Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$137.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 4, 2013
Got this textbook for Negotiations class in grad school. The textbook could be better because the concepts are poorly explained or are "duh" concepts.

If you are looking for negotiation books in the cross cultural sense, definitely DO NOT get this book because there are better books out there that explains how to identify characteristics of a culture and how to handle them in communications. For negotiations in the American scene it's ok.
11 comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2013
Too many assumptions. For example, on page 20, the answer chosen by "most people" would depend on weather she is polling middle class people versus people of means. For people of means, risking $5,000 is a no-brainer, so I suspect that most would choose "B" option.

I also found that the author's attempt to create a new language of multiple terms (BATNA, PIE-SLICING, EQUITY PRINCIPLE, INTEGRATIVE AGREEMENTS, etc.), as well as her explanatory tables, give a cook-book approach that does not sound real; makes the book cumbersome.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
I purchased this as a text book and paid a text book price. The author is thorough in her presentation of negotiation, however her examples are bias, incomplete in their explanation, and in some cases do not match what the author is trying to convey. I think the editors failed her.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
Used for a Project Management course. I enjoyed this book and it covered a lot of interesting topics. However, it was a bit dry and I felt like some parts could have been condensed into about half their length as it began repeating itself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
This book is a easy read and steps you through the negotiation processes in a business environment. But it also goes touches on negotiating in relationships and everyday activities. I highly recommend this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2015
This book lays everything out in a methodical and clear and concise manner so that students can understand the mechanics of negotiation. I would highly recommend this book to students and professionals alike.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
We written and clearly effective. It can be used as both a self help book, in the use of professional discource or in a classroom stting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
Good book. I recommend you read this as you are taking a course. You need to practice the lessons in this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Awesome book! Very clear examples and it is an interesting read. Expensive, but a very good resource!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
Required reading for business college course. Helpful techniques.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse