Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the same Gibson
If you're looking for cyberpunk reading material, be warned: this is NOT the same William Gibson of Neuromancer fame, though a brief perusal of the Amazon description should have told you this.

William Gibson, the cyberpunk novelist, was born in 1948; this play by William Gibson, the playwright (b. 1914), was first produced in 1959. To the idiots leaving...
Published on May 31, 2005 by 6502Lane

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Miracle Worker
I'm a forign exchange student from Japan. I've been staying in Missouri, USA since last August. I read this story last month at school. I really like it.After I read this, I could believe that miracle will happen whenever I keep trying.
Published on March 23, 1998


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the same Gibson, May 31, 2005
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Mass Market Paperback)
If you're looking for cyberpunk reading material, be warned: this is NOT the same William Gibson of Neuromancer fame, though a brief perusal of the Amazon description should have told you this.

William Gibson, the cyberpunk novelist, was born in 1948; this play by William Gibson, the playwright (b. 1914), was first produced in 1959. To the idiots leaving 1-star / negative reviews of this item without having read the description, you got what you deserved. A quick perusal of Gibson's own website gives you a concise list of the books he's written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An imprisoned mind set free, October 28, 2001
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Paperback)
"The Miracle Worker," a play by William Gibson, has had an enduring presence as a piece of living literature. It appeared on Broadway during the 1959-60 dramatic season, was made into a motion picture a couple of years later, and then was remade as a television movie for the 1979-80 season. The play's genesis lies in the real story of Helen Keller (1880-1968), the woman who was struck deaf and blind by illness at the age of 19 months. "The Miracle Worker" tells how a young Helen was led out of her prison of silence and darkness by the remarkable Anne Sullivan, who set out to teach the girl sign language.
"The Miracle Worker" is a truly great play. Gibson brilliantly takes the historical facts of Keller's childhood (many of which can be found in "The Story of My Life," Keller's 1902 autobiography) and turns them into a suspenseful, profoundly moving piece of theater. Although the core of the play is the fiery relationship between Sullivan and the wildly undisciplined Helen, Gibson's drama takes in the entire Keller household. I was particularly moved by the relationship between "Miss Annie" and Helen's frustrated but devoted mother.
"The Miracle Worker" is remarkable because much of the story is told not in dialogue, but in Gibson's stage directions. This is one of those plays which is not only powerful in performance, but also a gripping read.
Gibson's play is one of those great examples of a drama that takes real American life stories and turns them into enduring art; in that sense, it is comparable to such great works as "The Crucible," by Arthur Miller, or "The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail," by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee.
"The Miracle Worker" is not only a compelling human drama, but also a reflection on courage, love, education, and the transcendent power of language. As an interesting complementary text, I recommend Octavia Butler's science fiction story "Speech Sounds" (which can be found in Butler's book "Bloodchild and Other Stories").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truthful, Powerful and Challenging, December 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Paperback)
I started loving this story 30 years ago. The Truth in it is stronger than ever! I understand why children love it. There are healthy standards, it is full of hope for the future, in spite of the difficulties that lurk all around. This story is an excellent symbol to all of us who are, in any way, disabled. Be it blindness, deafness, poverty, abuse survivor, depression, you name it. When we have been allowed to be strong-willed and determined to do things our own way, even if it totally grosses out and/or destroys everyone around us, especially those we love. Anti-social behavior can be as deadly to the person exhibiting the behavior as walking in the street and ignoring the traffic! The symbolism of how the Truth enters one's mind when the person is ready to learn, applies to every person on earth. This is so beautifully presented by the teacher's determination and the student's grasping and taking hold of the knowledge. Thus, proving Helen's intellegence and desire. Desire to live a fuller life then before meeting her match in Anne Sullivan.
She met someone that wouldn't patronize her, but would give her the tools she needed to live, long after her exhausted family went on to meet their maker.
This is one of my favorite books because it makes me look at myself. What do I do that is selfish and bothersome to those around me that I can give up? And are there tools out there that can help me contribute to the world around me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "She knows!", June 6, 2005
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Mass Market Paperback)
William Gibson's "The Miracle Worker" is as poignant and powerful today as it was back in 1957, when it was first performed on "Playhouse 90." Annie Sullivan is an "inexperienced half-blind Yankee schoolgirl" who attempts to reach seven-year-old Helen Keller, a child who became deaf and blind as a result of a childhood illness. Helen's father, Captain Keller, is a southern gentleman who is used to being obeyed. However, even he stands helplessly by in the face of Helen's violent and disruptive outbursts. Mrs. Keller, Helen's mother, is a sweet and loving person who pities Helen, and by giving in to her every whim, she helps turn her daughter into a demanding tyrant.

