Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Mentee's Guide: Making Mentoring Work for You
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$21.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 29, 2010
I found the latest book by Lois Zachary (with Lory Fischler) "The Mentee's Guide - Making Mentoring Work for You" to be both thought provoking and practical. Zachary makes a compelling case that persons getting mentored (Mentees)should take an active role in shaping the content and dynamics of their relationships with their mentors. I have talked to a number of business clients and associates for whom you can hear the penny drop as they consider the power of this simple but bold idea.

The very practical part of the book is the structured approach to equip mentees to reflect on their own goals/styles and actively work with their mentors. This book is valuable for a wide variety of purposes and groups, including individual mentees and mentors too. For business leaders and organizations committed to being learning organizations, the principles and tools articulated in the book can be a powerful support to constructively changing how mentorship takes place while also strengthening a learning culture of collaboration and empowerment.

The book is fun and easy to read, with lots of great stories, and is truly chockful of tips, tools, checklists and practical exercises that are helpful to mentees but more broadly to any individual or organization wishing to improve how people learn together.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2009
If you have been thinking you need a mentor, you must purchase this book! Entering into a mentoring relationship requires thoughtful preparation and Lois Zachary clearly and succinctly outlines the process that will lead to your readiness for mentoring. The book covers important topics from the mentee's perspective: exercises for self-understanding, how to examine your assumptions about mentoring, how to choose a mentor and set your own learning goals,the process you can expect, and even developing an awareness of danger signs in a mentoring relationship. I have been a fan of Lois Zachary's Mentor's Guide and have used it as required reading in the graduate course I teach on Mentoring. But the Mentee's Guide is the companion book I was waiting for - a book that will empower adult learners to seek the mentor they need to enhance their personal and professional growth.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
Whether you are getting ready to be mentored or already are being mentored, coached or supervised (Zachary defines the differences in her companion "The Mentor's Guide"), this book will guide you step by step through the process of preparing to get the most out of your experience and out of your mentor or coach. Zachary believes mentoring is a collaborative partnership, and that both mentor and mentee should be committed to active learning. Her emphasis in both guides is two fold: process and content. Process involves thinking carefully about your goals, reflecting on past experiences, and considering your needs. Content involves what you will write and talk about with your mentor. She has advice on choosing a mentor who is a good "fit" for you, as well as how to construct a contract with your mentor that will address important areas like goals, success criteria, ground rules, confidentiality, boundaries, etc. She even addresses how to get out of the relationship if it isn't working for you. Best of all, she provides user friendly outlines and sumaries that you can use to organize your preparation. If you expect to sit back and passively soak up your mentor's wisdom, this Guide is not for you. It's also a great resource for mentors and coaches to learn about what should be expected from their students. It's not just for folks in business settings, but can be applied in all sorts of coaching/mentor situations. Some I've mentored had no idea how much work goes into the mentoring experience, so I use Zachary's Guide with my mentee to set the stage for our work together.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2009
What a great addition to the excellent mentoring series. This latest book is a clear, smooth-flowing and thoughtful examination of process. Through carefully questions, charts and examples, its step-by-step approach builds skills, confidence, and understanding of goals. A practical book that provides a positive guide to building relationships.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2010
I am in my last semester of college and learned about The Mentee's Guide through an informal mentoring relationship. Before reading this book, I didn't really understand the power of mentoring and how it can facilitate excellence in any aspect of your life. Lois Zachary does a great job of explaining the importance the mentee has on the relationship and how the two can help each other. She gives examples of real life situations and provides helpful worksheets to guide the mentee in not only finding the perfect mentor, but helping the mentee to really figure out what they want to gain out of the relationship. I recommend this book to any college senior or junior who is still confused on the path that they want to take for their future. It will open your mind, test your limits, and provide you with the tools you will need for all aspects of life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
This book is a good starting point for anyone who wants to make the most of their mentoring opportunities. The process, approach, and exercises are practical and can help a mentee prepare herself for mentoring. What I like about it is that it puts the initiative squarely on the shoulders of the mentee and dispels the notion that one needs to passively wait for a mentor to start the relationship. The mentor-mentee relationship is co-created. It gives helpful tips on how to define one's SMART goals, considerations on how to choose one's mentor, how to handle/end a mentoring relationship that's not working, and much more. If you're getting ready to be mentored, using this book will definitely make your mentoring more productive and successful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2012
Mentoring is all about mentee development and the metaphor of a sponge is often used when thinking about the mentee role, the simple absorption of the learning needed to develop. Consequently, many designers and managers of mentoring programs forget that deep learning and accelerated development can only occur when mentees are fully prepared for their role. Luckily, Lois Zachary has written a book to prevent mentees from falling into the `sponge' syndrome - done well, this is not a simple process, but it is a rewarding one.

I must admit that my partner, Cherie Hutton, and I almost missed the usefulness of this book. We had extensively used Zachary's "Creating a Mentoring Culture" and "The Mentor's Guide" in the design of a new mentoring program for a client. We were going to skip the Mentee's Guide, mistakenly believing that being a mentee was just a natural shift for an employee (again, the "sponge" syndrome). That would have been a major mistake. We now know better: mentees need to be carefully prepared for their role. They are active participants in the relationship and in their own development.

This book is a fast and easy read and therefore very approachable. The reflection exercises are excellent and we used them as pre-work prior to the mentoring training. The book addresses some of the issues the mentees will encounter in the mentoring cycle, and provides sound advice, tools and techniques for getting the relationship and development on track and keeping it there. Zachary's emphasis on the mentees taking full ownership for their learning is an important message.

We encourage you to use all three of Lois Zachary's books when implementing a formal or informal mentoring program. They have a permanent place in our mentoring toolkit and we're eagerly hoping for accessible electronic versions of the templates for the mentor's and mentee's guides, similar to the CD that accompanied "Creating a Mentoring Culture".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2009
If you have been researching mentoring, your search is over now that you have discovered Dr. Lois Zachary. Dr. Zachary, an internationally recognized expert in mentoring and leadership, has written three books providing resources for organizations, mentors and most recently mentees.

"The Mentee's Guide: Making Mentoring Work For you" combines theory, real-life examples, and practical exercises that will enhance your mentoring relationship regardless of its stage. Whether you are considering finding a mentor, are in a corporate program or are already connected with a mentor in an informal situation, the process will be improved by what you learn from this book.

"The Mentee's Guide" is such an easy read and I found myself so energized by it that I read Dr. Zachary's "The Mentor's Guide" before settling down to explore the exercises for mentees. From a personal reflection exercise through goal setting and agreements all the way to bringing the relationship to closure, working through the exercises will leave no questions unanswered. With this book you will have a mentoring guru at your side throughout the process.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2009
Lois Zachary does it again in The Mentee's Guide. Her previous books (Creating a Mentoring Culture and The Mentor's Guide)have been my bibles in terms of building a mentoring culture at the non-profit organization for which I work. She presents the material for an aspiring Mentee to prepare them for the relationship with their Mentor. She uses a four-fold framework to describe the learning relationship life-cycle: preparing, negotiating, enabling and termination. The exercises in the book are straightforward and help facilitate the self-knowledge that a Mentee needs to fine-tune his or her relationship with the Mentor. I would like to see a future book focus on the success factors and outcomes of a Mentoring program - possibly titled "Evaluating a Mentoring Program". While this is treated in Creating a Mentoring Culture, this topic needs its own book. I highly recommend purchasing all three books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
I bought this as a guide to a new Mentor/Coaching program I implemented in my workplace. It has been an invaluable tool!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.