Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Naked Marquis
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
Format: Audible Audio Edition|Change
Price:$21.95
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 4, 2006
Major Charles Draysmith, A.K.A. the Marquis of Knightsdale, hadn't expected to become Marquis. His brother had been assigned that role at birth, leaving Charles the army and the more relaxed position of younger son. But when his brother is murdered while touring Italy, Charles is thrown into the one job he really would rather avoid. Since his brother left daughters but no sons, it's also up to Charles to come up with a male heir--and for that he needs a bride. The solution, in Regency England, is to host a house party filled with eligible females--all in all, Charles would rather face Napoleon again.

The perfect solution presents itself almost immediately. Miss Emma Peterson, A.K.A. 'Shadow' had tagged along with Charles and his friends when they'd been young boys. She's all grown up and has become quite beautiful. An instant engagment would let Charles off the hook for the house party, and would let him get back to London, leaving his nieces in Emma's care. Of course, since Emma is all grown up, he'll head back to the ancestral home from time to time to create the heir he needs.

Emma might be in love with Charles, but she isn't willing to accept a proposal that leaves the nieces with an absentee father-figure--and Charles doesn't say anything about loving her. Perhaps throwing a china dog at him was a bit of an over-reaction, however. Still, Charles insists on including Emma in the house party--where he intends to pursue his suit.

In a sub-plot, something, perhaps ghosts, appears to be haunting the ancestral home and a strange man is lurking around the party, obviously looking for something.

Author Sally MacKenzie continues the series she began with THE NAKED DUKE (see our review) with Charles' story. MacKenzie's mix of humor and sensuality, with just a hint of suspense, definitely works in this novel. THE NAKED MARQUIS is a lot of fun. I'm happy to recommend it.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2006
I totally enjoyed this book from page 1. Just a wonderful love story between the two characters, Charles Draysmith and Emma Peterson. This was just the kind of romance novel I love. There are interesting plot twists and we get to know several secondary characters well. The secondary characters are not boring. The chemistry between Charles & Emma was very sensual and immediate. Wonderful love story, great characters with an emotionally scarred hero and strong but vulnerable heroine, unique setting, intriguing plot, heart-tugging emotion, excellent writing, intense sensual love scenes, and a superb ending. The plot was interesting and it kept you interested in what was going to happen next. It has intrigue, passion, revenge, and "wow" sensual tension. Most of all is the character development. I love stories that are character driven and not just about lust. The Naked Marquis is an exquisitely written and sensuous historical this reviewer could not put down! If you what a book that will rock your socks here one!!!!!

I really like The Naked Marquis much better than the first book The Naked Duke. The Naked Duke was good but was lacking in a few parts. There is NO lacking in The Naked Marquis. It's perfect romance. Funny, sweet, hot and sexy. I CAN'T WAIT UNTIL Sally Mackenzie next book comes out!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
Funny story of a Lord who tries to woo a stubborn governess who was a childhood friend. He gets himself into ridiculous situations as he tries to prove himself to her. The children the governess cares for try to help him (they are his nieces), but that doesn't work out either. Quite a nice love story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2006
This book is not my usual read. I've lost a good bit of interest in reading historicals...But this one caught my eye because of the title. And then I read the little excerpt on the inside page and just couldn't resist.

It turned out to be a good gamble. The book was light and funny and I very much enjoyed reading it. The hero was very amusing in his persuit of the Heroine. His aunt, though, stole the show with her hilarious out-spoken manner. I laughed out loud whenever she was in a scene.

I had one tiny little issue though. At one point in the book the hero mentions a condom and he calls it a "condom". WTF? While mechanical contraception did exist in the time period, they were NOT called Condoms. This is a modern term and it was totally off for him to use it. *climbs down off soap box*
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 11, 2015
I got this by mistake (I don't often pay this much for Kindle downloads). It seems that one can select and purchase (with one click ordering) just by hovering with your finger over the selection. That's what I get for dithering ('will I or won't I spend the money? My credit card is rather hard hit this month...') But this was very entertaining. I enjoyed the characters, the premise was interesting, there were a few extra fillips of excitement in the plot twists. It was one of those forget the chores and wallow in the book selections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
I have to agree with the 2 star review about Emma being sooo naive. Her 17 year old sister, Meg, seemed to know more than Emma did. But it was still a great read, I really liked Charles and it was nice to see Sarah, James and Robbie again. I think what made this such a good read was having a little mystery and murder along with the love story. I do get tired of just a silly love story with sooo many misunderstandings and sooo much angst, it makes for such a long-winded story and sooo much boring reading.
This was so much better. Stockley was such a creep from his first appearence then all the way through the book. He was a great bad-guy. Now, it's time to read Robbie's story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2006
Major Charles Draysmith, after returning from the continent, receives news that he has just become the new Marquis of Knightsdale. His brother and wife were killed in Italy and have left two daughters (Isabel 6 and Claire 4) orphans. Its the last thing Charles wants to hear and dreads his new status (being a prime target for marriage minded debutantes) and estate responsibilities. Charles goes to Knightsdale and finds that his nieces were sorely neglected by their parents. He is shocked to find that Emma, the vicar's daughter and *runt* that used to follow him around as a child, is the girl's temporary governess. To avoid getting caught in the claws of the ton mamas, he has the brilliant idea and proposes to Emma. Why? Well just because she's good looking and gets along well with the girls. His plan is to wed, bed, and leave Emma and the girls in Kent. Emma, being in love with Charles since she was six, is furious for him being so shallow -and never mention he doesn't love her- and therefore rejects him. The rest of the book is about Charles's, and several other hilarious characters, attempt to convince Emma to accept his suit. There's a bit of mystery about a certain house guest too.

