Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars illustrated juvenile poem
This poem about a mouse that builds a house in a decoration castle on top of a Christmas cake was first published in New York in 1858. The ebook version has 5 illustrations (including the front page). It's a poem for children and has only a few pages of text. You may have to change the text size on your Kindle to be able to read all the lines.

(This book is in...
Published on May 29, 2011 by Mei

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice picture book and poem
has 4 full page pictures and a long poem about a fancy cake and a mouse that moves into the castle decorating the top until the human family starts to serve it. kindle edition very well formatted except the lack of a cover. probably British pre WW1.
Published on May 12, 2011 by Anniepoo


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars illustrated juvenile poem, May 29, 2011
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
This poem about a mouse that builds a house in a decoration castle on top of a Christmas cake was first published in New York in 1858. The ebook version has 5 illustrations (including the front page). It's a poem for children and has only a few pages of text. You may have to change the text size on your Kindle to be able to read all the lines.

(This book is in the public domain, you can find it for free on the web.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle humor brought a smile, July 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
Cute, easy-to-read-aloud poem with old-fashioned illustrations brought a smile. Just one poem with 5 images scattered throughout.

This Project Gutenberg book can be found in many places. Misspelling and grammar issue were part of the original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful children's Christmas poem, November 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
Very sweet poem from the 19th century about a Christmas cake that is topped with a decoration of Windsor Castle. The cake awaits family and friends, sitting on the table while a little mouse nibbles through the door to the castle and makes himself at home. There is also a family cat in the house. The cake, the mouse and the cat make for a chaotic moment on Christmas Day when visitors arrive and the cake is about to be sliced.

If this delighted children long ago, it should still delight them by listening to all the holiday antics in the poem. The Kindle edition has illustrations, also.

Christmas is right around the corner and this poem would be a nice thing to read to children alone or in a group. I very much enjoyed it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a nice picture book and poem, May 12, 2011
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
has 4 full page pictures and a long poem about a fancy cake and a mouse that moves into the castle decorating the top until the human family starts to serve it. kindle edition very well formatted except the lack of a cover. probably British pre WW1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Little Poem, January 18, 2012
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
I like mice. I always have. As a child one of my favorite poems was "Mice" by Rose Fyleman. [It starts with the lines, "I think mice are rather nice. Their tails are long, their faces small; They haven't any chins at all. Their ears are pink, their teeth are white, They run about the house at night...]

So when I saw this poem I had to see what it was about; and "The Mouse and the Christmas Cake" turned out to be a cute little poem with some delightful old illustrations. The opening lines are:

A pretty story I will tell,
Of Nib, a little Mouse,
Who took delight, when none where near,
To skip about the house.

Her little nose could sniff and smell
Where all good things were kept,
And in the pantry well she knew
That mistress Pussy slept.

It's attributed to our old friend, Anonymous. I tried to find out the publication date and it appears to have been 1858. It was published by the McLoughlin Brothers in New York, and if you are the sort of person that likes old quaint poems and artwork, you'll probably like this little download.

As for children liking it: it will probably be hit-or-miss as to the poem, but most older children will probably want to look at the art.

Enjoy,

Pam T~
mom/poetry and mouse lover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated old-fashioned poem, October 20, 2011
By 
Dragon Lady Ness-a "Ness" (Southwest USA, planet earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
This was a charming poem with four full illustrations. Given its age, I feel that older readers would appreciate it more than younger readers. Adults may appreciate its nostalgia, but children may have difficulty relating to the story unless an adult can explain some of the references satisfactorily. Very cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth 99cents!, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book to my 5 year old granddaughter and we dId not like the book. She was Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
Good book to read the kids love the book.
Nice to read as a bed time story,it is a nice book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, April 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
I thought that the book was
nice and had a nice twist to it.
I would recommend it to second graders and first
graders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading age 10 - 15 & up, April 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mouse and the Christmas Cake (ILLUSTRATED) (Kindle Edition)
My 14 year old started reading this series and liked them so much that she bought every new book that came out with her own money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.