Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 7, 2009
Everyone knows that all seven seasons of this show are classics. However, since Fox dropped the ball and declined to include a listing of the episode titles, descriptions and airdates - here they are. You can put this in a Word document (reduce the size) and print it out.

THE MARY TYLER MOORE SHOW - The Complete Fifth Season

DISC ONE

1) Will Mary Richards Go to Jail? (Airdate: September 14, 1974)
Mary refuses to reveal a news source for a story she produced and has to spend a night in jail.

2) Not Just Another Pretty Face (Airdate: September 21, 1974)
Mary dates a man with whom she has nothing in common and becomes concerned that their relationship is superficial.

3) You Sometimes Hurt the One You Hate (Airdate: September 28, 1974)
Lou finally loses his temper with Ted when he endorses a political candidate on The Six O'Clock News and throws him through the office doors. Lou feels guilty, and Ted takes advantage of him.

4) Lou and That Woman (Airdate: October 5, 1974)
Lou begins seeing a cocktail lounge singer but becomes uncomfortable about her past.

5) The Outsider (Airdate: October 12, 1974)
WJM-TV hires a young business consultant, who demands certain changes for The Six O'Clock News, offending every member of the news team.

6) I Love a Piano (Airdate: October 19, 1974)
Murray meets an attractive woman at one of Mary's parties and considers having an affair. On the pretext of buying her old piano, he goes to see her.

7) The New Sue Ann (Airdate: October 26, 1974)
A fan named Gloria persuades Sue Ann to hire her for The Happy Homemaker. Sue Ann is less than pleased when the young woman plays up to the station manager and gets a larger role on the show at the expense of her own.

8) Menage-a-Phyllis (Airdate: November 2, 1974)
Phyllis dates a man on a platonic basis, but he is attracted more to Mary and begins seeing her.

DISC TWO

9) Not a Christmas Story (Airdate: November 9, 1974)
The entire newsroom staff are arguing with each other, and when they are trapped at the office due to bad weather, Sue Ann decides to serve her Christmas dinner early.

10) What Are Friends For? (Airdate: November 16, 1974)
Mary finds out just how lonely the life Sue Ann leads really is when the pair travels to Chicago to represent WJM at a broadcasters' convention.

11) A Boy's Best Friend (Airdate: November 23, 1974)
Ted is shocked when he finds out his mother does not intend to marry her boyfriend, but will live with him.

12) A Son for Murray (Airdate: November 30, 1974)
Murray, the father of three daughters, wants a son. When he is unable to convince Marie to have another child, the couple decides to adopt instead.

13) Neighbors (Airdate: December 7, 1974)
Lou finally decides to move out of his house and into something smaller. He rents Rhoda's old apartment and begins taking over Mary's private life.

14) A Girl Like Mary (Airdate: December 14, 1974)
When Lou decides to add a female newscaster to his staff and gives orders to find "a girl like Mary," Mary decides to audition for the job herself.

15) An Affair to Forget (Airdate: December 21, 1974)
When Mary is promoted from associate producer to producer of The Six O'Clock News, Ted finally makes his move and soon convinces the rest of the newsroom staff that he and Mary are having an affair.

16) Mary Richards: Producer (Airdate: January 4, 1975)
Feeling that she is the producer of The Six O'Clock News in name only, Mary asks Lou for the chance to actually produce the show on her own.

DISC THREE

17) The System (Airdate: January 11, 1975)
When Ted astonishes everyone by coming up with a winning system for betting on football games, Lou goes into partnership with him, and bets all their winnings for the season on the Super Bowl without telling Ted.

18) Phyllis Whips Inflation (Airdate: January 18, 1975)
Phyllis suffers the ultimate indignation when she's forced to seek a job after Lars cuts off her credit cards, and she finds that she has no employable skills.

19) The Shame of the Cities (Airdate: January 25, 1975)
Lou tries to recapture the dynamism of the crusading reporter he once was by launching an investigation into big-city politics, only to find that the politician be has chosen to investigate is completely honest.

20) Marriage Minneapolis Style (Airdate: February 1, 1975)
Ted gets swept up in the spirit of Murray's 20th wedding anniversary party and chooses the most public place possible to pop the question to Georgette, but gets cold feet soon afterward.

