Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great getting started manual for new financial advisors
Just recently licensed, I was searching for a book to help me get started, since I will be working as an independent financial adviser. Ordered this book because of the high reviews and I have to say this book did not let me down. It was better than I expected. This book breaks down exactly what you need to do, step by step, to grow a million dollar practice. My...
Published on August 14, 2008 by kjcrolfe

versus
64 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I must have read a different book!
I must not have read the same book as the other reviewers or I did not work with Mr. Mullen. I ordered this book looking for great things after reading the other reviews. I was sadly disaapointed. This book could be summmed up on one page.

The what: have 20 years to chase people with at least $250,000 to invest in modern portfolio theory. The How: You...
Published on October 12, 2009 by R. S. Balser


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tips and advice, May 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
There's a lot of valuable information in this book. Most companies will never tell you, I highly recommend this book. Easy to understand and read, you're not given the same old advice or even trying to 4 re-invent the wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read - Easy to Follow Advice, July 29, 2013
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
This book is a quick read and provides a practical outline to strategies to building a financial wealth business. A lot is common sense; however, the author does a good job of stressing the steps (in general) and providing a meaningful outline. Seller provided product very quickly and it was in excellent condition upon arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mullen cuts to the heart of the matter on how to become a top producer in a million-dollar financial services practice, November 3, 2008
By 
Darin Manis (Denver, Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
I met David Mullen several years ago in his Merrill Lynch office in south Denver. A colleague and I visited with David for a couple of hours and enjoyed lunch and a enlightening conversation about Mullin's views and support strategies he was implementing for and with the financial advisors under his charge. I smiled as I read through this book hearing many of the same practices and methodologies he shared with me then. This book is about proven system. Mullen has helped hundreds of financial advisors become successful and achieve the pinnacles of their careers.

Anyone who is new to the financial services business, or is thinking about switching to a career in financial services would do well to read David J. Mullen Jr.'s very helpful handbook on how to become a top producer in a million-dollar financial services practice. As a former regional manager with Merrill Lynch, Mullen gained experience working with several top producers and summarized what he learned from them in this book. As a managing director at Merrill Lynch, Mullen hired and trained more than 500 financial advisers.

Mullen cuts to the heart of the matter by spelling out in detail what needs to be done every business day to achieve success. On top of the list are self-discipline and clarity of vision. After providing an overview in chapter one, Mullen takes the reader step by step along the path of developing a million-dollar practice. Most of the advice is very specific - how many qualified prospects you should keep, how much in new assets you should get under your management each month, and how many appointments you should make for each new week. And, throughout the book, Mullen stresses that there are no shortcuts in the road to success but there are clear right steps to take and each step must be taken.

Besides being very specific, the author also takes a global, comprehensive approach when covering such broad topics as sales, prospecting, marketing, and time management. The broader looks produces his system that offers "how to" advice on such things as getting the appointment, converting prospects to customers, balancing current customers with prospects, building relationships, retaining customers, using niche marketing to your benefit, increasing the services each customers depends upon you for, and attracting millionaire clients.

Mullen also provides sample letters and model scripts that are proven templates to success. The sample letters and scripts are why many of my friends are keeping Mullen's book on their desktops to be referred to often. Especially useful for repeated reference is the his15 Market Action Plans. The templates alone provide reason to buy this book but the real benefits are those gained from paying attention to the advice of a man who has succeeded and wants you to succeed also.

By Darin Manis
CEO and Founder
RJ & Makay
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Senior Vice President, Merrill L ynchPrivate Banking and Investment Group, February 6, 2008
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
Dave Mullen's book is tremendously value added, and is a must read for financial service professionals serious about growing or improving their practice. Dave provides practical advice in granular detail about what it takes to achieve an extraordinary level of success in our highly competitive industry. He provides an excellent blueprint or roadmap for achieving one's goals. If an advisor follows the formula that Dave outlines in his book, success will absolutely be achieved. Dave's message and method can be helpful to those just starting in the business, as well as those with significant experience who are already considered successful by any measure. Most books of this type are simply motivational in nature and filled with platitudes that we have all heard before. Dave provides a specific formula for success. I wish that this invaluable resource had been available earlier in my career!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Specific and practical, March 28, 2008
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
David Mullen's main theme is a variation of Thomas Edison's oft-repeated words that "genius is 10% inspiration and 90% perspiration." Although his book is repetitive and circular, he adds a little more information each time he loops back to an idea. Aspiring brokers will find the effort of following Mullen's train of thought worthwhile: He provides scripts and sample letters, and describes helpful techniques for handling rejection, communicating with prospects and closing sales. He includes information about how to work in teams and how to train sales associates. Mullen's advice is not groundbreaking, but it is specific and practical - although, strangely, he never mentions the importance of developing investment expertise. Thus, getAbstract recommends this book to those who already understand the field and want to use what they know to start selling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for New Advisors and Mid-Career Advisors!, February 17, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
Dave Mullen Jr. has put together the essential steps to success in the EXTREMELY difficult process of building a financial services practice. I am one of his disciples and the concept of clearly defining your market action plans, understanding that it takes 100 clients that are constantly being upgraded and 100 prospects that are constantly in your pipeline is the key to success.

Reading the book is step one, consulting directly with Dave Mullen should be your next step. Bravo for a process that works if you are willing to commit!

Howard Hissrich, CFP(r)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide for staying on track., April 11, 2010
By 
Marko (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
I am a ten year veteran advisor, and I enjoyed the book very much. Confirmation of numbers to attain and suggestions for how to get there where very good. The additional resources in the appendix where extremely helpful. One can get distracted and complicate our business more than it should be. I found Mullen's format and suggestions easy to get through, and great reminders in how one can stay on the path to a very successful career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Million Dollar FS Practice is the Ultimate Training System, December 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
This is the most comprehensive training system for ALL FA's ever written. Dave has taken his years of experience as Top Producer and World Class Leader and translated them into a step by step system that will transform those that are willing to learn. Once read this book will act as a ready reference for years into the future. This timeless work is essential reading for all new FA's as well as senior FA's desiring to grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Required Reading, February 4, 2008
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
Most FAs want to grow their businesses and become million dollar producers or multi-million dollar producers. Dave Mullen has done an excellent job presenting a pragmatic plan on how to achieve those milestones. Mullen's ideas are practical and can be applied by any FA at any stage of the business. "The Million-Dollar Service Practice" is simply the best book I have read on the topic of "how to grow a business".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book in coaching advisors, July 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer (Hardcover)
As a Manager in the business and a producer, this is the bible on how to be a good advisor. Dave Mullen has great content and the book is written by someone that has done this. Its not just smoke. I use this book to train people and all his material. I was skeptical at first but if you are interested in a career in this industry , read this book. If you want to take it to the next level read both of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Million-Dollar Financial Services Practice: A Proven System for Becoming a Top Producer
$30.00 $19.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.