothing amazing or breakthrough about the Martha Rules...except that you won't find this advice put together in just this way. For instance, Martha Stewart emphasizes the importance of identifying a target market that will buy what you offer. She talks about geographic mismatches: pick a location where your product will be welcomed.

Sounds obvious? Maybe. But I've met dozens of wannabe Internet marketers who chose products and services that won't work on the web. And I know many coaches who cheerfully advise their clients, "If you dream it you can do it." Or even, "If you have an idea, there must be a market."

Martha has made a career out of understanding her market. She has astounded publishers and investors who underestimated her broad appeal to women. At least one biographer has disparaged her affiliation with K-Market, but Martha understands those shoppers. Another Barnard College alum, Joan Rivers, wrote in her own biography something to the effect that, "If you appeal to the masses you dine with the classes. And if you reach for the classes you dine with the masses." Martha could say the same.

On page 26, Martha writes, "Out of frustration often comes a good idea." She's echoing ideas from Marsha Sinetar and James Judson - and she's right. Often the best way to create a good business idea is to recognize that you can't find something you'd be happy to pay for.

The section on idea size - too big or too small - makes sense too. It happens all the time. Why not start a pet-sitting business, I'll suggest. And a client begins to dream big. "Maybe an upscale service for wealthy pet owners. In a great neighborhood across town. And boarding services with luxury touches." Never mind that she's renting a studio apartment and needs to start a small business on a tight budget.

And finally you have to recognize that creativity may not always be an asset. You have a juice store, Martha suggests. Employees have to follow a formula, exactly. No room for independence.

You'll find these ideas elsewhere but they're worth hearing again. Sure, she uses examples from her own business. But let's face it: readers buy the book to get glimpses of the author. She doesn't shy away from mention of her prison time at Alderson. I believe she handled the whole messy situation with grace. And for those who dismiss her as a "convicted felon," the label of "felon" and the determination of "convicted" often depend on being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Martha's not warm and fuzzy...but not many billionaires are.

But for Martha Stewart fans, the Martha Rules offers insights into the woman as well as the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guidelines for both the new and the experienced, October 30, 2005
By 
Corinne H. Smith (Lancaster County, PA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
No matter what you may think of her personally, you cannot deny that Martha Stewart knows how to succeed in the business world. Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia continues to grow and to create new products to meet consumer needs. These days, the format may be a printed magazine, a television show, or a Sirius radio broadcast -- whatever it takes to get the message across. Who else, then, could be better suited for providing tips for budding entrepreneurs than Martha Stewart? In this book, she outlines her 10 business rules -- guidelines for the newbies, reminders for those of us who have been around a while. She says this book grew out of her prison experience, as other inmates approached her with questions about starting their own businesses. Her rules cover the basics of any business venture: being passionate, coming up with the Big Idea, hiring good people to work with you, doing quality work, taking risks and not chances, etc. She uses examples from her own beginnings and from those of other individuals as well. The result is indeed an introduction that could inspire anyone to start a new company and have an inkling of how to go about it. (I wouldn't rely just on this book for all the answers, though; that's why I gave it four stars.)

While "The Martha Rules" is a promotion for entrepreneurialism, the book also includes insights into Martha's past and into her daily life. It's therefore a good autobiographical introduction for anyone wanting to know more about Ms. Stewart and how she got to where she is today. Readers get the impression that spending five months away from the business was simply one more challenge that Martha not only met, but took on and surmounted. How much more inspirational can a person be?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars www.valderbeebeshow.com, March 4, 2006
The Martha Rules - Random House Audio (2005)

Like her or not, she is victorious over life and circumstances. I spent several weeks listening to The Martha Rules on audio, and it has boosted my business life greatly. During the time I reviewed the book, I had to make an easy decision for a hard situation, and I credit much to The Martha Rules.

Martha's clear voice and well-enunciated words encourages you to contemplate the chapters she perfectly crafted (which is her style). The chapters touch upon: passion; defining a big idea by looking closely with a telescope or wide-angle lens (easy for me to identify with this, owning Photography-by-james.com); teach and learn; grow your business; quality (signature of her brand); team building; making hard decisions; understanding the difference between risk vs chance; making it beautiful (another signature of her brand). I consider this book an exceptional investment in the business that is YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific thoughts on starting and running a business, January 5, 2006
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
I'm not particularly a fan of Martha's style, but I have tremendous admiration for the empire she's built through sheer vision and hard work. She's one brilliant, driven woman and this book gives great insight into how she's accomplished so much.

This book is a great read for someone thinking of starting up a business -- or those who have already done so. Martha is very direct and serious about how you must focus your energy into your business plan and execution. She lays out very good ground rules for cutting the fat out of your initial dream and targeting concepts which will work.

I love how throughout the book Martha emphasizes the need for sensible passion (my term, not hers). You have to love what you're doing, but you can't let your emotions overrule your business requirements.

