Customer Reviews


410 Reviews
5 star:
 (294)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleven exciting Holmes stories
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle wrote a number of books, but to me, nothing really worked like his Sherlock Holmes mysteries. The characters are believable, and one begins to think that one almost knows them. The characters in Doyle's other books just don't have the same character.

I've read all these stories before, but I had forgotten how they all turn out at the...
Published on March 18, 2010 by Louie Louie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, but
There are so many versions of Sherlock Holmes available for Kindle. Sadly, this one does not include the original drawings by Sidney Paget. They are integral to the experience and should not be missed. Look elsewhere.
Published 17 months ago by Lars Jorgensen


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleven exciting Holmes stories, March 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle wrote a number of books, but to me, nothing really worked like his Sherlock Holmes mysteries. The characters are believable, and one begins to think that one almost knows them. The characters in Doyle's other books just don't have the same character.

I've read all these stories before, but I had forgotten how they all turn out at the end. They are perfect for reading just before sleeping; you can finish one story easily each night before your eyes close and drift off to sleep.

I love the way Holmes sees even the smallest details and is able to deduce truths from them. Of course these are classics that people will enjoy for centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, May 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love reading Sherlock Holmes mysteries, and now I have them on my ipod! The stories has a couple of typos, but nothing that ruins the story. The complete stories are all there, with no missing parts. The pages are easy to read, flip, and use. I really enjoy using Kindle to read my stories, it's easy to use, and has all the features that I want like view lock, and automatic page saving. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves reading Holmes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, February 4, 2000
By A Customer
This is the perfect follow up to Klinger's annotated "Adventures of Sherlock Holmes." It is exhaustively researched, beautifully printed, and tastefully illustrated. The scope of the annotations are awesome, and truly enhance the appreciation of the Sherlock Holmes stories. Both die-hard fans and casual readers will absolutely love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some interesting some not, February 13, 2010
This book is pretty nice because it contains some of the queerest mysteries Sherlock Holmes ventured to solve, such as the Silver Blaze mystery and (my favorite) the Reigate puzzle (which I've read seven times because its kinda sad, strange, and actiony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive Sherlock Holmes -- a pleasure to read!, October 17, 2002
By 
W. Hill (Newark, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a wonderful surprise it was to come across Leslie Klinger's outstanding annotated versions of the Sherlock Holmes stories on Amazon! Klinger's notes are extremely helpful and informative (not to mention entertaining), and the copious illustrations by Paget are a great addition as well. This (and the other volumes, of which Adventures, Hound of the Baskervilles, and Study in Scarlet have been published to date) are a worthy successor to William Baring-Gould's justly acclaimed annotated Holmes from years back, and are, in opinion, a better value and more enjoyable read than the rather dry Oxford editions.
If you are new to Sherlock Holmes, this may not be the most economical way to pick up all of Conan Doyle's work. But if you are a long-time Holmes fan, or just want to experience the Holmes stories in a deeper and more informed way, I can think of no better purchase than this. Very highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Kindle Version., May 24, 2012
Recently watched the last episode of the second season of "Sherlock" on PBS. It made me want to read the original story, "The Final Problem", which appeared in "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes". I found this free copy of "Memoirs" on Kindle, and it includes illustrations and a table of contents, which is important since "Final" is the last story in the book.

This is a must have for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Edition, October 25, 2000
It is hard to write about classics . They are also hard to choose, specially because since most of them are in public domain, several publishing companies publish them.In the case of Sherlock Holmes adventures,this is also true.
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes is the collection of stories which its author intended to be the last, where the great detective plunges to apparent death with his arch-enemy, Professor Moriarty. Roughly ten years later the sleuth was resurrected.
The first time I purchased a Sherlock Holmes collection it was the Wordsworth edition. Very amusing, since they are the facsimile of the original Strand Magazine editions. On the other hand, the print is terribly small and difficult to read.
I was preparing my thesis when I found this edition of The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes. It was edited by Christopher Roden,a specialist in Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It has a very comprehensive introduction and liner notes which make the book very understandable, specially if you are not British.This edition is a very helpful one not only for the student, but also to the reader who is not familiar with Victorian times.
Bottom line: If you are a serious reader of Sherlock Holmes, this book should be part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No brainer download, March 9, 2011
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes gets you the following stories:

Silver Blaze (a favorite of mine)
The Yellow Face
The Stock-Broker's Clerk
The "Gloria Scott"
The Musgrave Ritual (Another great one)
The Reigate Puzzle
The Crooked Man (one of the saddest Holmes stories)
The Resident Patient
The Greek Interpreter
The Naval Treaty
The Final Problem

Doyle produced some of the finest detective stories, and this is a download I would recommend for any Kindle.

