Customer Reviews


3,423 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,567)
4 star:
 (407)
3 star:
 (174)
2 star:
 (128)
1 star:
 (147)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Transfer Is Fantastic!
With over 2,000 reviews, there is no sense discussing the movie so I will just address this to readers wondering if the Blu-Ray transfer is as good as they, perhaps, have heard.

Yes, it is - it's incredble. I am not a particular fan of the film, especially the sequels, so I say these remarks with no bias. I just rented this first "Matrix" to see how it looked...
Published on March 6, 2009 by Craig Connell

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
It always seems as though the same concept gets sold to a variety of Hollywood producers at about the same time & a race is on to get out a product. Last year two big rocks came to hit the Earth in two different movies, for example. The current big trend is Cyber-Space or alternate reality.
Three movies have been released at almost the same time about this...
Published on November 13, 1999 by Daniel B. Waldman


‹ Previous | 1 2343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

153 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Transfer Is Fantastic!, March 6, 2009
By 
Craig Connell (Lockport, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With over 2,000 reviews, there is no sense discussing the movie so I will just address this to readers wondering if the Blu-Ray transfer is as good as they, perhaps, have heard.

Yes, it is - it's incredble. I am not a particular fan of the film, especially the sequels, so I say these remarks with no bias. I just rented this first "Matrix" to see how it looked. Well, it Blu (pun intended) me away!! At this point, I've seen around 50 Blu-Ray DVDs and this is as good as it gets. I can't imagine how you could make it any better. It's so sharp, I just sat there mesmerized by it. The sound also is outstanding....another upgrade. I've seen this movie three times now and I swear I heard a lot of background talk and stuff I never heard before.

So....if you read that the audio and visuals are 5-star caliber - believe it; it's true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