This really is a terrific book and I'm putting some of the concepts to use in my own small software business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book as much for men as for women, October 21, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
Martha's passion really comes through in this book, and it's a very good read. It's inspiring for those who have ever dreamed of owning their own business or starting something new. The thing that surprised me the most was that I could see myself in her writing, and I could picture myself in a lot of the scenarios Martha chose. I've always been a fan of Martha, but found her in the past to be very woman-oriented and a lot of her shows/books to be primarily for women. This book is unique in that it is for everyone... male and female, young and old alike. If you want to be the best you can be, want to dream about new beginnings and want the inspiration and clues about where to begin, this is a perfect book for you. I couldn't put the book down after I started reading it. Martha's knowledge and ideas have been put to great use here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mentor Martha, October 16, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
I simply loved Martha Stewart's latest book. I felt that she covered many of the basics that so many entrepreneurial types of business people might possibly overlook. She is driven by achieving perfection and has gathered the best of the very best people in her search to achieve that in Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, Inc. She has given much credit to the people who have helped her on her own particular journey and when it was time for them to leave and to follow their own star, she wished them well. But she has also had some who have stayed with her for years along with many who were not a good fit. She covers much of the successes and pitfalls of business and the people who have worked with and for her.

I loved the stories of some of the people she has had the pleasure of meeting and the successful businesses they have built. She told of the fresh approach many people have given to their inspirations that have evolved into beautiful businesses you want to go and visit just because they are so very appealing in their nature.

She freely admits her mistakes and what she has learned from those stumbling blocks. She covered many of those times without dwelling on them. A mistake is only worthwhile and necessary if we learn from it ...or are able to make lemonade from Lemons. She has done this beautifully.

From discovering your own particular passion to what is needed to launching your business to the very power of excellence, I found the book to be very worthwhile reading. It did take me three days to read it, but that was only because I wanted to digest what I had read. It is the kind of book that one wants to read again and underline certain passages....or even print them out and post it on the bathroom mirror where one can be reminded again and again. It is easy to read and to understand. Martha, again, has gotten down to the nuts and bolts of a project and made it understandable and appealing to most of us. Whether you are looking at Cottage Industry, a nice boutique, a unique business or even a very large business, this book should appeal to anyone wanting to follow their dream of a successful enterprise. This book is "Must Have."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideas that Stick with You Long After Reading, September 29, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
I have always admired Martha Stewart. We are the same age. I know what was expected of girls when we were growing up. So maybe everyone doesn't love her. So what? Her business acumen is inspiring, as well as her life story.

It was so interesting to hear her story of her experience in prison and the women she met there, and that this book grew out of the questions they asked her.

Her points are strong and are common sense. There is no nonsense here. I am also reading <A href="[...]">"Internet Riches"</a> by Scott Fox, a new book about striking out for yourself and finding your niche by building an internet business. As I read the book I keep thinking about "The Rules": be frugal, trust yourself, pay attention to the details. The one reinforces the other. Martha gives you the big picture and "Internet Riches" is an excellent step-by-step quide on how to put her rules into practice for your own enrichment. Both books are great!<A href="[...]">
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all., January 25, 2006
By 
J. Kelly (Kansas City, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
Its been several months since I read Martha Rules but I decided to write a review today because I just finished Lloyd Allen's book Being Martha and his book reminded me that Martha Stewart did in fact utilize the 10 essentials for achieving success in her amazing climb from home based caterer to expert on all things domestic to media star to media mogul. Martha Stewart had the complete package, passion for what she did, the big idea, the courage to jump in, perseverence, et al. The Martha Rules is a quick read. It cleanly and crisply uses the experiences of successful people, including herself, to illustrate each of the 10 essentials. She only needed her own career to be inspiring and convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martha Delivers the goods...and the tools to inspire!, November 28, 2005
This review is from: The Martha Rules (Hardcover)
Martha Stewart is the most successful female entrepreneur for a many reasons...she is smart, articulate, beautiful, skilled and driven. For those reasons, many have criticized her. I for one, praise her! In writing "The Martha Rules" she imparts some of her business acumen to budding entrepreneurs everywhere. This book is not meant to be a "follow this step" and be successful book, it is meant to inspire and guide already gifted and driven individuals. People who are lazy are not going to get it, those who want to be negative are not going to get it. Those people who are wanting to get on the path and those already on it will get a lot of miles out of this book. Great Job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-Nonsense Advice for Any Businessperson, November 3, 2006
By 
Lois Lain (San Francisco Bay Area, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
No matter what you think about Martha Stewart, you cannot argue with her business success. She's managed to turn the domestic arts into a multi-multi-multi-million-dollar empire. This book shares her suggestions for entrepreneurs so they can take advantage of her numerous successes and occasional failures. Written in a straightforward, no-nonsense tone, this book is full of concrete examples and practical advice. A great read for anyone in the business world who wants to take their company to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Martha Rules
The Martha Rules by Martha Stewart (Hardcover - October 11, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.