Annie Sullivan is only twenty when she comes to Alabama to become Helen's teacher. Annie had been blind herself, and although numerous operations on her eyes have restored some of her sight, her eyes remain weak and sensitive to light. Annie is appalled when she meets her volatile and undisciplined charge. The teacher sets out to civilize Helen by instructing her to eat from her own plate with utensils rather than grab food from everyone else's plate with her hands. This leads to an angry confrontation between teacher and student, which leaves both of them emotionally and physically drained. William Gibson's five page long stage directions describe in great detail this pitched battle between these two stubborn individuals. After this harrowing encounter, Annie realizes that only by separating Helen from her indulgent family can she ever hope to tame this brilliant but willful youngster.

"The Miracle Worker" is a beautifully constructed and concise play. Each act builds in intensity until the climactic scene when Helen associates the water that pours over her hands with the letters that Annie is constantly spelling into her palm. However, this drama is more than a heartwarming story about a dedicated teacher and her out-of-control student. It is a story about a family divided against itself. Captain Keller is an overbearing husband and father, Mrs. Keller is a mother in denial, and Helen's half-brother, James, never gets enough positive attention from his parents.

Gibson injects welcome humor into the play, as when Annie proclaims, "What good will your pity do her [Helen] when you're under the strawberries, Captain Keller?" In addition, Annie criticizes the family for treating Helen like a pet, adding sardonically, "Why, even a dog you housebreak." Some of the most resonant lines in "The Miracle Worker" deal with the importance of communication. Annie wisely observes, "Language is to the mind more than light is to the eye." If Helen is to ever function as an adult, she will need to learn sign language. To accomplish this, Annie seeks a breakthrough that will enable her to bring Helen's spirited soul out of the darkness of her isolation. When Annie drags Helen to a water pump to refill a pitcher she had dropped, Helen says, "Wah. Wah," remembering the word for water from babyhood. After the realization dawns on Helen that words stand for objects, Annie senses that, in the future, there will be no stopping this bright young woman from soaring as far as her lively mind will take her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A Teacher Who Never Gave Up", May 2, 2003
By 
Nicole Miller (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Mass Market Paperback)
The Miracle Worker, by William Gibson, is a dramatic play retelling the once lived lives of the exceptional Annie Sullivan and her young pupil, Helen Keller.
The story revolves around Helen, a young 12 yr old deaf/blind mute who has been forced to grow up in a world which has denied her language and understanding. Her family includes her father- Arthur Keller, known as "Captain," a retired army officer, who has a need to be in control of situations, her mother- Kate Keller, who displays the most affection to the girl, "her Helen" whom she can deny nothing from, and finally, her half brother- James Keller, whose sarcastic remarks and slight jealousy toward Helen are made apparent throughout the story. All are dumbfounded by her condition, and continue to spoil her with their pity and attempt to control her actions with "treats," such as candy or cake. The end-result, leaving Helen to resemble that of a "wild creature," doing as she pleases and relying on all of her instincts- including anger and rage when not getting her way.
This is where Annie Sullivan comes in. Partially blind herself, Annie, a young woman in her twenties, is hired by the Kellers in attempts to help control Helen and to "tame" her uncivilized behavior. Haunted by her dark past, but strong-willed nonetheless, Annie takes this mission full on-and a difficult one it turns out to be. These two girls go head to head, testing each other's wits and pushing each other to their limit. In the end, though, they learn from one another and obtain a newly-found respect for each other.
This inspirational story touches the heart and awakens the senses within the readers-just as Helen learns to do. It takes you into an unimaginable journey, through which a child, who knows no sight, nor sound, not even a language, learns how to find her voice, with the help of a teacher who never gave up.
It was a very compelling story, impossible for me to put down. I would definitely recommend this book for everyone. It puts things into perspective, and reminds you of the many things in your life, which are constantly taken for granted. This story also proves, that once again, determination and persistence can pay off. Everyone should be so lucky, as to have someone like Annie there to help you find your own voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Miracle Worker Book Review, November 12, 2002
