Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 26, 2010
Gansky lays out some great examples of what she calls The Mesh with some interesting business ideas/models that have taken off. While there are certain types of products that lend themselves very well to this model, it is a stretch to envision it being the future of business. She makes a strong case for The Mesh having its place and I'm sure people will figure out a way to change their businesses as they are now to take advantage of this concept because of the way it is demonstrated by this author.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2011
This book is really a case study about how Social Media has helped to spawn a whole new category of businesses, ie. Mesh businesses. A Mesh business is simply a business that takes advantage of an existing business model and optimizes it for the modern, plugged-in, web-engaged users. Think of car share companies, bike sharing companies, Netlflix, tool rentals, clothes sharing (or trading) etc... Anything that takes advantage of durable goods that are cheaper to rent than buy and taking advantage of technology, social media and convenience.

One of the coolest parts of the book is that Gansky provides an indepth directory of Mesh businesses for a variety of categories at the end of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2010
This is not a bad book. It does contain valid ideas which can be valuable for anyone starting a business. Yes the world is connected and we are all bees in a hive - if we dont work together we dont make much honey. My only beef with this book is the continous repeating of the main idea. Maybe the author feels that what she is trying to say has not been said before and it is her responsibility to break ground with her work.

Buy it if you dont already know how important data analytics, facebook, twitter, word of mouth and open source is for the future of business.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
"The Mesh" teaches ways we as a community and business community can grow through collaborative innovation. Not only can we grow but we can succeed by promoting and maintaing relationships that encourage communities of sharing and participation. The upside of this way of thinking is that it allows us to take better care of our resources and our earth. By sharing business and earth resources we can engage in a more direct dialogue with our customer and our community. The Mesh is an idea that is here to connect us and help us all succeed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2011
The book really offers not basis for starting your own mesh other than find something that is shared and repeat it on a mass scale. I thought it would be more thought provoking and challening. Instead the last chucnk (1/4?) of the book is a list of web sites that are doing what the author proclaims is the mesh. There was also some chest pounding along the way which I find boring.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
Lots of great ideas in this book, and it really meshes the concept of business, data, connectivity, community and marketing together. Accurate title and subtitle by a well known lady in her field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
The book shows all the facets and strengths of the sharing trend, which the author calls "the mesh". The only downside of the book is that it's examples are a little outdated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
This is just the web committed social book www!

A fiend of mine met writer Lisa Gansky, he is a real web committed person.

Very modern issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2011
The Mesh was one of the best books I've read in 2010 and one of the best business books ever!
Simply a must read!
Thank you, Lisa!
;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
great and fast shipment. product was as advertised and meets my needs. I would recommend again to others to buy from here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse