Customer Reviews


440 Reviews
5 star:
 (274)
4 star:
 (92)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Role Modeling of Communications and Motivation
When most people become a manager for the first time, they are more than a little unsure of themselves. Naturally, they often use speech and ways of doing things that they have seen others use. That's great if their role models are good, but can be terrible otherwise.
The One Minute Manager provides a positive role model for those who have not yet seen one, and...
Published on December 14, 1999 by Donald Mitchell

versus
112 of 126 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice, but 59 Minutes Too Long
Kenneth Blanchard's "The One Minute Manager" is a short book that should have either been much shorter or much longer. The longer version would have been supported with research and case studies to back up Blanchard's claims that the techniques are effective. For readers who don't need or want the supporting evidence, here is what the shorter version would...
Published on March 14, 2004 by Nate Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Role Modeling of Communications and Motivation, December 14, 1999
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Paperback)
When most people become a manager for the first time, they are more than a little unsure of themselves. Naturally, they often use speech and ways of doing things that they have seen others use. That's great if their role models are good, but can be terrible otherwise.
The One Minute Manager provides a positive role model for those who have not yet seen one, and good reinforcement for those who have not seen one lately.
If organizations try to operate on the assumption that only the manager has ideas worth acting on, then very little will be accomplished. The One Minute Manager provides a useful model for opening up and stimulating the minds of everyone in the organization to accomplish more.
Not only is this advice worth following from an effectiveness point of view, it will also make you feel better about yourself as a manager and as a person when you follow it. And you will certainly make those who report to you feel a lot better, as well.
I like the use of a parable to help each of us reexamine ourselves, because it makes the reader feel less defensive. But be sure to remember what you gut instincts would have been in the same situations the One Minute Manager describes. Otherwise, you may miss the point of how much your behavior needs to change.
This is one of a handful of books well worth rereading annually.
Unlike most business books, this one is short and easy to read. The academic language has been banished, and it is well written.
If you want to go beyond The One Minute Manager to get even better results, you will have to learn and use other beneficial habits as well. But you can have all the great ideas in the world, and if you annoy and stifle everyone around you, not much will happen. So think of this book as necessary for more success, but not sufficient in and of itself for getting the utmost benefits in working with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 126 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Advice, but 59 Minutes Too Long, March 14, 2004
By 
Nate Johnson (TALLAHASSEE, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Paperback)
Kenneth Blanchard's "The One Minute Manager" is a short book that should have either been much shorter or much longer. The longer version would have been supported with research and case studies to back up Blanchard's claims that the techniques are effective. For readers who don't need or want the supporting evidence, here is what the shorter version would look like:
1) Good managers are not micromanagers; they expect employees to take initiative and solve their own problems.
2) Good managers set goals for their employees that are brief and have clear performance standards and expectations.
3) Good managers look for opportunities to praise their employees because self-confident employees are happier and more productive. Employees learn to internalize praise.
4) Good managers are also quick and clear in providing feedback when something goes wrong. Reprimands are more effective when it is understood that managers think highly of their employees. (Presumably, if the "One-Minute Reprimands" happen too often, the employee will no longer work for the One-Minute Manager, so that ending reprimands with statements of the employee's value, as suggested, will always be sincere.)
That's about it.
All this is probably good advice. One of the bosses whose management style I most admired and who inspired me to a high level of performance was very much like the One Minute Manager in the book. I rarely saw him, but when I did, it was clear that he had been paying attention and that he valued my work.
But the storytelling format of the book--it's told by a naive young narrator who interviews the one-minute manager and his employees--draws a couple of pages of material out into a hundred page book. That's much less than many management self-help books, to be sure, and one gets the impression the author is trying to walk his talk. To Blanchard, management is more common sense than rocket science, and a long book would be a waste of time.
I like the idea that, in management as as in writing, less is often more. In many workplaces, memos, meetings, and manuals are about ten times as long as they need to be. We are bombarded with so much information that, what my bosses often want and what I appreciate most from my own employees, are good two-paragraph summaries of a week's worth of research. If they are done well, these summaries will take longer to research and write than a ten page report would have, but they save their readers time and actually produce a net gain in information.
But if Blanchard's book wants to be the Strunk and White guide to the boardroom--brevity, brevity, brevity--the book falls short. It took me almost an hour to read, which is 59 more than it should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One minute Manager, March 6, 2000
By 
Joe Ruszczyk (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Hardcover)
A measurement of a good leader is ability to develop other leaders, not followers. In today's world, many new supervisors are thrust into a "baptism by fire" management environment. I found this book to be an easy to read guide that arms newcomers to management with the basic tools for building worker relationships and getting the best out of their staffs. As a result, their efforts are guided into decisions that generate increasingly positive outcomes in uncomfortable situations. Self confidence builds and leadership/management styles improve.
I have made it a habit during my welcome interviews to provide each new management employee with a copy of "The One Minute Manager". We all enjoy the benefits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leadership and One Minute Manger is better, October 4, 2001
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Paperback)
There are three simple precepts, which the One Minute Manager establishes with his employees: One Minute Goal Setting, One Minute Praisings, and One Minute Reprimands. This makes the basics of the book very simple to understand. I was quite stunned to find the content extremely useful. Strangely the simplicity of the book is deceiving. This book is good for those that are looking for a quick read and who are either currently managing people or wanting to manage people.
Goal setting is all about making sure employees understand perfectly what their duties are, what is expected of them and that there are no surprises. The Praisings and Reprimands are simply managers acknowledging that the employees are doing there jobs or not and how to deal with the situation and how to convey it to the employee.
In my opinion the book is pretty good but I think everyone should read Leadership and the One Minute Manager rather than this book as Leadership is essential and it is what differentiates great companies from good ones. The key, like most books that are self-help, is to apply these principles each and every day. Catch yourself when you slip and find ways to incorporate them into your value system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Reading for all Leaders, April 29, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Paperback)
This book has influenced me for many years. It's wonderful. Some people may consider it too simple and common sense...unfortunately common sense isn't always common practice. It's quick and easy reading and on my personal "Top 10 List of Great Book." I refer to it in nearly every Seminar I present, because it's basic philosophy motivates people...catch them doing something right and tell them about it. This book is simple, yet very powerful. I'm still amazed how few people raise their hands when I ask in my Seminars, "How many people have read `The One Minute Manager.'" This is must reading for all leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE MINUTE MANAGER ISN'T STALLED, March 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Paperback)
The first time I read The One Minute Manager, I remember thinking "If only I could remember all these good ideas and what to say and what questions to ask". On rereading it, I can say "Yes, I do these things naturally". That is why the book is so powerful. It describes what effective people in business do naturally. Why then should so many people reread it and share it with their friends and children? The answer is simple - With today's daily pressures, people take too many short cuts and those short cuts along the bumpy road get us stalled. "The 2,000 Percent Solution" by Donald Mitchell, Carol Coles and Robert Metz talks about these "stalls" that keep us from succeeding. These "stalls" are caused by poor Communications (the message is not understood), Disbelief (We can't do it), Tradition (We've always done it this way), Bureaucracy (too many unproductive policies and procedures), Misconception (based on poor assumptions), Unattractiveness (Not wanting to wade in murky waters) and Procrastination (We can do it tomorrow, and maybe it will get better before then). The One Minute Manager takes us back to the basics of being a good manager. "The 2,000 Percent Solution" shows The One Minute Manager how to grow his or her business by 20 times the normal rate. Both are needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone of any age group, any occupation..., April 5, 2000
By 
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Paperback)
Book written by Kenneth Blanchard and Spencer Johnson, it has sold more than 7 million copies worldwide and that just says how successful this book is. It covers the three essential elements of being a high-speed and efficient manager. I also like the "business story" format. In today's world, many new supervisors are thrust into a "baptism by fire" management environment. I found this book to be an easy to read guide that arms newcomers to management with the basic tools for building worker relationships and getting the best out of their staff. Consequently, their efforts are guided into decisions that generate increasingly positive outcomes in uncomfortable situations. Self-confidence builds and leadership and management styles improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple but great, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Hardcover)
OMM is an oversimplified version of how to lead people. It applies not only to work, but to parenting, relationships in a church, or anywhere else. While it is simple, it is profound. I read this book about once a year as a refresher. It is a must-read. Sometimes the writing is a bit corny, but look past that to get the message, which is simply the best way to lead people. I also recommend the "One Minute Manager and the Monkey."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, cute, and easy to read, August 4, 2007
By 
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Hardcover)
This is a great little introduction to personnel management. Though slightly misnamed, the book introduces three skills of management which can be done in a concise way (but probably not quite 60 seconds). Managers should cast clear vision and expectations, commend good work, and correct mistakes. That's it.

