Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the key to a happy life
Throw out all your self help books and your t.v. guide. In fact, go ahead and throw out your t.v. too and follow your bliss. If you've forgotten how, get Dan's book and let him show you the simple way to peace and happiness. This book is an inspiration.You won't be able to read more than a page or two before you dust off your old sketch book or journal, sharpen...
Published on September 6, 2000 by Susan Crane

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun drawings, but the thoughts are often inane
I liked the drawings of everyday things in this book, and some of the travelogues were vivid and entertaining. The trip through Hell's Canyon, in particular, was authentically hellish and laborious and beautiful.

For someone who has arranged life for maximum time to think, however, the author stays at a pretty shallow level of thought. He draws animals and...
Published on September 11, 2005 by grrlpup


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the key to a happy life, September 6, 2000
By 
Susan Crane (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
Throw out all your self help books and your t.v. guide. In fact, go ahead and throw out your t.v. too and follow your bliss. If you've forgotten how, get Dan's book and let him show you the simple way to peace and happiness. This book is an inspiration.You won't be able to read more than a page or two before you dust off your old sketch book or journal, sharpen your pencil and begin to enjoy your life, in all its extraordinary ordinary wonder! If you long to find meaning in a salt shaker, or an old red barn, or a sleeping child's dreamy smile, look no further than this incredible little volume. It's simply magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regain Your Sense of Childlike Wonder, April 22, 2005
By 
D. Haire (Birmingham, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
I purchased both of the Dan Price books currently available, this one and the one called "How to Make a Journal of Your Life." I enjoyed both books very much and recommend them. They convey a childlike wonder in both the narrative and the drawings (some of which are quite good). There is a definite appeal to busy, responsibility-laden adults, who fantasize about chucking it all and taking-off for an adventurous life on the road. After reading these books, many will at least question whether they might simplify their lives in some way.

The neo-hippie, let's-go-out-and-play lifestyle is not without its cost, however. According to his website, the author has now split-up with his wife, who played such a large part in his first two books. And if his grown children have learned their lesson of independence . . . well, Dan may have plenty of solitude to enjoy in the future.

I hope that he is satisfied with what he calls in his Chronicles Creed an "endless" search for truth and beauty. The search can be quite enjoyable in itself. But if he actually wants to find ultimate truth and beauty, he may be frustrated. Since his method relies upon subjective experiences of nature and life, truth and beauty can be no bigger than his perceptions of them. Vestiges of truth and beauty in the natural world are a pleasing but ultimately unsatisfying taste of what we intuitively know is much bigger, much greater. It's like trying to be satisfied with the footprint of one's lover, rather than the actual person.

You might think from this that I don't like the book after all, but you'd be wrong. I like it even though it's not perfect. In fact, I plan to buy Dan Price's new book "Radical Simplicity" when it is published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contagious Chronicles, June 9, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
Dan Price's joy and enthusiasm are contagious! This small book is full of his simple and inspiring observations, and his lopsided drawings. Beautifully printed and bound.
If you're looking for detailed sketches or deep philosophical discussions, forget it. If you're looking for a book that is one man's thoughtful reflection on daily life, this is it. It's hard to imagine a recipient - from funky teen through grumpy uncle - who wouldn't enjoy this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, life altering, a modern Jack Kerouac, January 1, 2004
By 
Cynthia Meyer (Central California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
The Moonlight Chronicles is an amazing discovery about what is really important in life.
Dan Price will put your life into focus. Things that bother you... lose importance. Great joy is really available and all we need to do is open our eyes. Dan's life is so obviously the real way to live... it will change your perspective on things. Dan is cross between a Zen Master sent to fix the planet... and a more modern Jack Kerouac.
This volume is primarily excerpts from Dan's larger collection of work available only in Zine format. I recommend this book highly... but I really recommend that you get the Zines too. There are more than 3000 pages in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Appreciation 101 - taught by Prof. Dan Price, February 22, 2001
By 
R L "Bonehead" (Knoxville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
Dan Price has his act together. He appreciates the things in life that have true value - and praises those things with his words, drawings and photographs. Read this book today, ... His books have a way of kicking our high-speed lives back down into first gear where we can appreciate the journey a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars living life, February 21, 2005
By 
B2 (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
I started reading moonlight chronicles about seven years ago. Dan's style of drawing and his attention to detail in life and art are addictive and inspiring. I am so glad to see his books available on the open market. Reading his work makes you feel alive and makes you want to get back to the basics of living again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun drawings, but the thoughts are often inane, September 11, 2005
By 
grrlpup (Portland, Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
I liked the drawings of everyday things in this book, and some of the travelogues were vivid and entertaining. The trip through Hell's Canyon, in particular, was authentically hellish and laborious and beautiful.

For someone who has arranged life for maximum time to think, however, the author stays at a pretty shallow level of thought. He draws animals and birds he sees, but doesn't seem to know much about them. The idealization of Native Americans and "primitive man" is irritating. The stories about parenting teenagers were okay as far as they went, but felt incomplete. Why does a teenager have to be home by six at night? What are their own aspirations and social lives like? There's not much of an eye for the right detail, the telling detail.

I happen to love doing nothing, leading a simple life, and observing the little things, but this book isn't a great advertisement for it. It sometimes crosses the line between simplicity and simplistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moonlight Chronicles, August 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
A delightful little book. An interesting story with a totally unpretentious presentation, charming drawings and layout make this a favourite to pull out when there is a need for meditational reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, March 7, 2013
By 
ulan25 (philippines) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
This was the book that inspired me to pick up a pen and keep a visual journal. I had lost the one I got years ago, so I bought myself another copy. I live ther simple line drawings. Very charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars State of the Art Art Journaling, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal (Paperback)
This is the type of book that I found motivating. Dan finds so much joy in his art that I was inspired to journal as well, this is an art that makes more artists. His style is distinctive, intimate, captivating and fun. To draw your life is to engage, understand and appreciate it on a higher level, this is a lesson learned. On to Volume 5 for me, thanks Dan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal
The Moonlight Chronicles: A Wandering Artist's Journal by D. Price (Paperback - August 1, 2000)
Used & New from: $2.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.