This book is exactly what you'd expect from the title, a humoruos bit of romantic fluff. I laughed alot while reading this book. The herione is completely naive when it comes to the opposite sex and the goings on in the bedroom, but amusingly so. The girls are super cute with their attemps in getting the two of their favorite people together. Its wonderful to see how Charles grows into a loving Uncle and his realization that he truly loves Emma.

If like intelligent, well written, roller coaster of emotions -type romance, like Judith McNaught, then skip this one. But if you want to laugh out loud and giggle/blush, then this book is an afternoon well spent.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Emma Peterson's mother died when Emma was nine. Emma took care of her vicar father and raised her baby sister, naturally taking charge. Now she's twenty-six and still single, her sister will get a Season soon and hasn't needed Emma for a while. Emma's father has a lady friend, causing Emma angry, jealous feelings.

Major Charles Draysmith becomes the Marquis of Knightsdale when his older brother and sister-in-law are murdered in Italy. He not only comes into the lands, money and title but he also inherits charge of his two young nieces. Emma is their substitute governess when Charles comes home.

Charles' aunt has arranged a house party for Charles to look over potential wife candidates. Charles and Emma remember each other, were children together, she having a huge crush on him. Now, all these years later, Charles sees her and decides she would be perfect for him: He'll get a wife, his nieces will have a mother, he'll only be home long enough to get her pregnant and then he'll be back to London. He's got it all figured out, except Emma won't marry him. Charles uses many seductive tricks to convince her to marry him.

This book was the group choice of my reading group, otherwise I'd never have read it. I forced myself through the first book, THE NAKED DUKE, and didn't care for it. I liked this one even less. I rolled my eyes so much I think I pulled something.

I skimmed after page 207 - it's totally unbelievable she's *that* naive. And she slapped him twice, threw things at him and spurned him constantly. WHAT?!! Why would he put himself through that torture? Why did I put myself through it? Well, I've learned my lesson after reading both NAKED books and won't be reading this author again. Enough is enough.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
The story started off light hearted. Charles is new to his title and looking for a wife. Emma is a childhood friend who would solve Charles' problem. Her reaction to his less than romantic proposal was the highlight of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2006
In this, the second in "The Naked" aristocrat series, Charles Draysmith, handsome rogue, becomes the Marquis of Knightsdale after the death of his brother and sister-in-law. He needs to marry soon to acquire the necessary heir and spare and is hounded by marriage minded mammas and their daughters. He has little interest in their pursuit and escapes to his country estate to handle estate business and reunite with his nieces, Claire and Isabelle. Little did he realize that he would be reunited with his childhood friend and vicar's daugther, Miss Emma Peterson, who is now Claire and Isabelle's governess. He has immediate lust for Emma and decides she would be the perfect escape from the marriage mart. As his wife, Emma could stay at home and tend the children while he was off in London at his usual rogue pursuits. Emma, who has loved Charles since the age of six, is outraged at his plan. As Charles plans his seduction, Emma desiring to be more than a breeder, is more than reluctant to any advances. His pursuit is a hilarious romantic romp. The sparks fly and each page is a sensual adventure, but this romance has so much more! Ms. MacKenzie has a talent for writing such warmth and depth to each character that the reader is utterly captivated. Claire and Isabelle are a joy. As marriage minded ladies of the ton and their mamas arrive at the estate for a house party, Claire, Isabelle and Charles's Aunt Bea join forces to do away with Emma's competition and play cupid in order to bring Charles and Emma together. Their antics will make you laugh out loud. As Charles realizes he truly loves Emma, as well as his nieces, his antics to get Emma to accept his marriage proposal are even more entertaining. There is suspense as well, as Charles and Emma are in danger and the story builds to a suspenseful ending and a murder is also solved. This story has it all and is so entertaining and fun to read. It's the perfect summer romance! I look forward to the next in the series, The Naked Earl. I also recommend the first in the series, The Naked Duke.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.