Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Informative, and Above All, Very Interesting!
Mysteries of Animal Intelligence is a thoroughly inspiring, if sometimes too fantastic to believe, read. There are so many short stories about how various of animals display their keen intelligence to serve mankind. And there are stories chronicling acts of bravery that have saved humans. Not only limited to just cats and dogs, you will see many kinds of animals in the...
Published on July 28, 2010 by Mr. Math Expert

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New
If you are of a scientific "bent" I would not reccomend this book. I learned very little that I hadn't already picked up by other sources.
Published on March 8, 2007 by JC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, March 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mysteries of Animal Intelligence: True Stories of Animals with Amazing Abilities (Mass Market Paperback)
If you are of a scientific "bent" I would not reccomend this book. I learned very little that I hadn't already picked up by other sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Informative, and Above All, Very Interesting!, July 28, 2010
By 
Mr. Math Expert (Somewhere in New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mysteries of Animal Intelligence: True Stories of Animals with Amazing Abilities (Mass Market Paperback)
Mysteries of Animal Intelligence is a thoroughly inspiring, if sometimes too fantastic to believe, read. There are so many short stories about how various of animals display their keen intelligence to serve mankind. And there are stories chronicling acts of bravery that have saved humans. Not only limited to just cats and dogs, you will see many kinds of animals in the book such as birds, fish, dolphins, whales, monkeys, woodpeckers, beavers, worms, and rhinoceros. Mysteries of Animal Intelligence will talk about birth, life, death, motherly love, feelings, emotions, intelligence, biological development, and behaviors. There is a lot of interesting by-side information as how certain species are like and how things really work with animals. As great as the book is, I didn't like the animal intelligence test in the end of the book, and I found it demeaning and too simplistic. All in all, Mysteries of Animal Intelligence is a wonderful book and a must-read for all animal lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading, April 1, 2009
This review is from: The Mysteries of Animal Intelligence: True Stories of Animals with Amazing Abilities (Mass Market Paperback)
"Nothing New" must have read all the books in the world to have already known everything in this book. I found this book enlightening to say the least and see animals in a new light. They are extremely intelligent, from birds to dogs to whales and dolphins. The book is kind of short so I read it in one day. It's a very good read. It is amazing just how intelligent animals are. We all know they are, but this book gives examples that are simply astounding. There is something new to read in this book and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for any age, November 1, 2000
By A Customer
I started reading this book and liked it immeadiatly. It has tons of imteresting articles and facts about animals. I do not agree with the age level and think it would nbe more appropiate to say third grade and up. Kids under eight might enjoy it as a read alould however, but I wouldn't buy it for someone under six. All in all it's a great read for animal lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, August 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mysteries of Animal Intelligence: True Stories of Animals with Amazing Abilities (Mass Market Paperback)
Not only about dogs and cats but a range of animals across the spectrum.
Information about intelligence and emotion I found quite interesting.
A must read for all pet owners and animal lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animal Intelligence Stories, April 28, 2011
By 
Joy C (Gambrills, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mysteries of Animal Intelligence: True Stories of Animals with Amazing Abilities (Mass Market Paperback)
Recipient enjoyed the book. Information contained was interesting, if slightly stretching credibility, but the quality of the book binding was poor. Newsprint quality pages, etc. Worth the price, but wouldn't have wanted to pay more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mysteries of Animal Intelligence: True Stories of Animals with Amazing Abilities
The Mysteries of Animal Intelligence: True Stories of Animals with Amazing Abilities by Sherry Hansen Steiger (Mass Market Paperback - February 6, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.