Customer Reviews


327 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is definitely your next must read
In the blink of an eye a friend they thought they knew takes her own life and so Tara and Emerson embark on a journey to find out why. What they don't realize is that in their mission for information about Noelle and her suicide only leads them to more questions. They find that happiness was just a mask she wore to hide a darkest of secrets that will change every life...
Published on April 29, 2011 by Deborah Haupt

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secrets, lies and betrayal...how well do you know your best friends?
On a beautiful day in September, Noelle commits suicide. Her two closest friends, Tara and Emerson, are completely shocked that the woman they had known -- caring, committed midwife, champion of babies-in-need, strong independent Noelle has done this. Why? Turns out that Noelle had a lot of secrets -- a history of lies, betrayals and a hidden past that neither of them...
Published on April 26, 2011 by Denise Crawford


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secrets, lies and betrayal...how well do you know your best friends?, April 26, 2011
On a beautiful day in September, Noelle commits suicide. Her two closest friends, Tara and Emerson, are completely shocked that the woman they had known -- caring, committed midwife, champion of babies-in-need, strong independent Noelle has done this. Why? Turns out that Noelle had a lot of secrets -- a history of lies, betrayals and a hidden past that neither of them knew.

The story is a mystery and also a study in friendship and family relationships. The ability to write believable characters is a definite strength of author Diane Chamberlain. The women in her books are mothers, daughters, wives, etc. who are able to form strong bonds that are tested but that don't break even in the face of tragedy or heartache. Ultimately, this is a book about the extent that someone could go to in an attempt to make a wrong a right; or how loving someone too much can cause a person to do things that ordinarily wouldn't be considered. And at what cost?

Told from the viewpoints of the key characters in the novel, the story also shifts back and forth in time as Noelle's friends and their children Jenny and Grace try to make sense of the suicide and to find answers to the questions it brought to light. It seems that none of them really knew Noelle at all!

The book raises questions that made me wonder how well anyone can really know another person. Often we take what they say at face value without probing more deeply, and there can be periods of time when we are enough out of touch with someone that we miss a key turning point or ignore some essential signs.

I read this book cover to cover over an afternoon. It was fast paced and absorbing; the only jarring note was the ending. Although some of it was wholly predictable, I was a bit dismayed at the behavior of one of the characters and I won't give any further spoilers to ruin it for anyone.

Fans of mystery and relationship stories, and all those who love Diane Chamberlain's previous work won't want to miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is definitely your next must read, April 29, 2011
By 
Deborah Haupt (Portage des Sioux, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the blink of an eye a friend they thought they knew takes her own life and so Tara and Emerson embark on a journey to find out why. What they don't realize is that in their mission for information about Noelle and her suicide only leads them to more questions. They find that happiness was just a mask she wore to hide a darkest of secrets that will change every life it's touched when they learn "The Midwife's Confession".

Diane Chamberlain has given us a storyline that could be taken from the front pages of any news paper or from the headlines from any CNN or CNBC report, with one exception, she gives it that human touch and in doing so will take her readers on an excruciating trip down endless dark hallways of a troubled woman's mind. She tells it in the first person from the voices of several of her main protagonists and she does this with dialogue that's easy to read and will take her audience into the hearts and minds of her characters, characters who will become friends as you entwine yourselves into their lives. Her readers will be in awe of the intimacy she gives us into her characters especially Tara and Emerson along with their daughters Jenny and Grace and as we her readers get closer to solving the puzzle of this mystery she throws us a curve ball with Anna and Haley. Her co-stars of this drama are equally important to the telling of the story and couldn't be done without them. At the heart of this tale we find a love story, the love between friends, the love of children and the love of a spouse, but she fills the pages with twists and turns to get us there and at the end we will let go a breath we didn't know we'd been holding.

If you love a great mystery, a story of family drama, a drama in general and just really the telling of an incredible story by an amazing artist, mixed with angst filled scenes and nail biting edge of your seat drama, let this be your choice. You won't be sorry you did. Put this on the top of your next "Must Read" list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DISCOVERING THE TRUTH BEHIND THE SECRETS, LIES, & BETRAYALS, June 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Three women, whose lives began to intersect in college, are now best friends. Tara and Emerson are mothers of teenage daughters and Noelle is a well-regarded midwife.

But when Noelle commits suicide one day, with no apparent warning, her friends are blindsided.

The two women then begin a journey to discover answers, to find out what they might have missed along the way. And in the process, they unearth a plethora of secrets Noelle had hidden for years, with lies and betrayals covering them. And then the question remains: who was she, and did they know her at all?

It's a mystery, a family drama, and a story about the delicate fabric of friendship. It is also an exploration of the mother-daughter dynamic that feels very real. What ultimately links the three women in inexplicable ways? What long-ago moments set the tone for what happened? And how do the lives of these three women connect to a woman who heads a Missing Child bureau?

Told from the shifting perspectives of the primary characters and swaying between the past and the present, The Midwife's Confession is one of those stories that will have you reading all through the day or night. And when you think that the pieces of the puzzle have finally been uncovered, you will be stunned when the next one comes along that will realign everything you thought you knew.