21) You Try To Be a Nice Guy (Airdate: February 8, 1975)
Mary agrees to help a girl she met in jail go straight, but is frustrated by Sherry's unwillingness to accept a conventional job.

22) You Can't Lose 'Em All (Airdate: February 15, 1975)
Lou wins the Albert Mason Award, which he had once said was for broadcasting veterans who couldn't chew their own food.

23) Ted Baxter's Famous Broadcasters' School (Airdate: February 22, 1975)
When Ted falls victim to a con artist while attempting to establish "Ted Baxter's Famous Broadcasters' School," he turns to Lou, Mary, and Murray to pose as the faculty and give the opening night's lectures.

24) Anybody Who Hates Kids and Dogs (Airdate: March 8, 1975)
Mary likes her new boyfriend but finds his son absolutely intolerable.
1919 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2008
Article from 8/31 NY Times

[...]%20tyler%20moore&st=cse

(Login required)

I won't copy the entire article, but here are some relevant quotes:

FANS of one of the greatest sitcoms in history, you finally have cause to rejoice: Chuckles the Clown is, once again, going to bite the dust, and this time he's doing it on DVD.

What knocked the series off the fast track, according to Steven Feldstein, senior vice president for corporate and marketing communications at 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, was a glutted marketplace. "We looked at the landscape of the TV-to-DVD business and stepped back," he said. "The other studios were dumping stuff that nobody wanted onto DVD. I mean, `What you talkin' 'bout, Willis?' Come on. People were dumping everything."

This May [Oprah Winfrey] devoted an hour of her show to a reunion of the entire surviving original cast, complete with a replica of the WJM set. During the show Ms. Winfrey wept with joy.

Fox got the message and has now committed to releasing all three remaining seasons, covering episodes from the fall of 1974 to the spring of 1977.
2323 comments| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2007
Pkease get seasons 5,6 & 7 available soonest. MTM fans have been waiting over a year for number 5 and are ready to by the complete set. Want my money? Just get these classic espisodes on the market.
88 comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2009
You could almost predict that Fox would deliver the lowest quality package possible. It is completely within their pattern to do so. I suppose there will be some reviewers that will say "we should be glad that Fox deigned to cast this before us" but, if you're going to do something, you should do it right. Clearly, Fox couldn't care less what their customers think of them. GM used to think that way.

There is no list of episodes anywhere on the package! That saves Fox $1 for every 10,000 copies they make. you'll have to make your own list. I challenge anyone to find any other TV series packaged in this way.

Then, when you try to highlight the episodes while viewing, the selection is nearly impossible to see. Good job, Fox. Somehow, I knew you'd find a way to re-enforce your poor image.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2009
Like most of the other reviewers, I awaited very patiently for a long time for Season 5 to finally be released. The Mary Tyler Moore Show in my opinion was/is (along with The Odd Couple) the funniest show on television. And time has not diminished that. It is still as fresh and original today. It contains what all sitcoms today lack. Great acting, writing, and most of all heart. I was so happy when I finally heard that Season 5(along with 6 and 7 coming later on) was being released. I got my dvd copy the first day. I however was very shocked when I saw that the same care in the packaging was not continued. No information of any kind. Wrong cast listing. And just very cheaply made. Not to mention any bonus material. I am glad that the shows are at full length, with no editing. However I feel so much more care should have been put into this. This show deserves all the care and respect that it earned during it's original run and still deserves today. Apparently Fox didn't think so. I also feel that the quality of the transfers are TERRIBLE. So much grain that I couldn't believe it. There has been no restoration or remastering of any kind. The transfers are clean, but it is so fuzzy and grainy that it can be a little distracting at times. In short a great show with a terrible presentation. Hope Fox will improve their act for seasons 6 and 7.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 3, 2008
This would be the best late Christmas gift that I could ask for! With so many lower quality modern shows already out on DVD, this release is long overdue. Please complete the release of this classic series (and the Bob Newhart Show too for that matter!).
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 14, 2008
This is the season that introduces a lot of memorable characters, like Eileen Heckert as hard-drinking newswoman, Flo Meredith, as well as "Chuckles Bites the Dust," ranked by TV Guide as one of the top two comic episodes of all time. This is such a great series it would be criminal not to release seasons 5, 6 & 7.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's always with a little sadness that I approach season 5 of this great show. One of the things I love about the early seasons of the show is the great friendship between Mary and Rhoda. And with Rhoda gone, I feel the show is missing a little something. Fortunately, the other cast members step it up and that feeling doesn't last for more than an episode or two.

