Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.00
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Middleman: The Collected Series Indispensability Paperback – July 25, 2008


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$129.99 $95.98
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 335 pages
  • Publisher: Viper Comics (July 25, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0980238544
  • ISBN-13: 978-0980238549
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 6.2 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,464,754 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

A fun, fast-paced, and quick-witted comedy-adventure in the vein of Men in Black, Ghostbusters, and Hellboy. --Ben Lathrop, The Library Journal

If you are still resisting buying The Middleman, not only do I fear for your immortal soul, but I fear that you are not worthy to buy any comics at all. --Greg Burgess, ComicBookResources.com

With a dashing, retro, ass-kicking secret agent, a spunky fish-out-of-water hottie partner a his side and adversaries that include muck-encrusted monsters, mob monkeys and mexican maulers, we guarantee you'll love being stuck in the middle, man. --Jesse Thompson, Wizard Magazine

Important Information

Ingredients
Example Ingredients

Directions
Example Directions

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 13 customer reviews
The art is good enough to attract my almost-single-minded verbivore's eye.
Laura Jefferson
I'm a fan of the short lived TV series and I was curious about the graphic novels that it was based on.
B. Stearn
So if you come from the TV show dont worry you wont feel like this is a waste of your time.
Korben Dallas

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Richard Oliver on October 15, 2008
Format: Paperback
Middleman is one of the best comic books ever. Created by Javier Grillo Marxuach (Lost/Medium) Wendy Watson is just a temp at a lab when a monster attacks her. She is rescued by a stranger with a high powered laser gun who then offers Wendy a job saving the earth from threats like gangster apes, or a cabal of mexican wrestlers with a laser cage created by a diamond. Full of adventure and comedy it's also a successful tv series in America this is definitely a must buy.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By D. Turner on November 12, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I bought this after watching the show. My wife and I loooooved the show, so I had high hopes. Apparently this was created before the show, in between the first attempt at making it a show 10 years ago and the current instantiation (I hope hope hope it returns!!), and it basically outlines the plot of the first season of the show (except for a real surprise in the end...wow!!). As a result, I already knew what was going to happen most of the time. But if you haven't seen the show, buy this - it's a great intro to a fabulous concept, and maybe you'll push ABC Family to re-up the show...
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Laura Jefferson on October 24, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I was tipped that I might like The Middleman TV series, and I do, very much. Reading the comic is the logical response and it's good in itself and fascinating to see what changed (Wendy and Noser are Anglos; she reads different comics). The art is good enough to attract my almost-single-minded verbivore's eye. If you like wordplay and the old heroes (The Avengers, The Man from UNCLE) try it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Mark Baker HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on June 1, 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
You can add me to the list of people who were fans of the TV series The Middleman last summer. (Unfortunately, the number wasn't large enough and it got canceled.) Naturally, I was curious enough to pick up a copy of this book. It collects the entire run of the comic books that preceded the TV series. Basically, that's three stories.

Up first is "The Trade Paperback Imperative." In it, we meet Wendy Watson and learn how she came to be the apprentice to The Middleman. The mission in this book is to fight evil apes who watch gangster movies and are plotting to take over the world.

Next is "The Second Volume Inevitability." Wendy is going to get training in martial arts from master Sensei Ping, that is until he is kidnapped by a gang of masked Mexican wrestlers out for revenge.

Finally comes ""The Third Volume Inescapability." While Wendy struggles with balancing her art career and her new job saving the world, The Middleman gears up for a battle with their arch nemesis, F.A.T.B.O.T. (that's Federated Agents of Tyranny, Betrayal, and Oppression's Yoke). This one ends quite differently than anything we saw on the TV show.

And, frankly, that was my biggest disappointment with the book. These stories had already been told on the show, so I remembered where they were going even if there were some changes along the way. Furthermore, the TV series ran 12 episodes, so we got a much richer, deeper, and funnier canvas. Heck, there is hardly any focus on Wendy's home life, which often provided some of the best laughs on the show.

But what is here is still fun. The whit shows up just fine. It's just slightly bizarre enough to still be believable and funny at the same time. The adventures are imaginative.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Katherine "Kat" Rowe on November 24, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is my first comic book ever (I'm more of a written-word girl), and I have to say that I absolutely loved it. I came to the comics through the series (and if you're a fan of the books, seeing the series is a MUST -- you can pick it up on iTunes until ABC Family gets off its hindquarters and gives us new eps.. or at least reruns, people? Please? Pretty please? Please, sir, may I have some more?), so the first two volumes weren't new to me by any means, but I still enjoyed them enormously.

The premise, for those of you not in the know, revolves around Wendy, an art-school graduate who works a string of temp jobs until something goes wrong at her latest employeer's ("AND laboratories, rescrambling your DNA") and she is attacked by an escaped science experiment ("Hentai tentacle monster" -- her words, not mine) and rescued by a clean-cut square-jawed "superhero" who goes only by the Middleman. Well, Wendy calls him a superhero. He points out that he never wears tights. As the Middleman's new apprentice, Wendy fights ganster apes (Vol 1), a cadre of Mexican wrestlers bent on world domination (Vol 2), and the insidious FATBOY (the Federated Agents of Tyrany, Betrayal, and Oppression's Yoke -- Vol 3, where Wendy posits that they were at the end of the line for good anagrams).

For fans of the series, Volumes One and Two will bring back fond memories, while Three will just plain shock (I'm still not sure how I feel about that ending, to be quite honest). If you've never seen the show before, you'll see how brilliant and funny Javier Grillo-Marxuach can be in any medium.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Korben Dallas on January 15, 2009
Format: Paperback
The Middleman: The Collected Series Indispensability was a great read for me. If your a fan of the TV show you will notice that these stories are very similar to events in the show. The author original intended this Comic Book to be a TV show but couldn't get anyone to make it. So if you come from the TV show dont worry you wont feel like this is a waste of your time. The stories are always funny and the references to pop culture never get tired.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?