By 
Drew Smead (Averill Park, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Mass Market Paperback)
The book The Miracle Worker by William Gibson is written exceptionally. It is about Helen Keller (def/blind child) and how she is taught how to communicate.
Her teacher was a woman named Annie Sullivan. The story is told from Annie's view in the first person. Throughout the book Annie tries different methods of teaching Helen how to communicate. Finally, one method of hers works. At this point Helen understands that objects have names. By memorizing the hand motions (sign language) previously Helen knows the names for everything.
Because Helen can't talk, hear or see William Gibson describes everything she does in great detail. This gives the reader many visuals in their mind while they are reading. You can almost see Helen feeling things and you can also get a picture in your mind of what she looks like. At the beginning of the book, we don't really know what to think of Helen and Annie because of some of their actions. Helen as anyone could imagine is not well behaved and is a mess. Annie is very strict with Helen and other than getting very upset when Helen disobeys her she is a pretty quiet person. However, as the book goes on we learn to love both of these characters because we understand where they are coming from.
I would strongly recommend reading this book to gain a greater appreciation for the lives of Helen Keller and Annie Sullivan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The moving accounts of the inarticulate Helen Keller, May 28, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Miracle Worker (Paperback)
The Miracle Worker is a timeles piece of American literature and the book comments on the comprehensive view of human nature through the character of Helen Keller. Blind, deaf, and dumb she stood and faced her fears in the face of harm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching story of people losing hope, except a teacher..., November 17, 2002
By 
Melanie Wicwar (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Mass Market Paperback)
I read The Miracle Worker on my own as a class assignment, and I am very glad I chose it. It was a very touching story of how Annie Sullivan helped Helen Keller out of the silence by teaching her how to do sign language. It was almost like a journey, watching all the events that Annie had to conquer while teaching Helen. Annie was a brave, young woman who was also half-blind. In short...I found this a wonderful, and most rewarding story to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Miracle Worker Review by an Eighth Grade Student, September 13, 2012
Annie Sullivan, a once blind twenty year old girl, is inspiring. She never knew what challenge she was facing when she volunteered to teach Helen Keller about the world. In the format of a play, The Miracle worker points to the exhausting time that Annie had with Helen. Between dealing with Helen's family and Helen herself you wonder how this twenty year old girl survived life in the Keller house; her persistence got her through. Multiple times Annie stood up to Captain Keller saying things like, "I'll tell you what I pity... that the sun won't rise and set for her all her life, and every day you're telling her it will. What you and your pity do will destroy her, Captain Keller." or "It's less trouble to feel sorry for her than it is to teach her anything better."

The Miracle Worker is phenomenal. William Gibson, the author, makes this play inspiring for anyone interested in Annie Sullivan or Helen Keller. The reader is encouraged by Annie's persistence as she teaches Helen about the world. I recommend this book to anyone who needs a little inspiration or is interested in the story of Annie Sullivan or her student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Miracle Worker, May 21, 2003
This review is from: The Miracle Worker (Mass Market Paperback)
I read the miracle worker. I thought that this book was great. It really poened my eyes to the world, and made me realise that my life isn't so bad.
Imagine yourself achild with no hearing or sight. Hard to think about huh? It's almost unbelievable that this girl, Helen Keller, grew up to be such a fine women.
With the help of Annie Sullivan Helen's life was changed drastically, not only did she learn how to communicate, she continued on and began writting books.
I believe that Annie sullivan , being once blind herself , was really a "Miracle Worker" . This is a great book and I recomend it to any one who is looking for an insperational book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Miracle Worker
The Miracle Worker by William Gibson (Mass Market Paperback - June 25, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.