Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Mick Callahan Novels
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars35
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$4.89
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 15, 2011
Shannon's Mick Callahan is one of the most complex and fascinating lead characters around. He's the type you build a franchise around--and that's what Shannon is doing. Callahan novels are smart, funny, action-packed and move very quickly. I'd put him right up there with the legends in the mystery genre--he's that good. You owe it to yourself to check these novels out. Don't wait!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2011
Yes. I love Mick Callahan. Now the reader has a chance to travel with Mick through three novels. Often, after reading a great story, I miss my characters as soon as the last page is read. I definitely urge readers to invest in the Mick Callahan novels now in one great read. He will set up house in your mind as an ever evolving and humanly flawed man who purposely searches for and penetrates redemption throughout Harry Shannon's liquid story telling. Mick is so the man.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2011
I've been a Mick Callahan (and Harry Shannon) fan since I picked up the first Callahan novel, Memorial Day, seven years ago. Since then, Shannon has broadened and deepened the character of the two-fisted radio psychologist who can't seem to cut himself a break with the follow-ups, Eye of the Burning Man and One of the Wicked.

It's great to see all three Callahan novels collected in one volume. It's not as big a deal in Kindle format, of course, but it gives the reader a price break. Three books for five bucks...you aren't likely to do better than that at a used book store.

As Mick has evolved over the years, there's an evolution, too, in Shannon's writing from the first Callahan to the third. It seems that the author is hitting his stride these days. I think the best is yet to come.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2011
Wow! What more could someone ask if they have not read a Mick Callahan novel before? I know, all three books in one!
Having read all three novels in the series I can honestly say they are worth you hard earned money hands down!

Mick Callahan is a fantastic character that Harry Shannon has created. He has issues, big one's and being a recovering alcoholic does not help! But our Mick finds friends along the way and get's himself into all sorts of scrapes, if I was ever in need of help I wish I had someone like Mick to call upon, he is so cool.

Don't hang around, buy this and be ready because Mick Callahan #4 is on the way and you need to be up to date! He is easily the best and most interesting character I have read.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2011
Putting these three Callahan books in one e-book is a great bargain for mystery lovers. I loved these when I read them as Five Star hardcovers. Terrific action and suspense, and I particularly got a kick out of the wry dialogue between an opinionated Mick Callahan and his radio callers.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2011
Mick Callahan is a classic amateur detective and yet a wholly original character. He washed out of the Seals and destroyed his broadcasting career due to partying and a bad temper then got sober and put it all together again. His sobriety keeps him humble and filled with self doubt even when he does heroic things. These are fun reads, fast moving adventures with a guy you'd like to hang out with.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2011
Mick..the perfect man...

recovering alcoholic, loving, psychologically solid, thoughtful, funny, irony idol, a past that would engender fear, envy, and pride. As lovable character as you are going to find in the genre. Five Stars... Shannon's style, wit, and human insight has created a solid series that one hopes will go on and on.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2011
As a fan of Mick Callahan, I am thrilled to see these collected for one low price--weeks of tough but witty crime drama from a master craftsman. Here's hoping Mick makes a run for the money!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2011
Harry Shannon's Mick Callahan is one of those truly great characters, like John D. McDonald's Travis McGee and Ross Macdonald's Lew Archer, who is greater than the sum of his parts - one that thoroughly captivates the reader. Pick any of the three self-contained novels in this collection and begin reading, and you'll be completely hooked within the first five pages. These three novels are among the most entertaining I've read in many years and prove that Mick is a worthy successor to both Travis and Lew.

This collection offers great monetary value and fantastic entertainment worth. Harry Shannon is a remarkably gifted author and the three novels collected are all top notch and a truly addictive treat. Mick Callahan is most definitely a hero/anti-hero who's perfect for America in the initial decades of the 21st century, and whose appeal will prove universal, like all of the finest of literary creations. This collection receives my highest possible recommendation.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2011
In Mick Callahan, Harry Shannon has created a protagonist who can stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the classics of the noir and private eye genres. The books included in this collection are recommended for anyone who likes their crime fiction on the dark side. Shannon has crafted crime fiction that explores the mysteries of the human heart as well as the more immediate crimes Mick finds himself involved with.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse