Start reading The Martini of Destiny (Rucksack Universe) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

The Martini of Destiny (Rucksack Universe) [Kindle Edition]

Anthony St. Clair
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $8.99
Kindle Price: $2.99
You Save: $6.00 (67%)

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $0.99 (Save 67%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $2.99  
Paperback $8.29  
Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

One drink changed everything.



Influencing a man's fate should have been another day behind the bar.

Bartender Jake Hongkong has served The Management longer than any other Jake or Jade, but now he doubts his role influencing people's destinies and decisions. Declan is directionless and scared when he comes to the pub, yet one drink is all it takes to give him the courage to make a life-altering decision. Deeply shaken by something he wasn't meant to see, Jake doubts more than ever, and consequences ripple through destiny and the world. Soon one martini will forever alter lives and fates... especially Jake's and Declan's.

Part of the Rucksack Universe series

This riveting fantasy novella is part of the Rucksack Universe series, the exciting world of wit, adventure and beer that fans call "buoyant with a unique humor, twist and focus on international travel," and "perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman."

Guru Deep says...

"Just as all blood passes through the heart, all life, business and culture pass through Hong Kong. Since becoming an independent nation after The Blast, the city-state on China's southeastern seaboard has become renown as The World's Greatest City. It's easy to see why. From the inspiring drinks in the pubs, to the otherworldly weirdness of the concrete mythological figures in the Aw Boon Haw Gardens, the wonders are endless. All travelers will find new delights to marvel them, and new stories to bring home as souvenirs. After all, as the old saying goes, 'to tire of Hong Kong is to forget how to live the world.'"
— Guru Deep, Hong Kong Through the Third Eye


Editorial Reviews

From the Author



Rucksack Universe Series FAQ

Really, another urban fantasy series? So, I have to read these in order, right?

Nope. Like you, I sometimes get some serious Sequential Series Fatigue (ask your doctor about SSF). That's why I've always planned for all Rucksack Universe series contemporary fantasy stories to inter-relate but be fully enjoyed individually.


You can read the fantasy novellas and fantasy novels of the Rucksack Universe in any order you like, rest assured that you will have an enjoyable read of fantasy and adventure fiction. There is no set reading order, and you don't have to make sure you've read Book A to know what the hell's going on in Book Z.


Like you, I have a limited appetite for sequential series fantasy (other than, say, Harry Potter or Nightwatch, both of which I'm about to re-read for the fourth time). I envision the adventure and fantasy stories of the Rucksack Universe to be more like the 30+ novels of Terry Pratchett's best-selling Discworld series: a varied cast in the same world, with titles that can build on each other but are made to be enjoyed independently.


What's an urban fantasy novella?

An urban fantasy novella is the middle child in between short stories and novels. A typical contemporary fantasy novella is longer and more complex than a short story, but shorter and not as complex as a novel. Novellas are great quick reads, because the author can give you more story while keeping things simple.


Examples of famous novellas include Ernest Hemingway's The Old Man and the Sea, Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451, George Orwell's Animal Farm, Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness and Stephen King's The Body (which the movie Stand by Me is based on).


How long is a novella?

Definitions of exact length vary. At this point, any Rucksack Universe adventure and fantasy stories billed as fantasy novellas will be between 7,501-40,000 words (or 30-160 paperback pages) in length.

About the Author

Globetrotter, homebrewer and writer Anthony St. Clair has walked with hairy coos in the Scottish Highlands, choked on seafood in Australia, and watched the full moon rise over Mt. Everest in Tibet. Anthony’s travels have also taken him around the sights and beers of Thailand, Japan, India, Canada, Ireland, the USA, Cambodia, China and Nepal. He and his wife live in Oregon and gave their son a passport for his first birthday. More at www.anthonystclair.com

Product Details

  • File Size: 218 KB
  • Print Length: 50 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Rucksack Press (January 7, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DHY2PAO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #730,159 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Teaser but Not Enough October 7, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
`While I liked this novella well enough I felt we were just getting a teaser for what I hope will be a longer and more fully developed book.

