The Music Lesson and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$13.60
Qty:1
  • List Price: $16.00
  • Save: $2.40 (15%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Music Lesson: A Spiritual Search for Growth Through Music Paperback – April 1, 2008


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.60
$9.06 $6.85
Best%20Books%20of%202014


Frequently Bought Together

The Music Lesson: A Spiritual Search for Growth Through Music + The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life
Price for both: $23.17

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley Trade (April 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0425220931
  • ISBN-13: 978-0425220931
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.7 x 8.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (180 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #18,016 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"As music lessons go, this one is unique and can be enjoyed by both musicians and general listeners, especially those interested in the arts and creativity." ---AudioFile --This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

About the Author

Victor L. Wooten has won five Grammy Awards and two Nashville Music Awards for Bassist of the Year, and is an original member of the Grammy Award–winning ensemble Bela Fleck & the Flecktones. --This text refers to the Audio CD edition.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

It's an easy read, and I enjoyed the book.
Jonathan D. Harnum
I highly recommend this book not only for bassists, but for all musicians, and especially anyone interested in a better understanding of music, and it's concepts.
I. Chames
This book has changed my music and life more than any other.
dennis

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

58 of 64 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on April 10, 2008
Format: Paperback
Before you read this book, open your mind to the possibility that the universe may be very different from your version of reality. This is not a book about music theory or how to play the bass. It is a wonderful and playful revelation about the relationship between Music and your life. Both will change for the better if you are willing to leave behind what you already think you know.

Victor weaves an unbelievably believable tale which unites ideas about space, time, numbers, and nature into a new view of Music as a living, breathing being. Fans of Richard Bach and Tom Brown, Jr., will enjoy this new perspective on their work.

Frankly, music players who are uncomfortable away from the written page of music will be uncomfortable with this book. Improvisors of all kinds will know you have come home.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful By W. Dent on May 29, 2008
Format: Paperback
I've read and reviewed a book by another musician, Kenny Werner, called 'Effortless Mastery'. Some of the things covered in that book are touched upon in Victor's book, The Music Lesson. However, I must say that Victor has certainly found a way to show us the intangibles of music while demystifying so much of what holds we musicians back from really playing. His treatise on music brings to the fore important elements not usually emphasized in a practicing musician's learning. I found the book to be extremely practical while completely engrossing. Victor's decided approach to the subject at hand is unique, clever, and enjoyable. Much like his character in the book (Victor Wooten), I can't remember the last time I had so much fun learning the 'abc's' of music and more to the point, life itself!

One last comment about the book which I am surprised no one else has mentioned (at least if they did I missed it), and that is the proximity of one Jaco Pastorius to the Michael character. I find myself wanting to ask, is Michael Jaco? I am amazed that that question doesn't seem to be answered at all in the book's pages (again, unless I missed it). Then again, maybe it is so obvious, it is I who am a fool for bringing it up.

Either way, I highly recommend this book for a really great read.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on April 5, 2008
Format: Paperback
I was a bit turned off by the sub-title. I have very little interest in the spiritual perspective of the world's greatest bass player.

I was grateful that I could read the first chapter online, which sets the tone for the entire book.

The Music Lesson is a fun, entertaining exploration of music from a fictional perspective. There are many important lessons and ideas about music in each chapter. Many of these lessons trigger more questions than answers, which is Victor's way of expressing the importance of self-discovery and "finding your own voice".

I was blessed to attend one of Victor's Bass / Nature camps, so I was able to experience Victor's approach to inspiring others to experience music. I learned to get past my academic background of music theory and explore music with the mind of a child.

I still recommend learning theory, but also recommend this book as a fun read and an opportunity to think of music in a refreshing light.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Lucas Clebsch on April 30, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I"m a professional musician. Been playing music for 24 years. This is perhaps the best book about music that I've ever read. If you want to get to a deeper level in your musicianship, read this book. Music is spiritual - that's inescapable. Are you keenly aware of this? Or do you think that's a lot of gobbly goop? Either way, read this book. If you want to understand the types of things that MASTERS of music meditate about music, read this book. I've bought this book 4 times for musician friends. I think it should be required reading for every jazz performance college curriculum in the nation. The best 10 or 20 buck you can spend on music education.

As a teacher, this book gave me a lot of revelation about methodological approach. I have some VERY excited and deeply appreciative students. I'm grateful to Victor Wooten for his influence on me!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By E M Hall on August 13, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Victor Wooten writes well. He's a talented and spiritual musician who has the gift of being able to teach others through his music and words. The Music Lesson is not just about how to play the bass guitar or any other instrument, it is about the allowing of music that already exists and the attitude of spirit when creating that music. A wonderful analogy in the book likens the instrument as simply a medium for allowing the music that is already within you in the same way that a pen or computer allows words from within to be created and written onto paper. The pen is not the holder of the words, the writer is. The guitar is not the holder of the music, the player is...

I give four and half stars to this book because as I read I felt as though I had come across some aspects of the writing elsewhere in the past. When I read the acknowledgements page I saw that indeed, Mr Wooten had been inspired by Neal Donald Walsch's brilliant book, Conversations with God which I read many years ago. For someone who has not read Conversations with God, you will gain much from The Music Lesson.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Enigma Valdez on November 4, 2008
Format: Paperback
This book is truly worth the value. There are other comments about this book being "warmed over new age cliche", but Victor Wooten is a bassist and not a philosopher. This book is clearly intended for a wide range of people with varied backgrounds and belief systems.

This book is an easy read for anyone, high school kids, adults, musicians, virtuosos, fans, and so on.

I was very pleasantly surprised to find that Victor Wooten and I share many of the same spiritual values, but he also gives some valuable insight about musicianship.

For example, within the book you find the very reason why so many of us practice, practice and practice certain techniques for years and years but never really master them.

You'll discover the most important elements of Music that Music Theory leaves out and you'll learn the crucial elements to making any musician successful that is not taught in any school of music.

Victor also explains how some mediocre musicians are so successful and able to move the crowds. I've always thought that if I just learned to be the baddest player I would instantly be successful. That's not the case.

Don't let the simplicity of this book fool you, there are some very deep insights within the book that only come from many years of experience.

The book doesn't necessarily talk about anything new, but it does take you in another direction and can give you a new way of looking at things that you may not have had before. It can help you make those breakthroughs in your playing, practicing and performance.

It can even help you make breakthroughs in other areas of your life, because in reality, this whole universe is nothing but a symphonic of vibrations = Music.

Regards,
Enigma Valdez
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?