The reason the book is so good is that so many managers can't or won't do those three simple things. The ability to confront employees in a non-combative way is too abrasive for sensitive people-people, and too limited for true autocrats. Praise is simple and obvious enough, but many managers think they've done it when they haven't. And precise goal-setting is sometimes beyond business leaders who do not have sharp mental editing skills. When you're finished with the book, you haven't heard anything you didn't already know, you've only been reminded of how important it is to do these things. Like diet and exercise, most of us know what's best for us regardless of whether or not we do it. Additionally, and this is a subtle point, the manager has to express how he or she feels about an employee's performance, and accurate expression of feeling is sometimes beyond the emotional range of some really driven leaders.

It's a top notch, brief read. Everyone in leadership ought to read it, even if they walk away with nothing new. The only thing I'd correct is some mediocre narrative, as the whole book is written as a fictional set of interviews by a young manager-to-be of his idiolized One Minute Manager, running a company. But no one's reading this book because they meant to pick up a good novel, so writing style is a minor issue. That aside, it's worth the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Simplicity, May 22, 2000
By 
Chemiker (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The One Minute Manager (Hardcover)
I was a little disappointed when 'The One Minute Manager' arrived in the mail and I saw its small size and large fonts. However, this tiny little fairy-tale is the best management book I've read. I strongly recommend this book for managers in all fields, including professors in academia. 'The One Minute Manager' takes less than an hour to read, and if you have any interest in becoming a better manager or a stronger leader, surely you can risk 60 minutes of your time? The ideas are not contrived, artificial mechanisms that interfere with our natural personalities. Instead, the entire strategy can be implemented by following a few simple rules that feel natural and are easy to perform and maintain. Sound too good to be true? Just try it!
A word of caution though, use of the strategy assumes the individuals on the manager's team are intelligent, and the tools presented are designed to encourage subordinates to become more independent and responsible, not reliant on a manager's approval, input or direction on minor decisions. Any manager who wants to be involved in all aspects of a project couldn't possibly use the strategies of 'The One Minute Manager' without driving his team nuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The One Minute Manager
The One Minute Manager by Ken Blanchard (Hardcover - 2003)
$22.99 $13.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.