Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


342 of 352 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Diet - Great Recipes!!
My husband and I have done them all -- Atkins, South Beach, etc. but this one by far is the best diet. What's not to like - you're eating very very healthy!!!! The recipes in this book are great! There was not one recipe that we did not like. My husband, who hates to each fish, now eats it at least 3 to 4 times a week. He's lost 10 pounds and feels great. There is a...
Published on March 31, 2007 by Bookworm Mimi

versus
133 of 153 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good general-health book with a few annoyances. Biased in several ways.
I've been eating in a Mediterranean-type way for years, and it is truly one of the healthiest and best-studied ways of eating in the world. I've enjoyed many health benefits from this diet, and I'll never return to the SAD diet. Therefore, I'm not giving this book only three stars because it's a bad book. It's a decent book on healthful eating in general. Yet, I had a few...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

342 of 352 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Diet - Great Recipes!!, March 31, 2007
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
My husband and I have done them all -- Atkins, South Beach, etc. but this one by far is the best diet. What's not to like - you're eating very very healthy!!!! The recipes in this book are great! There was not one recipe that we did not like. My husband, who hates to each fish, now eats it at least 3 to 4 times a week. He's lost 10 pounds and feels great. There is a two week beginner diet plan and then the maintenance plan which a lot of the other books did not have. I recommend this diet and most specifically this book to EVERYONE who wants a good healthy diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


226 of 236 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile for the health advice AND the recipes, October 17, 2007
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I wanted to try out a healthier eating style - I wasn't too much for salads and vegetables or fish before.... but the text of the book is well written and very convincing, the recipes are very good and easy enough to make - and to experiment with altering them - and best of all, I feel satisfied when I eat, I've lost 8 lbs in 2 weeks (1/4 of my goal) and no more digestive upsets. My sister just had her gallbladder out for the same symptoms I had just started having and they went away completely. I can't recommend it enough! I bought two other books but this was my favorite for the text part and recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


184 of 203 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very simple approach, August 13, 2006
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
I've been on just about every diet known to womankind and have struggled with my weight since childhood. I got interested in Mediterranean cuisine after being stationed in Sicily for 2 years and Spain for 3 while in the US Navy.

What I love about this book is the program is so easy. There are menu suggestions, but you really don't need to follow these to the letter. Grocery shopping is so much easier because you can follow the plan with what is available.

Only thing is there are still questions - like what if you finish the two week initial stage and are not at goal yet, do you keep on doing the same thing or begin transitioning?

All in all, I'm happy with the program. Only wish I could contact the author with further questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, May 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
I've had the book for 3 weeks, and every single recipe I've made has been fantastic. I've always hated to cook in the past, because every time I tried to make something, the results just didn't seem worth the time and effort. I actually look forward to cooking now. I feel like I finally learned how to cook food that I actually want to eat!

It was also very difficult for me to cook because I'm what is known as a pescetarian. I don't eat red meat or poultry, but I still eat fish and dairy. There aren't a lot of cookbooks out there for pescatarians, but this book is great because the majority of the recipes are for veggies, beans and fish/shellfish. Perfect! There are also some poultry and red meat recipes as well. My husband loves the Balsamic Chicken.

The diet is basically a lot of fish, veggies and beans. The only fat is olive oil, no butter or vegetable oils. There's only a minimal amount of bread/pasta, and whole grains are encouraged. No sweets, but lots of fresh fruit. It seems like a very heart-healthy diet. It's also a great diet for anyone with IBS, I notice my symptoms have diminished greatly since being on it.

As far as the recipes, the tuna salad using olive oil and vinegar instead of mayo is a revelation, and I don't think I could ever go back to the mayo version again. I made the Shrimp Oreganata, along with the Baked Eggplant and Zucchini for my mom when she was visiting. She's always been an excellent cook, and she said it was the best meal she'd had in a really long time, and raved about it the whole week she was here. I made a lot of meals from the book while she was here, and she liked everything so much, I bought her a copy.

I haven't lost any weight yet, but I haven't strictly adhered to the diet, either. I guess you can say I skipped the first two weeks strict part of the diet and went straight into the maintenance phase. But even if I never lose a single pound, I'm still very happy I bought this book. The recipes are simple, wholesome, healthy, and most importantly, delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book! Highly recommend., September 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
Started following the diet as outlined in this book three weeks ago. I've lost 13 lbs. and my wife has lost 15! The recipies are fantastic. And this is coming from someone who LOVES food. You're not actually dieting, just eating better. It's healthy and was actually recommended to me by a cardiologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 153 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good general-health book with a few annoyances. Biased in several ways., February 5, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
I've been eating in a Mediterranean-type way for years, and it is truly one of the healthiest and best-studied ways of eating in the world. I've enjoyed many health benefits from this diet, and I'll never return to the SAD diet. Therefore, I'm not giving this book only three stars because it's a bad book. It's a decent book on healthful eating in general. Yet, I had a few problems that simply annoyed me too much for me to even consider a four-star rating.