If you haven't ever read Holmes, give this free version a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's consulting detective Sherlock Holmes walks the streets of London in this splendid collection, November 13, 2011
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes was the second collection of tales about the eccentric sleuth. The book of storeis was published in 1894. The eleven stories are:

Silver Blaze-The favorite horse in the Wessex Cup is missing and his trainer has been murdered. Holmes and Dr. Watson leave London to investigate.

The Yellow Face-A mystified husband is concerned about a yellow face he saw at a home near his home. He also begins to question his wife's past.

The Stockbroker's Clerk-An innocent young clerk becomes involved with a gang of thieves.

The Gloria Scott-Murder and piracy on a ship come back to haunt characters in the present.

The Musgrave Ritual-A buried treasure from the days of Charles II lead Holmes and Watson to an old estate and the discovery of grisly murder.

The Reigate Squires-Holmes and Watson travel to rural England where wealthy homes have been violated by thieves. A surprising twist in the tale will surprise readers.

The Crooked Man-The story of a love triangle resembling the story of David's seduction of Bathsheba and the murder of Uriah
the Hittite. One of the best stories in this collection.

The Resident Patient-A terrified criminal fears reprisals from his old gang.

The Greek Interpreter-The abduction of a fetching maid from Athens leads London's foremost interpreter into a murky world of criminal abduction.

The Naval Treaty-The longest story in the collection deals with a young government offical who has an important document stolen from him. An intriguing case!

The Final Problem-Sherlock Holmes and the evil Dr. Moriarity fight to the death at Reichenbach Falls in Switzerland. Doyle wrote the story hoping to kill off Holmes but he returned due to the public demand for more tales about Holmes.

Sherlock Holmes is the most famous character in fiction. These classic tales by the hands of a master will keep you enthralled. Enjoy! The game's afoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More tales of Holmes, October 9, 2011
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's famous sleuth really doesn't need any introduction -- Sherlock Holmes, the famous detective who can uncover the deeper layers of seemingly simply crimes, and unravel the intricacies of impossible ones. "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes" is another round of exceptional mysteries, including the infamous one in which Holmes seemingly meets his death. Spoilers below.

When a famous horse in the Wessex Cup races vanishes, Holmes decides to go solve the case, along with Watson... and quickly discovers that it's not a simple case of theft. Then "The Case of the Yellow Face" comes up when a man asks Holmes to get to the bottom of his wife's weird behavior and strange yellow-faced visitor -- and even Holmes may not fully grasp what is going on.

Among the other cases: a client who suddenly commits suicide, an old man with a guilty secret, an ancient riddle that may have caused a servant's death, a sinister father-son team, a bizarre locked-room murder with the word "David," a man forced to interpret Greek for a sinister kidnapping gang, and a stolen naval treaty.

And in "The Final Problem," the evil Professor Moriarty tries to kill Holmes to keep the detective from bringing down his criminal network, with disastrous results. Don't worry, the shocking ending isn't quite as... well, shocking as it seems.

"The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes" is a little more varied than Doyle's previous Sherlock Holmes collection, and it also has an ending that shocked his reading audiences. Namely: Holmes dies. Don't worry, readers nagged Doyle into bringing him back to life, but it's pretty startling since we're used to the good guy triumphing over all.

And as usual, Doyle crafts two kinds of crimes/mysteries -- the ones that are ultra-simple but turn out to have hidden kinks, and the ones that seem impossible to solve but are actually shockingly simple. And something rather startling happens in "The Adventure of the Yellow Face": Holmes screws up. You don't see that very often. The only problem is that the cases are rather less colorful and gripping than "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes'."

Doyle also shows the perils of Holmes' job in this one -- he has kind of a nervous breakdown and gets sick from overwork, and needs a vacation that (of course) is interrupted by more cases. Additionally, we get some glimpses into both Holmes and Watson's back histories, such as Holmes' college days and Watson's time in the military.

"The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes" is a suitably baffling string of mysteries, with plenty of weird twists and crimes -- including the ultimate one at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes: A Complete and Unabridged Reading by Derek Jacobi
$69.95 $62.96
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.