The joy of a good ensemble comedy is the fact that you do have good strong characters to build upon. Mary Richards (Mary Tyler Moore) is still living in her one room apartment next to neighbor Phyllis (Cloris Leachman, who only has four episodes this season). Her work life seems to overtake more of her personal life. For example, boss Lou Grant (Ed Asner) moves into Rhoda's old apartment at one point. Ted's (Ted Knight) girlfriend Georgette (Georgia Engel) stops by to visit on a more regular basis. Heck, even happy homemaker Sue Ann (Betty White) shows up quite a bit more. And good ole Murray (Gavin MacLeod) is by Mary's side every day at work.

As with the previous seasons, this show features some classic episodes. My favorite is "Not a Christmas Story," which finds the gang snowed in and mad at each other. Absolutely hilarious stuff. Lou turns into a softy after he throws Ted through a door. Murray struggles with his feelings about only having daughters. Mary gets a promotion to producer and tries to go it alone with the news. Sue Ann almost gets replaced by a much younger fan. Phyllis tries to find a job after a bad economy destroys the family budget. And in another favorite, Ted finally asks Georgette to marry him, in the middle of the 6 o'clock news.

Even when this show gets serious, like the season opener with finds Mary facing jail time for not revealing a source, it never forgets it is a comedy. There are plenty of laughs.

Of course, the writing and the acting are all top notch here. You couldn't ask for a better cast, and they truly bring these characters to life.

As other have noted, the big drawback to the set is the packaging itself. The shows are on 3 discs. They could look a little better, but I don't think they are any worse than the other seasons have been. We get no extras, but we didn't for the last two seasons. What is unforgivable is no episode guide. How can I find my favorite episode without it? True, I can look it up on line, but that's annoying. Additionally, they cut out the disclaimer voice over from "The System," one of my favorite bits from that episode.

So the set itself loses a star. But the episodes are still timeless and funny. Since this is probably the best we will ever get, if you are a fan, get this set. You will certainly enjoy the core content.
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 7, 2008
It was 1974 and I had just worked one full year. I had a vacation coming and I flew to California (first vacation/ first time in a plane) because I wanted to watch them tape THE MARY TYLER MOORE SHOW. I was told this might not be possible but . . .

On the evening of Friday, August 16th, I was sitting in the studio audience when they taped the episode where, with the excuse of buying a piano, Murray contemplated having an affair with Barbara Barrie. I saw it all - the apartment, Mr. Grant's office, etc. Even now (30 + years later), I will never forget that night. So PLEASE RUSH OUT THAT DVD (and the subsequent years). Many years later, Mary Tyler Moore appeared at Borders here in NYC to autograph copies of her book, AFTER ALL. I waited in line and just as I got to her, her pen ran out of ink and I got a few moments to speak to her. I told her how I had been listening to the radio that morning where the DJ's were kidding her about seeing her for the first time on TV LAND and NICK AT NIGHT. I told her how I had gone all the way to California to see her tape an episode of the show. "Really?" she smiled (Oh, THAT SMILE). "You must be a real fan." I told her I kept the ticket (framed) and told her the date and what the episode was about. She really laughed and said, "Boy. You are even a bigger fan than Rosie O'Donnell!" My shining moment.

How many shows or personalities can have this effect on so many people? Well, this show has and as I've almost worn out the DVD's from the first four seasons, I can not wait until I get my hands on this one. Hey. Amazon. Can we pre-order?
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2009
I'm thrilled to finally get season 5! However.....the packaging stinks with no info regarding the shows in the plastic case. Yes, they went VERY cheap with the 5th season. Why not not fore-go the plastic case and slap the dvd's in an envelope and call it a day???.....
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.