I loved these characters, even the ones with huge flaws. Understanding the why of the actions in this book was a study in human behavior and motivations. Diane Chamberlain's descriptions, dialogue, and settings were real and believable. A definite five star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Must Read!, June 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's been awhile since I found a book that I could not put down, but this was the one! Everytime I thought that I had the story figured out the book threw me a curve and sent me down a different path...

I found the characters well written and their feelings and emotions rang true. I especially thought that Grace was written as a believable sixteen year old with all the high emotions that age brings, including the conflicted relationship with her mom, Tara. Add to that the complex unfolding of Noelle and the book gave me characters that I cared about and wanted to explore more as I continued to read.

While I felt that the premise of the book - that a baby could disappear and one could die without a hospital being any the wiser - was far fetched, as the story progressed the explanations of what happened actually took away that doubt and added to the overall satisfaction with the story.

I have always enjoyed Diane Chamberlain's books and this one did not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars powerful twisting saga, April 26, 2011
In Wilmington, North Carolina Tara, Emerson and Noelle have been BFFS for years. In fact Noelle the midwife helped her two buddies with the births of their children. She stopped midwifery last year to focus on the Babies program and seemed enthusiastic as she encouraged her buds and their teenage offspring to participate. So when Noelle, who appreciated living and inspired others to embrace life, commits suicide, Tara and Emerson are stunned especially when they read the strange unfinished confession.

Unable to cope with their friend's killing herself, the horrific confession, and the conclusion that they never knew the inner demons of their BFF, Tara and Emerson need to know the full truth. They begin a quest seeking the woman Noelle's last letter was addressed to.

This is an intriguing look at the masks people wear to conceal traits, incidents or family they feel ashamed of from others. The three lead females and their families seem real as the viewpoints change especially between the BFF trio (flashbacks included). However, those changes in perspective add unnecessary confusion to a powerful twisting saga of why the midwife committed suicide.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of twists and turns, May 1, 2013
By 
Kindle Customer (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Midwife's Confession (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book. It was a fast read and kept my interest. There are a lot of twists and turns and, several times, I thought there were a few too many and that the drama could have been toned down a bit to allow for a bit more character development. Still, I recommend this to anyone looking for a quick read that will hold their interest and I plan to read more of Diane Chamberlain's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way Too Convoluted, February 3, 2013
By 
D. Luzar (Brookfield, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Midwife's Confession (Kindle Edition)
I was between two and three stars. The last 3/4 of the book kept my attention, even though it was pretty predictable figuring how it was going to end. The rest of the story was so convoluted that I couldn't keep up with who belonged to who, who was speaking, etc. My head was spinning half the time trying to figure out what happened when. The story and characters were a bit bizzare for my taste. Half the stuff would never happen in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book in general, February 9, 2012
This review is from: The Midwife's Confession (Kindle Edition)
This book is one of Diane Chamberlain's very best. It twist and turns and you think you know which way it is going and then it surprises you in a completely different way. Keep up the good work Diane. I have read most all your books and have loved nearly all of them. She is an excellent author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did we even read the same book?, May 27, 2011
***Some Spoilers***

Wow. I really don't know what to say about this book.

It was extremely convoluted, for starters. Instead of being relatively straight forward with time jumps used to propel the plot along, the story was told with many short chapters narrated by one of five different characters and involved multiple flashbacks. I'm glad the author included years and locations every time she hopped around or I would've gotten seriously lost.

The worst part of this book was the characters--they were one-dimensional, self-centered, jaded, shallow, and sometimes downright obnoxious. The first character that really bothered me was Grace and her obsession with Cleve--"Where is Cleve?" "Is he here?" "Do you suppose he still loves me?" "Oh my God...did he die in an accident?" Are teenage girls SERIOUSLY this way about boys and I was just abnormal? Then, when she decides to go see Anna, EVERYONE but Grace (and Haley) freaks out. "Who is she? Was she attracted by the publicity for the bone marrow drive? Does she want our money?" Anna and Bryan's panic would have been understandable if they had been ripped off a half a dozen times since Lily's disappearance, but we were never given an indication that anything like that had ever happened...it was practically hysteria! If Anna's reaction wasn't bad enough, we get Tara, who acts like she is going to simply DIE if Grace gives Anna and Haley so much as a smile. It doesn't matter that Haley actually *is* dying and needs Grace's help...Tara was ready to drag her daughter out of the hospital by the hair if she had to. Finally, when Anna and Haley realize that *Jenny*, not Grace, is the missing Lily, do Emerson and Jenny immediately offer to help out? No, they can't be bothered to offer one SIMPLE cheek swab...they have to run back to Wilmington before their selfishness could POSSIBLY turn into compassion!

The only reason I gave this book two stars was that the concept kept me reading `til the end. Maybe if the plot wasn't so knotted and the characters weren't so *hateful*, Ms. Chamberlain could've had a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat realistic but difficult to follow at times, November 4, 2012
This review is from: The Midwife's Confession (Kindle Edition)
The basic plot was intriguing but the style of writing jumped around a little too much for my taste. There were quite a few stretches even for fiction that made the story just too unbelievable. I think the plot got more complicated than was necessary to have a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Midwife's Confession
The Midwife's Confession by Diane Chamberlain
$7.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.