Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the top! Very highly recommended
Biology professor Dr. Marietta Dalrymple planned her pregnancy carefully. She advertised in an academic journal and screened the prospects on the basis of such considerations as their IQ and family medical history. Unconcerned with the prospective sperm donor's physical appearance, Marietta wants her baby to have the best advantages possible for a successful future with...
Published on May 9, 2002

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars flat
The author writes well enough. So I'll give credit that you can read this the whole way through (as opposed to some books I've seen).

This isn't ha-ha funny, so much as uses an unusual plot twist. I'll give credit for the plot twist, but am not sure why reviewers claimed to be laughing out loud or crying at this book? The plot just was not that deep. The...
Published on March 7, 2012 by InOhio


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the top! Very highly recommended, May 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Misconception (Mass Market Paperback)
Biology professor Dr. Marietta Dalrymple planned her pregnancy carefully. She advertised in an academic journal and screened the prospects on the basis of such considerations as their IQ and family medical history. Unconcerned with the prospective sperm donor's physical appearance, Marietta wants her baby to have the best advantages possible for a successful future with health and intellect. Marietta selects Harold McGinty to be the donor, with his high IQ, excellent medical history, and position as a biochemist at a pharmaceutical research facility. She does not know that just before boarding the plan, Harold will have second thoughts. A chance encounter with a high school friend sends Cash Jackson, Jax, in his place.
The exact terms of Harold's proposed encounter with Marietta were not made clear before Jax boarded the D.C. bound plane. Nor does he appreciate Marietta's conviction that sexuality is a biological function and never one truly of the heart. Events sweep him along and he finds himself spending an extraordinary afternoon in Marietta's arms, leaving them both stunned by their connection. Business interrupts Jax, and before he can return to the hotel, Marietta slips away. Jax hires a private investigator, and two months later learns he is about to be a father. Unfortunately, he is under the misconception that Marietta might want him to be a father. And she is under the misconception that he might give up. Indeed, Jax will challenge every concept Marietta believes regarding marriage, relationships, and fatherhood.
Be aware of your surroundings when you read THE MISCONCEPTION. I am not one to laugh out loud while reading very often, but not only did author Darlene Gardner have me giggling and chortling, but by the end of THE MISCONCEPTION I was howling! Gardner captures the heroine's stuffy attitudes of academia and the dialogue of an intellectual with pizzazz, and then contrasts it with a wonderfully sexy, down to earth hero who supports his mother and puts his brothers through college. These characters achieve a remarkable depth even as their secrets and fears keep the plot moving quickly. The secondary plot, of an attempt at reuniting a couple of the verge of divorce, adds a touch of spice that will keep the pages turning. As one outrageous event follows quickly on the heels of the next, readers will find themselves wondering what could happen to top this one, and the laughing at the hilarity of the next. A wonderfully entertaining read that belongs on the keeper shelf, THE MISCONCEPTION wins the WordWeaving Award of Excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughter and tears..., May 22, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Misconception (Mass Market Paperback)
Scientist Marietta Dalrymple wanted to be a mother. But, as a scientist (and a woman), she did not believe in monogamous males or marriage. So, she makes a contract with an unseen man, who meets all the requirements for the fathering of her future child.
Cash Jackson (Jax) meets up with an old classmate at the airport. The classmate asks Jax to do him a favor. Would Jax let Marietta Dalrymple know he's not coming. And, as Marietta and Jax meet, there's confusion, and consumation...
With the help of a private eye, Jax locates the pregnant Marietta. He then trys to convince Marietta to allow him to be a father to her baby, and her husband. Sceptical scientist, Marietta, wants no part of his plans.
Ms. Gardner does a wonderful job of making the sparks fly between Jax and Marietta. And, she has a very interesting subplot about a secondary couple, which is almost as tantalizing. While, there are light touches of humor, for me, touches of tears, too.
THE MISCONCEPTION could have used a more sensuality, and I wish the book had been longer. I really enjoyed the secondary couple. Finally, the ending was a bit over-the-top, for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great afternoon read, February 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First time reading this author. I liked the general concept of the story of a woman wanting a child but not wanting the whole package of marriage and love ever after. The heroine seemed a little delusional to real life but it was witty and interesting with both characters and the secondary story of the sister and her seperated relationship with her husband was interesting. Not realistic but interesting. Overall worth the money in my point of view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars flat, March 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author writes well enough. So I'll give credit that you can read this the whole way through (as opposed to some books I've seen).