1. The author bases most of his claims of the health benefits of the Mediterranean diet on studies done in Crete. This is fine for the most part, as the diets of Sicily and Crete are similar (though Greece in general has a lot of healthful influence from the Near East missing from the Italian diet). However, when the two diets differ (such as in the amount of fish/meat eaten), he sides with Sicily for no good reason, it seems, other than cultural bias. The traditional Cretan diet used meat rarely and almost only as as a seasoning or during holidays. Fish was eaten a couple times per week. This author wants you to eat fish several times per week, which brings up the danger of mercury poisoning. It doesn't seem very scientific to use a study done in one area and then change it to fit your own personal ethnic history. There is nothing intrinsically superior about the Sicilian diet nor has any study been done to show that it is more healthful than the traditional Cretan diet.

2. This brings me to another point. The author seems dismissive of vegetarians, even claiming that he can offer no help to them despite the fact that the traditional Cretan and Greek diet (upon which most of the Mediterranean-diet studies are actually based) was widely, though not completely, vegetarian. As I said, fish was only eaten a couple times per week and meat was very rare. His diet is very meat-centric for a diet that is supposed to be based on lentils, vegetable, fruit, and whole grains. Mediterranean peoples eat an abundance of healthful, delicious legume-based dishes ... so it's rather easy to follow this diet and be vegetarian. Again, there seems to be some sort of bias here. Other Mediterranean-diet books seem to have no problem with showing how easy it is to eat Mediterranean regardless of how much meat you consume.

3. Perhaps the most annoying thing about the book is his, decidedly non-Mediterranean, two-week weight-loss diet. It's a high-protein, near low-carb, diet that has you avoid many of the healthful foods upon which the Mediterranean diet is based. This makes the book's title seem like a marketing ploy and the good doctor seem as if he's jumping on a bandwagon because of his ethnicity. I'd suggest skipping over the two-week diet, as it's not much different from any other high-protein diet that's popular today. You may not get enough fiber, and you'll be missing out on tons of nutrients found in fruits and nuts that aren't even present in large quantities in vegetables. Changing to the Mediterranean diet and lifestyle (which includes plenty of movement), is enough to kick start weight loss, and you'll be healthier for it in the long run.

4. The recipes are rather simple (which can be good) but also boring and very similar to one another. The true Mediterranean diet does not include meat or fish at every single meal, and if you do so you are not truly eating in a traditional Mediterranean-type way. Moreover, there are so many wonderful legume-based dishes that are wide-spread through that region of the world that you'll simply be missing out on if you just follow his recipe plans. I'd suggest buying "Vefa's Kitchen," which is, in my opinion, the absolutely best Greek cookbook translated into English out there. Maybe use the good doctor's recipes as a jumping off point and then expand from there. There are many great Mediterranean cookbooks out there, the one I suggested is simply the one I use the most (I have many).

Anyway, I'm only writing this review based on my own experience with the Mediterranean diet, which has been extremely positive. This diet does not, intrinsically, dismiss vegetarians or meat eaters. The ethnic diet is varied, for sure, but the studies done on the diet were very specific and could have different results even from one part of the Mediterranean to another. Still, it's a good book for those beginning their journey into Mediterranean-style eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Family's Favorite Recipe Book!, December 25, 2007
By 
B. J. Knutson (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
This is simply an outstanding book, the recipe's are fantastic, the advice outstanding.

I would advice (as the author does) that you try all recipes, even if you think they don't sound all that good. We've found that all of them are quite tasty, and easy to make.

I even bought this book for others in my family, and they love it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 127 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for Long-Term Health, Not as Advertised for Weight Loss, January 24, 2011
By 
MariaFrancis (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
I bought the book because we already eat lots of fruits, vegetables, nuts, and not many processed foods and I wanted more tips and to lose 15 pounds. I was stunned to discover that the two-week blast off diet (promise to lose 5 to 10 pounds) called for eating mostly veggies with zero fruit and nuts. It's then recommended that we stay on the "two-week plan" until we accomplish our weight loss goals. No fruits, no nuts...lots of veggies, fish, some other dreary foods, for a long time. Who are you kiddin'? Most of us could do this for two weeks but most of us have more that 5 to 10 pounds to lose. If we could eat in such a boring way we wouldn't have a weight problem!

The book is best at recommending healthy foods. The recipes are simple, easy. However, all the promise of fruits and nuts fall flat when you see they aren't presented as helpful for weight loss!

In sum, I feel misled by the PR and some reviews. It's still quite a valuable book if your goal is eat healthy but not to lose weight. The authors seem like good people. I wonder if the publisher put them up to the ridiculous cover promo, "Lose Up To 10 Pounds in 2 Weeks", without mentioning the truth, 'by not eating many of the foods promoted in the book'. Of course, the truth is, we can lose weight if we keep our calorie count low and eat healthy foods such as fruit. The author creates an artificiality by not addressing the obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
I have been on the 2-week prescription for 12 days and have lost 6 pds. That is even through the Thanksgiving holiday this week. I am impressed by the health benefits. My blood sugar is stable for hours and junk food no longer calls my name! I am motivated to continue because I am having such great results. I had high energy really kick in near the end of the first week and I've only been doing 30 min of moderate exercise every day. The olive oil truly made the difference for me. I used to eat diet salads with no-fat dressing - never again! There is a satisfaction that seems to really carry me through cravings and I attribute it to the regular use of olive oil.

