Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Best General Introduction to the Topic
This is a good introduction to the misinformation and mythology that pervades our knowledge of crime and criminal justice. I have used this book as a required text when I teach CJ classes. It is perfect as a complement to traditional textbooks and a good read in itself. While I wish the authors would tighten up some sections and extend their coverage to more topics,...
Published on February 16, 2001 by Mark R. Jorgensen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh....
Some of his points are a stretch, especially when he talks about corporate crime. Seems to have a personal axe to grind with some subjects. Also, many of the chapters are simply example after example which is fine except that there is often no substance provided after it. Also, when he quotes someone the next paragraph will just be the exact same thing he quoted...
Published 1 month ago by MARK R WALKER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Best General Introduction to the Topic, February 16, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good introduction to the misinformation and mythology that pervades our knowledge of crime and criminal justice. I have used this book as a required text when I teach CJ classes. It is perfect as a complement to traditional textbooks and a good read in itself. While I wish the authors would tighten up some sections and extend their coverage to more topics, this is the best book of its type available. The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice shows how much of what we think we know just isn't so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True to its Title!, March 11, 2007
This review is from: The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice (Paperback)
If the measure of a good book is ability to stimulate thought then this is a good book! The authors systematically examine a range of common beliefs held about the criminal justice system and illustrate these are either wrong, or at least should be closely scrutinized. They undoubtedly adopt a critical perspective in their analysis, which is very refreshing and a valuable counter to media sensationalism over mythical "superpredators" and other common images. The authors' claims are based on freely available evidence rather than haphazard appeals to "common sense" and as such is a valuable resource to stimulate debate on crime issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TheGraduate, January 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice (Paperback)
Outstanding book...also bought this book for one of my graduate classes. It's an easy reader and very informative. Overrall, I highly recommend people read this book just to gain common knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great discussion and thought generator!, September 12, 2010
This review is from: The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice (Paperback)
I use this book in a general education course "Crime and Justice". It gets the students going and keeps them interested. For those of you who say it is one-sided, challenge yourself or your students to present evidence to the contrary. One of the best I have used in a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some eye opening information here, August 24, 2008
By 
Roger Bagula "Roger L. Bagula" (Lakeside, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
Two things really stick in my mind:
1) There are seven black people in prison for every white one.
2) There are nearly a factor of ten more Americans in jail than Europeans
( the USA has more people in jail than South Africa with that history of
oppression).
The impression this book gives is that the people in power
want the laws the way they are and the people scared.
That crime is under control and the drug problem on the decline
even in minority communities is not information
popular with the industry that supplies materials to
police agencies.
The book leaves you with the impression that corporate /
white collar crime like pollution and fraud are more
the current social problem than child abuse
or mass murders.
This book should be required reading for Republicans?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice, January 6, 2001
By A Customer
This book has a mixture of great writing and interesting content. It's very easy to read, and enhances understanding of problems with propaganda and crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Eh...., June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice (Paperback)
Some of his points are a stretch, especially when he talks about corporate crime. Seems to have a personal axe to grind with some subjects. Also, many of the chapters are simply example after example which is fine except that there is often no substance provided after it. Also, when he quotes someone the next paragraph will just be the exact same thing he quoted reworded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book and service, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice (Paperback)
It was here within about a week, much faster then I was told, and the condition of the book was in much better shape then it stated. I really liked the seller and the book is just really easy to read and following along with. Never read a text book this much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was a required text..., May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice (Paperback)
This book was required as a text, however I grew to love the material presented. It gives great examples and stories and then backs it up with statistical data! One of my best texts so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Bunk to Debunk Conservatives that Believe the War on Drugs works for the United States, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice (Paperback)
Excellent book packed with facts that show the hypocracy that is the United States Drug policies. Not only that it was an excellent text when writing about serial offenders. Also does an excellent job of showing how politicians skew facts to push through unnecessary legislation on a variety of issues. Get your College Knowledge from Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice
The Mythology of Crime and Criminal Justice by Victor E. Kappeler (Paperback - November 12, 2004)
$36.95 $32.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.