Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Help
I am aworking man without the time and ability to find great deals on mens clothing. This book gave me some great tips. I enjoyed it so much I bought a copy for my brother and a couple of friends and I went to the signing to get a copy. This book proves men can dress nice without having to be slave to the local department stores. Thanks Steve Brinkman.
Published on April 18, 2004 by hockeyguy33

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time
The author's only experience is working in medical equipment sales for 20 years, then "researching" clothing and stores for a couple of years. He offers unhelpful, difficult to read charts and advice bordering on patronizing ("don't wear suspenders and a belt at the same time"). The bulk of the book is not advice at all, but simply a list of men's...
Published on April 1, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, April 1, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
The author's only experience is working in medical equipment sales for 20 years, then "researching" clothing and stores for a couple of years. He offers unhelpful, difficult to read charts and advice bordering on patronizing ("don't wear suspenders and a belt at the same time"). The bulk of the book is not advice at all, but simply a list of men's clothing stores at high-end malls. You can just wander around your local nice mall, glance at the storefront window and learn just as much.
Take a close look at the five star reviews for this book. Do they look like canned marketing blurbs?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a shopping editorial, November 19, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
If you are truly uncomfortable with clothing, this will be a good starter for you. There is a second section that lists by city prime shopping locations and this is the greatest value in the book.
If you are more comfortable with your personal tastes, something like Alan Flussers "Style and the Man" is much more valuable. Brinkman's book reads like an editorial of his personal likes and dislikes. He relies too heavily on a chart that he calls the "color compatability index" to provide color guidance, when this tool is not useful at all except to those with red hair (and are they surprised to learn they should not wear orange?). What is worse is the author does not appear to really understand what underlies some of the classical traditions in menswear and as a result advocates a very random, business-casual sounding approach to dress. This book seems to be authored by a shopping enthusiast, but did not provide any value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Help, April 18, 2004
By 
"hockeyguy33" (San Ramon, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
I am aworking man without the time and ability to find great deals on mens clothing. This book gave me some great tips. I enjoyed it so much I bought a copy for my brother and a couple of friends and I went to the signing to get a copy. This book proves men can dress nice without having to be slave to the local department stores. Thanks Steve Brinkman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find out what "business casual" really means, April 26, 2004
By 
"mtc2332" (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
"The Men's Clothing Guide" proves to be an indispensible shopping guide while travelling. Information is broken down regionally, and even includes contacts at certain stores by employee name. It helped me a lot when I was looking for a hard to find pair of shoes; with the contact in the book I found a store in DC where the salesperson had them shipped to me in NY.
Also great for the beginner who is just getting into dressing professionaly. Read to find out what the confusing "business casual" really means. This book is a great resource for college students entering the business world for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, May 7, 2009
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
Good morning. My name is Mitch Goralczyk. I am a total clothes horse. When I found about this book I immediately ordered it. I am always looking for stores that carry more unique designer lines and this book gave me excellent insight on which stores in the country carry these lines. I would recommend this book to anyone who has a passion for quality clothing.I just wish the author put out a more recent edition. All in all a great little book. Again, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive shopping guide on the market, March 18, 2004
By 
Bench-Made (Central Coast, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
The Men's Clothing Guide does exactly what it's title says - it shows you how and where to buy the best men's clothing in America. The first portion of the book offers basic advice on how to select and coordinate clothing for casual, business casual and business situations. The advice offered is basic, as such it will not be new material for those already well versed in the sartorial arts. However, it will be most helpful for the vast majority of men out there. The store directory is without comparison. Everybody needs a copy! I travel a lot and I thought I knew all the high-end men's stores in the areas I visit. I was very wrong! Flusser's Style and the Man is the only other directory available, it is far less comprehensive, and considering it was published in 1996, it is rather out of date. Men's Clothing Guide is well worth the $13.97 for anyone with even the slightest interest in dressing well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Men & Women Love it, April 16, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
The first no nonsense book on making shopping a breeze for Men's clothing in the USA. All the retailers now need to be aware that there are more than 1200 hundred stores men can shop from.
The Bench Mark for Best Customer Service in the USA is now Fairfield Clothier's in Fairfield CT. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starter Book!, March 18, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
Like it or not, appearance matters. Today, men have to pay as much attention to style as women. The only problem is, guys don't know where to begin. My suggestion: Start with The Men's Clothing Guide. Steve Brinkman artfully compiles practical information about what to wear and where to get it. Boost your fashion IQ and save money on the best brands in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Shopping Guide, April 19, 2004
By 
"shoe_buyer" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
I represent a Europian clothing company in the US and before this book it was a struggle to find information on retailers. A complete resource with all the necessary information I need. A great guide for industry people and men who "just want to dress nice".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Easy to Follow, March 18, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America (Paperback)
Fact: Others will judge you by your appearance. Fact: The Men's Clothing Guide reveals the simple, easy-to-follow principles and insider secrets that show how to dress for the job you want and deserve, rather than the job you have. More good news-- it even shows you how to save money on top labels while doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Men's Clothing Guide: How and Where to Buy the Best Men's Clothing in America
$19.95 $17.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.