You are plopped down in the middle of things with little explanation. Although that can be a literary device, the explanation is never really forthcoming.

The action is, essentially, one long sequence, and we don't really get enough explanation here either.

Many people have compared it to Discworld or to Douglas Adams and I picked it up on the basis of that. But I see little similar in this short bit to compare it with Discworld and, while humorous, it isn't anywhere near as funny as Adams.

It's interesting enough that I want to see a complete novel, but only amusing and incomplete on its own.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cliff-Hanger Ending August 5, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
When I finished it, I said, "What! That's it?!" I definitely wanted more. A page turner for sure.

The author introduces us to a fascinating new universe. I can't wait to read the series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By RJ
Format:Kindle Edition
The Martini of Destiny is a great quick read. St. Clair's work is funny without overreaching. A great familiar setting for those of us living on earth, with a nice twist of fantasy splashed throughout. Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. I can't wait to see where this author's work leads me!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is not Douglas or Pratchett, this is St. Clair! There's something enigmatic about this writer; I guess it's the factor that so many publishers try to find, yet can't see despite their noses. Although this story is only a novelette, it was thoroughly enjoyable and an excellent introduction to the fantastical observations and acute descriptions of the author. The editing is tight, professional and observant to the fact that less is more. I really found myself in the crux of the story when the customer returned to the bar to have it out with the bar tender, I could see this as vivid as if it was me, and I think that anyone who has ever frequented a bar could - loved it. This work is a perfect example of how paying a measly $3 something (whatever is was) for such a short piece can be so apt for a story thoroughly enjoyable and captivating. It definitely leaves you wanting more, lucky the second novelette is out and the third is on the way.
Cannot recommend this Indie-author any higher - a true professional - very happy to have discovered him through Twitter. I honestly feel inspired by his work and by how he carries himself in his chosen profession.(check his website) Well done Anthony.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Left me ready for more! May 16, 2014
Format:Paperback
In The Martini of Destiny Anthony St. Clair dips into the rich well of myth, adds a splash from the black bottle, and serves up a tale that has destined me to drink it down in nearly a single gulp and to look forward with delight to the next in this series. I suspect I’ll meet up with some of these characters again, and I hope I do. But if I ever find myself in a bar where the bartender is named Jake or Jade, I’m sticking with the Coffee of Perception!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting the stage for the Rucksack Universe series. April 21, 2014
Format:Paperback
The Martini of Destiny captures the exciting jangle of energy that pulses through Hong Kong. A quick read, this novella sets the stage for Anthony Sinclair’s Rucksack Universe series. You’ll feel the familiarity if you’ve been there, but things get strange pretty fast. The story moves into a world of fantasy, while still keeping a toe in the place you may have visited. The characters intrigue, but can you trust them? There’s Jake, a bartender who has a special touch with a martini, and the ghostlike Faddah Rucksack, and more. You may not be sure who to trust, even at the end, but you’ll want to read the next book to find out.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, superb execution March 28, 2014
Format:Paperback
This book was a fantastic, quick read that left me wanting more from the Rucksack Universe. The Amazon description does a much better job of summarizing this book than I could, but suffice to say I loved the book's concept and thought the execution was superb. I will definitely be purchasing the next book in this series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable short story March 24, 2014
Format:Paperback
This story gives an intriguing first glimpse into Anthony St. Clair's Rucksack Universe, and it definitely left me wanting more!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Globetrotter, homebrewer and writer Anthony St. Clair has walked with hairy coos in the Scottish Highlands, choked on seafood in Australia, and watched the full moon rise over Mt Everest in Tibet. Anthony's travels have taken him around the sights and beers of Thailand, Japan, India, Canada, Ireland, the USA, Cambodia, China and Nepal. He and his wife live in Oregon and gave their son a passport for his first birthday. More at www.anthonystclair.com


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category