Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly title, but amazing results
Synopsis: This book is basically a manual for a permanent lifestyle change that will improve your excising, way of eating, what you eat, and how you sleep. If done properly, you will add a little muscle, lose weight, and overall feel much better. If you are wanting to achieve these goals, then I highly recommend this, as I personally had the best results in my life by...
Published on October 30, 2012 by C. Madden

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love/Hate this book
As usual, this Men's Health book contains some wonderful health science and diet information. The problem is the annoying, cloying references to popular culture and unabased commercial endorsement of food advertisers. It would be better if they stuck to the facts.
Published on March 16, 2012 by Sam I Am


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly title, but amazing results, October 30, 2012
This review is from: The Men's Health Diet: 27 Days to Sculpted Abs, Maximum Muscle & Superhuman Sex! (Hardcover)
Synopsis: This book is basically a manual for a permanent lifestyle change that will improve your excising, way of eating, what you eat, and how you sleep. If done properly, you will add a little muscle, lose weight, and overall feel much better. If you are wanting to achieve these goals, then I highly recommend this, as I personally had the best results in my life by following this book.

Cons: Alright, let's get my one complaint out of the way--the title. First of all, I don't see what's special about 27 days, it seems very arbitrary and frankly makes this book seem like a quick crash diet. Actually, it's the opposite--it's a very sensible change in when, how, and what you eat that you use for the rest of your life. You will lose weight in 27 days, but by all means you will continue to lose weight beyond those 27 days too. Also, I know MH loves to give into "sculpted abs" hyperbole, but promising that (especially in 27 days) seems silly. The average guy reading this book is probably 40 pounds overweight, so let's just worry about weight loss for the first 27 days, alright. However, I won't knock a star off of my review because what the book offers inside more than deserves five stars.

Pros:

Food: This book will teach what is good to eat, when the best times are to eat, and how to eat (portion control, things like that). However, it is not an over-the-top calorie-counting system like other programs. When you first start out, you will need to read the calorie counts of the things you eat so that you have a general idea of what you are intaking, but you won't find yourself entering spreadsheet data every time you eat an apple or worrying how many points are in your bagel. Also, you do not go hungry, this is not a starvation diet, and you don't have to limit yourself to simple food groups (e.g., only eating fruits or avoiding bread entirely like other diets recommend).

Exercise: The weight routine is tough, but it is well organized and effective. You will put on a little arm and leg muscle within a month or two if you follow it. It's a fairly well rounded circuit, and it's easy enough to follow. Also, it will only require the purchase of a couple of pairs of dumbbells and a sand timer, no reason to buy a gym membership or expensive home system. If you can find one, I recommend a 40 or 45 second sand timer--you turn it over and have 10-15 seconds to get into position for the next exercise during the circuit. That way, you can just keep turning the timer over and over during the circuit--it's actually a lot easier than messing with a stop watch.

One thing is they sort of downplay the amount of exercise to do on your non-circuit days. While you are trying to lose weight, I would recommend stepping it up a few notches compared to what they tell you to do in this book. In my case, I do a 5K training regimen 2 days a week, along with the lifting plan in this book.

Summary: I lost 30 pounds in less than three months and I feel great, I couldn't recommend this book enough.

Update: I've lost 40 pounds in under 4 1/2 months following this book's guidelines. Can't argue with results like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good summary of how to get ripped, March 29, 2012
This book does a good job explaining the fundamentals of getting lean, healthy, and vital.

The Good:

It will show you how to change what you eat, not how much you eat, and lose weight and feel better.

It will show you what types of food to include in your diet and how they help you, and what foods to avoid and why they harm you.

It will show you how to gauge your current fitness level so you can follow the program and then re-test to see how you're doing.

It will show you some a simple workout program that will help you get on the road to being lean, muscular, and strong.

It will give you some good supplement advice on what inexpensive dietary supplements you can take to significantly improve your performance and health.

The Whatever:

A few chapters were kind of "meh," such as the Magyver's Fridge one, the sex chapter, and the recipes. But there was plenty of helpful information throughout to offset this.

Summary:

If you want to get a good education on the fundamentals of getting shredded, then I recommend this book. It fell a bit short in terms of workout programs and calculating an actual diet (it says you don't have to, but this will only work to a point). If you want to know how to work out and eat for maximum muscle gains and fat loss, then I recommend Bigger Leaner Stronger: The Simple Science of Building the Ultimate Male Body (The Lean Muscle Series)--ESPECIALLY if you're new to training or short on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It really works!!!, January 20, 2012
By 
NYC Oracle (New York City, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Men's Health Diet: 27 Days to Sculpted Abs, Maximum Muscle & Superhuman Sex! (Hardcover)
I dropped 8 pounds and a few inches in a month by following a few simple rules that were easy to fit into my lifestyle. Stephen Perrine understands how to speak to and motivate the male mind. Face it: Exercise is an essential part of adult life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great information on nutrition, meals and workout routine. Keeps everything simple and doesn't have to be a dramatic change. It gives a slow process and doesn't require to run to organic right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the way, September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Men's Health Diet: 27 Days to Sculpted Abs, Maximum Muscle & Superhuman Sex! (Hardcover)
Great info. Easy to read. Lots of good life healthy tips. Just absorb the knowledge and apply and it works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Yet Informative and Adaptable, March 25, 2013
By 
L. R. Jackson (Longview, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This book does a good job of making the fitness lifestyle change easy to start and easy to upgrade.

It gives you enough information to make good baseline dietary choices and then tweak that later when you're ready to get more serious. The exercise plan is simple enough to understand, but I already have a regimen. I would say that I don't agree 100% with them on exercise machines, but that any exercise can harm you if done improperly or with too much weight.

As someone who'd previously purchased The Abs Diet book, I'm glad I purchased this one and like it better over all. In a sense, it's an updated and simplified version of the Abs Diet (unlike The New Abs Diet which is pretty much the same as the old one).

The main point of this book is that it's better to do something than nothing, but the more you do things in the right direction without stressing out over getting it right, the better you will look and feel.

Oh, and expect results in 27 days, not sculpted abs...I mean seriously...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really like this book. I am only about 20-30lbs overweight so I was looking for fun and easy solutions to lose those last few pounds. There are some great ideas in this book that easy to understand and don't involve a complete life change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A plan most could live with, January 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This plan focus' mostly on what to eat and why. The advice centers around lean protein, fruits, vegetables, whole grains and dairy. Its hard to go wrong with that. Combined with a reasonable, for most, work out the average Joe, will get in better shape and be healthier by following the plan here. Will most get 6pk abs from doing this? Doubtful. But its still a solid plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of information, April 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Men's Health Diet: 27 Days to Sculpted Abs, Maximum Muscle & Superhuman Sex! (Hardcover)
Great book
Lots of information about foods to eat and avoid
Like the age break down with whats happening in your age group and what to look out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love/Hate this book, March 16, 2012
By 
Sam I Am (San Rafael, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As usual, this Men's Health book contains some wonderful health science and diet information. The problem is the annoying, cloying references to popular culture and unabased commercial endorsement of food advertisers. It would be better if they stuck to the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Men's Health Diet: 27 Days to Sculpted Abs, Maximum Muscle & Superhuman Sex!
$25.99 $17.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.