329 of 386 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie's Great...This Package, Not So, December 8, 2000
By 
D. Bailey "fontosaurus@gmail.com" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Matrix is an excellent movie that combines science fiction, shoot-em-up action, and philosophical questions about the nature of Reality. If you are plugged in to a computer, and that computer presents you with a reality that is completely indistinguishable from your own, is it any less real?
This movie has exceptional special effects, beautiful cinematography, an excellent soundtrack, well-crafted dialogue, and respectable acting. Keanu Reeves may be a lousy actor, but I think that the Matrix is probably his best performance to date.
The Platinum Limited Edition isn't really worth the extra money unless you're an absolute, die-hard, take the red pill, freak. I wish I had known that before ordering this product. It comes in a box about as thick as an encyclopedia, and is fairly large, so it won't fit on the shelf with the rest of your DVDs. Opening it up, I was rather disappointed -- most of the volume is filled with a cheap plastic tray that contains a celluloid clip of the film with a blown-up photo (decent, but nothing fantastic), a few postcard-sized stills from the movie, and a copy of the normal DVD in a normal case. Nothing fantastic. For this money, I was expecting a DVD with DTS sound, alternate angles, deleted scenes, etc., but just got the same old Matrix disc. A major drag.
Do yourself a favor. Buy the basic copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Anything You've Seen Before, November 19, 2000
This review is from: The Matrix (DVD)
(What is the Matrix). In 1977, George Lucas changed the landscape of cinematic Science Fiction forever with "Star Wars," taking the genre light years ahead of all that preceded it. Such a momentous advancement would not be seen again for over twenty years, when, in 1999, the Wachowski Brothers raised the bar again, taking the genre at warp speed to an unprecedented level with their astoundingly innovative film, "The Matrix." Co-directed, written and produced by Larry and Andy Wachowski, it is an allegory of salvation and redemption filled with symbolism and metaphor (the Biblical references alone should keep theology students debating this one for years to come); a thinking man's action film, accentuated with moments that are no less than profound. In a world of the future, things are literally not what they seem, where it's Man versus Machine, Reality versus Fantasy, and few who know the truth; among those who do, is Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne), who has long awaited the arrival of "The One," who it has been prophesied will be the salvation of the world. Enter Neo (Keanu Reeves), a computer programmer with an innate sense of discrepancy as to the state of things around him; he has questions, most of which are still in the process of being formulated in his own mind. (What is the Matrix). Morpheus has answers. And when they meet, it's Alice down the rabbit hole, and Neo's life is changed forever. Reeves is perfectly cast as Neo, the enigmatic young man who may or may not be "The One," and it's one of the best roles of his career. He conveys a sense of removed, distracted urgency that defines his character, infusing him with both a strength and vulnerability that coalesces as the story progresses into determination and confidence. The underplayed, subtle character development (largely unacknowledged and under appreciated) is a nice piece of work by Reeves. As Morpheus, Fishburne is dynamic; he endows him with a quiet intensity that fairly roils beneath the surface, effectively restrained while leaving no doubt as to the character's power and purpose. You understand his resolution completely by his countenance alone; by the way he speaks and carries himself. It's a memorable performance by one of the truly gifted actors of our times. (What is the Matrix). Other notable performances include those by Hugo Weaving (Agent Smith), who brings a formidable, white-collar sinisterness to his character that is chilling; Carrie-Anne Moss (Trinity), a strong, vital presence throughout the film; and Joe Pantoliano (Cypher), who is entirely convincing in his role of a Cyber-age Judas. Rounding out the terrific supporting cast are Gloria Foster (Oracle), Marcus Chong (Tank), Julian Arahanga (Apoc), Matt Doran (Mouse), Belinda McClory (Switch) and Ray Anthony Parker (Dozer). A visually stunning, thought provoking, captivating film, "The matrix" is a triumph of movie-making that assures the Wachowski's a permanent place in cinematic history. The special effects are cutting-edge, state-of-the-art; the choreography of the action sequences is top rate and delivered with a style and effectiveness worthy of comparison to John Woo's best; and, most importantly, the story itself is complex, intelligent, and deftly takes you into regions beyond the known. This is Science Fiction at it's best, but beyond that, it's a great movie that transcends genre or category; a landmark film that must be experienced more than once, for new meaning is gleaned with every viewing. Enhanced by a driving soundtrack that completes the package, highlighted by incredible action,outstanding performances and memorable scenes to numerous to mention, this is a movie that absolutely must not be missed. (What is the...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect DVD of perfect movie, December 2, 1999
By 
Nandor Klatsmanyi (Sydney, Australia - The Home of The Matrix) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Matrix (DVD)
I bought Matrix a week age, but I have seen it 4 times already. Picture & sound quality are perfect ! If you have a good sound system, turn it up and you will feel yourself in the Matrix too ! The "Follow the White Rabbit" is excellent ! As well as the introduction to the Bullet-time technique. There is no multi-angle view on the DVD, but the movie itself is full of mult-angle views anyway. Unfortunately nobody can be told how good the Matrix DVD is, you have to see it for yourself !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See It Twice, March 10, 2000
By 
Jennifer Walker (Lakewood, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This movie must be seen twice in order to be fully appreciated. The first viewing should be spent enjoying it for its eye-popping special effects, for its outrageous action, for its killer industrial soundtrack, and for the pleasure of watching Keanu Reeves and Carrie-Anne Moss run around looking fabulous.
The second viewing should be spent contemplating the questions The Matrix raises about our perception of reality. It's hard to believe that such a slick, glossy production starring Keanu Reeves conveys such deep, mind-boggling concepts, but it does.
The directing Wachowski brothers (the guys responsible for the wonderfully outrageous Bound), have been influenced heavily by other filmmakers, authors and artists, and they don't try to hide it in the least. However, rather than a blatant rip-off, this plays more like a reverent homage.
Laurence Fishburne projects a powerful presence as the wise Morpheus, although it often seems that he employed William Shatner as his dialogue coach. Keanu Reeves is in his element. The Matrix maximizes his strengths (his ability to look completely dumbfounded and his unique physicality) and minimizes his weaknesses (just about everything else). The role of Neo is tailor-made for him. The real standout in the cast, however, is Carrie-Anne Moss as Trinity. She is a real find, and while she is stunning in a shiny black cat suit, her purpose in this film is not simply ornamental. She is responsible for at least half of this movie's excitement, and she gives it its emotional heart.
The Matrix is two movies in one. One is a truly awesome action movie, and the other is a deep meditation on the nature of reality. It can be enjoyed equally on both levels, but maybe not on first viewing. See it at least twice.
Stay tuned after the credits for 4 behind-the-scenes vignettes, one of which shows Reeves, in full wicked-bad regalia, perform a hilarious, unintentional pratfall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Matrix in Full HD Glory, October 27, 2009
The Matrix fandom is heavily divided between those who loved the entire trilogy and those who regard the first one as a true classic with two sub-par follow-ups. Whatever side you support, there's no denying that the first Matrix is indeed a classic that revolutionized the industry and raised the bar on many layers (from special effects and sound to editing). It's a well paced, action packed, philosophical science fiction master piece.