This isn't ha-ha funny, so much as uses an unusual plot twist. I'll give credit for the plot twist, but am not sure why reviewers claimed to be laughing out loud or crying at this book? The plot just was not that deep. The characters are flat and a bit insulting and don't evoke that much emotion.

After the first quarter of the book, I got tired of repeatedly reading how the male lead is symetrical and bronze. The female lead is unrelentingly robotic. This could be a good fantasy for frumpy working women who want a bronze, symetrical adonis to fall for them without having to change -- sort of a modern twist on woman traps man in marriage with a baby. But a sad statement on the author's view of intelligent working women and men (or marriage) in general. The saddest statement is in how a 'respected scientist' totally throws out her life's work to pursue justification of her new found 'feminism' at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little romance, May 26, 2011
By 
Isabel (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Misconception (Mass Market Paperback)
I knew exactly what I was getting myself into when I purchased this book. Easy read. Cute story. I wasn't expecting to be blown away by either the story or the writing but it was entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a Waste of Time, October 12, 2013
By 
Mary V. (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While reading the first chapter I thought this was going to be a really good book. The initial plot was interesting and had a lot of possibilities for a funny and interesting story. I should have stopped reading at that point because the story that followed was so bad I was almost embarrassed for the author. I'm not even referring to the fact that in the real world it's pretty unlikely that some Adonis is going to fall madly in love with a frumpy professor (that's improbable but not impossible). I'm referring to the fact that the story got so corny and didn't have an ounce of humor in it. I have no idea what the other reviewers are talking about when they say they laughed and cried while reading this piece of dreck. I felt I was reading a paper that was handed in by some high school student. It was truly one of the worst books I have ever read. Don't waste your time with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read!!!, February 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book within a day, I couldn't put it down, an excellent read, though it was predictable to a certain extent, some parts left me surprised. I liked the author's writing style and use of language, I also enjoyed the sub-plot about Tracy & Ryan. However, I must agree with some of the other reviewers, that Dr Marietta Dalrymple's character is bit overbearing and unbelievable at times. At some points she infuriates me. All in all a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming romantic comedy, February 23, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed reading Misconception very much both for its main plot where Marietta, who is a repressed and frumpy Biology professor, contracted with an unknown "sperm supplier" to have sex with her until she conceived a child and who then would disappear from the child's life. There was a case of mistaken identity and Jax, a dead-ringer for Adonis, who knew nothing of the contract (and grew up without a father), spent hours with Marietta, but when he left, she disappeared without a trace. When Jax learned Marietta was pregnant, he hired a private detective, found her, and set out to convince her to marry him. In the subplot, Marietta's sister, Tracy, had left her husband, Ross, nine months before when she and Marietta thought they caught Ross cheating. The dialogue was both funny and believable and the writing was very good. The book could have used an editor, though, because there were quite a few mistakes (e.g., "shock observers" instead of "shock absorbers"). However, even the mistakes didn't take away from the mood and flow of the story. The characters in the story all had well-rounded personalities and the imagery was very vivid. If you are looking for a light-hearted, romance then I recommend that you try this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is just one giant infuriating fallacy, January 18, 2012
Let's start with the mechanics: the structure of this novel was above standard and there was definitely a flow that didn't appear as stilted or forced.
However, the personality of the heroine was annoying at times and infuriating at others. At no time did I remotely thought she deserved the love of the hero. Mostly she was an idiot right up to the end. All I wanted to ask as I read this book was:
Didn't scientist these days take courses in statistics and critical and creative thinking? How do you associate these opinions on the entire male gender with only three solid examples. I mean I know it's fiction but no scientist is that idiotic and painfully stubborn.
It's almost like the character was created to be cold, objective and robotic, but then the author recalls that there's an unborn baby involved. So that wouldn't really add up.
it was an okay book but it takes patience. I think that really keep me reading was finding out what slippery slope of a fallacy the heroine's character was going to employ and overreact to when she found out the hero's tiny tiny secret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Misconception, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good book, frustrating at times and just funny in other times. I will read more books by this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Misconception
The Misconception by Darlene Gardner (Mass Market Paperback - May 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.