I am staying on the 2-week prescription until I lose the remaining 20 pds. I will definitely give an update. The plan is so simple that I had it memorized on the first day. Thank you, Doctor! This was very easy for me to customize for myself.

Update at 4 Weeks: 10 pounds gone , over a 3rd of my goal! I even took some meals off when I finally had hormonal cravings. I decided it would be better to give in a little to cravings than to be a martyr and ultimately binge. So I enjoyed adding modest portions of spaghetti with ground beef, fruit, cheese, butter, wine, nuts, extra bread and my favorite coconut cupcake for a few days. I only gained 1 1/2 and lost it within 2 days plus more after I got back on track this last week. Understanding that I can really make progress when I'm not hormonal while maintaining (which I hope I can get better at with practice) while I am has been a wonderful discovery! I also figure that the time off balances my body because I am on the restricted part of the diet - so I feel good about having a little fruit and nuts for health. I feel so healthy and have been enjoying caviar with my sardines (buy good quality, tender sardines in olive oil). I still have a little soy or almond milk in my coffee. I love this 'diet' and will continue! 10 pounds in a month is amazing for me - It took me more than double the time to do this on another diet that was much more complicated to follow. I must have been born to eat this way.

Update at 6 Weeks: Halfway to my goal weight. It was incredible to go shopping this week and fit loosely into size 10 pants when I was a tight 14 only 6 weeks ago. If I take an occasional day or two off (which I did for Christmas and blissfully enjoyed all the usual treats), I just go back to the diet 100% and the weight starts dropping again. So healthy, too! I've never been able to take days off and get back on track so easily. No more blood sugar crashes, even on off days has made me a believer. My rings have been loose for the entire 6 weeks, also.

Update at almost 12 Weeks: My goal weight is in sight (10 lbs to go)! I got some butter-flavored olive oil that I love on toast every morning. I try to stay on the strict part for several days in a row and then I maintain easily in-between. I have had to overhaul my clothes and have given a lot to Goodwill. I am back in small tops and my size 10 jeans are sagging now, so it's time to go shopping for 8's. I reread the book from time to time for motivation. It's been 12 weeks, but I won't hit 3 months until Feb. 12. I am so excited that I might be at my goal weight by then. It's not that the diet is hard, but you can diet, enjoy your food, and not be starving to lose weight. I'm pretty resistant to weight loss and have to actively be on the prescription part to make progress while others can lose in the maintenance phase. It works for me like nothing else ever has!

Update 20 weeks (Mid-Nov to late March 2013): I am still plugging away and it's going well. I am really getting trim and have lost about 18 lbs with 7 to go! I gained 1 1/2 last weekend eating cookies, but I don't mind. Lost it fast and painlessly in two strict prescription days of fish, chicken, eggs and vegetables (and my favorite morning toast with butter-flavored olive oil). I feel like I have finally found something that works for me for life. Life is a bit up and down and this diet works well with that. I can have an 'off' meal or two and not gain a thing most times. The cookies were a special treat and the author says he sometimes likes to indulge also. If I'm not strict, I maintain, if I indulge, I might gain a tiny bit. Definitely a loose sz 8 now in pants. Something that helped motivate me recently was the 'pause button' idea (some new book out that I saw in a news article). It helped me get a few strict days in a row, because I don't lose unless I am strict. Sorry if there is repeated information in my updates, but I truly feel and look amazingly healthy. My doctor is very happy!

Mid-April 2013 - Cholesterol is down 36 points to 199! Need to buy nearly a new wardrobe for this summer.

End of Oct. 2013 Will be a year in a couple of weeks. Have started showing people my driver's license picture recently and they are shocked by the change. Didn't matter if they knew me last year or not, it is a HUGE improvement. I alternate between strict days and then relaxed days. If I go way off I get stomach aches and I go right back to the Mediterranean Prescription to feel better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recipes, December 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life (Hardcover)
I bought this after my husband's second heartattack. At first, I thought the recipes required too much work and they didn't seem real tasty to me. I've never been big on fish. I didn't think my husband would like the food either. However, months later when I had gained more weight than I was comfortable with, I determined to give these recipes a try. I also took to heart the one suggestion of a couple who cooked some meals on the weekend so they'd have good meals ready for their on-the-go lifestyle during the week.

The recipes are so good and my husband likes them too. For the first time, he's eating Salmone and likes it. The only real work in preparing them is the chopping & dicing of the vegetables used in most meals. Once that is done, every meal is an absolute breeze. I haven't been able to work in an exercise program, yet. But I'm losing an average of 2 pounds a week and I've nearly gorged myself on the lunch & dinner meals for the first two weeks. I have found that on most recipes, there is enough leftovers for my lunch the next day. I really, really like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mediterranean Prescription: Meal Plans and Recipes to Help You Stay Slim and Healthy for the Rest of Your Life
$27.00 $17.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.