If you already own the collection on DVD, this is the one "must" to upgrade to Hi-Definition. It looks and sounds superb on Blu-Ray and it has all the special features (related only to the first movie) that come in the collector's set plus a color booklet.

The digibook package hasn't been received with unconditional love by everyone, but it does give a "special edition feel" and provides decent protection to the disc.

Some people will prefer "The Ultimate Matrix Collection", but for those of us who loved the original the most and are unwilling to pay upgrades for everything, this is the edition to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, December 10, 1999
By 
Brian Selzer (Annapolis, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This movie is one of the most thought provoking movies I've seen to date. There is an excellent mix of sci-fi and action, and the philosophical concepts woven into the mix only enhance the viewing process. If you have not already seen this movie, please go out and see it; it's fantastic. The movie explodes into action in the first scene and continues forward, never letting up until the end. Even if your favorite stars are not in this film, it is a must see! The co-directors do a great job of controlling the special effects so that they do not take over the film. They also sculpt the scenes in such a way that, by the end of the movie, the viewer can't help but be immersed in the story. Again, this is a must see film, I highly reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Matrix - limited edition collector's set is "THE ONE", April 6, 2002
By 
Jason (fairfax, va United States) - See all my reviews
amongst my whole entire collection of dvd's from A-Z, "the matrix-limited editon collector's set" is by far one of my most prized possessions in my arsenal, just the movie alone speaks for itself! but when you've got the actual soundtrack, movie stills, lobby cards, posters and a limited edition 8mm movie filmstrip to add to it....you're literally left speechless, it took awhile for this to arrive to me, but considering the fact that it's virtually impossible to find this item anywhere else, it was all worth the wait, definitely an add-on to your collection....and u could say...(depending on your taste)u could consider this to be the ICING on your cake...and with the sequal soon to come out in theatres, this will be an even HARDER item to find in the future....so don't let "NEO" down, get this classic action/thriller NOW!......5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Thought-Provoking, Compelling, November 25, 1999
By 
Jack Frosch (St. Louis, MO, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Matrix (DVD)
Synopsis: A premiere sci-fi film with a lot of action and a thought-provoking premise
Overall Entertainment Value: Excellent
Violence: Abundant, but not gory
Plot: Thought provoking, but not high brow or preachy
Special Effects: Well Done and Visually Compelling
Suitable For Age: Mature 16
Few movies compel me to watch them more than once. Fewer still can completely hold my interest a second time. This is one of the rare movies that I can enjoy every few months.
Like Blade Runner, 2001: A Space Odyssey, and even Star Trek/Star Trek NG, The Matrix invites you to examine your notions of what being "alive" means.
Ironically, the special effects that draw you into accepting the reality of The Matrix ultimately support a plot that forces you to challenge any notion you may have about objective reality. How do you *know* your reality is *the* reality?
No, it's not some high brow intellectual art film; and yes, its violence, while not gory, is abundant. This is not a movie for early teens!
Nonetheless, if you come away from it without wondering about the relationship between perception and reality (or whether objective reality can be proven at all!), then you'll have missed the point. If so, just go back to watching reruns of Seinfeld - and other shows that are proudly about nothing at all.
For the rest of you, buy this on DVD because I suspect a VHS tape will wear out before your interest in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! WARNING! This is no "Collector's Set", January 23, 2004
I jsut want to warn you all to slam on the brakes to avoid being duped into thinking that this item is a 'collector's set'.
I got this as a gift for my birthday in 2002 to replace a DVD of this movie that was stolen but I am just dissapointed with this item. I was expecting a very large stash of goodies but all I got was just two posters and just one, that's right ONE DISC!! Only one extra that was a second disc of behind the scenes footage and while it's great, I feel sorry for the person who ended up spending so much more money on just so little extra stuff.
This is a great item and the movie is just incredible but the title is misleading. Good thing that it's only a "Limited Edition" but there isn't enough that warrants spending and extra five thousand pennies on this set.
Stick with your older DVDs or wait until a possible MATRIX box set containing all three movies "Matrix", "Matrix Reloaded", and "Matrix Revolutions" comes out. You'll be much better buying that instead of this so-called "Collector's Set".
A total dissapointment. I'm only giving this a five star just because the movie is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2343 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Matrix [Blu-ray]
The Matrix [Blu-ray] by Larry Wachowski (Blu-ray - 2010)
$19.98 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.