Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of a Bad Lot
If you are looking for a writing handbook for a college writing class, this is the best there is. Ideally, you should get the paperback, but it appears to be out of print.

The volume wastes little time or space on trivia (web pages, business memos, etc.). The handling of grammar is clear and to the point. Discussions of reading and note-taking,...
Published on August 24, 2004 by Christopher I. Lehrich

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old MLA version
Since the anglophiles had to change the MLA bibliography rules, this book is now dated. It's fine for grammar and whatnot but don't follow the MLA citation guidelines.
Published on January 11, 2011 by Bry Osmonson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of a Bad Lot, August 24, 2004
If you are looking for a writing handbook for a college writing class, this is the best there is. Ideally, you should get the paperback, but it appears to be out of print.

The volume wastes little time or space on trivia (web pages, business memos, etc.). The handling of grammar is clear and to the point. Discussions of reading and note-taking, argumentation, and analysis are useful, if not always inspired. Coverage of documentation and research writing is as good as such manuals get, which is to say decent without being fully satisfactory. Much of the pedagogical material interspersed with the rest, particularly about ESL students, cultural backgrounds, writing literature papers, and so forth is very well done.

Unlike every other manual I saw when my program reviewed nearly fifty of these tomes, Lunsford's text is clearly written by someone who understands what students will actually be asked to do in college classes. She doesn't lard the book with a lot of bad Mickey Mouse assignments. Those who actually read the text will find that she moves rapidly from basics (grammar, etc.) into elementary academic writing, which is of course exactly what professors will demand of students. Every other text I read through seems to think that professors want their students to write position papers expressing their opinions!

Lunsford has a charming, clear writing style, and the book is simply and clearly laid out. Those who only flip through it rapidly may think it insufficiently glitzy, but you buy a manual for its content, not its colors.

If you have to choose one writing textbook, this is far and away the best. Unfortunately, that just means it's acceptable, not that it's actually particularly good.

One day someone is going to write a manual that's about 500 pages (instead of 1,000), that's simple and clear and to the point, and that costs about $25. Until that happens, Andrea Lunsford's manual is your best bet for college writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent English tool, July 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We use this book in class every day and it has been extremely helpful in improving my grammar skills. I am sure that I will sell most of the school books that I collect over time, but I'm keeping this one for future reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old MLA version, January 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Since the anglophiles had to change the MLA bibliography rules, this book is now dated. It's fine for grammar and whatnot but don't follow the MLA citation guidelines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars St. Martin's, November 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book has been helping me build my written and spoken english. I now have a better understanding of how some words are written and why.
If you're learning to write formally, I recommend this book to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book!, February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The St. Martin's Handbook (Paperback)
This is a great book for beginning writing! I really fell that I will use this book though out my writing career!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy, but not that many examples, July 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The St. Martin's Handbook (Paperback)
It's handy for a quick review of formats that you usually already know of, but there's not that many examples for very specific things that you need like quoting sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book. A good buy. I'm glad I invested in it. Very informative. All the information you need about the English world is basically in this book. From basic to college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every college student needs a handbook, and this one is fantastic. It's smallish, so it fits nicely anywhere, and it's full of some of the best info I've ever read for being able to write college papers, reports, projects, etc. effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thankyou, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is required for my college writing courses. It has been very helpful the past couple semesters in college!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
had citing information in the middle of the book that included mla, apa, chicago (and others). This helped so I didn't have to keep looking stuff up online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The St. Martin's Handbook
The St. Martin's Handbook by Franklin E. Horowitz (Paperback - February 22, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.