Customer Reviews


364 Reviews
5 star:
 (317)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough!!!!!
I've been a bookseller, librarian, mother and read-aloud volunteer and this is my absolute favorite children's book for curling up with and reading to a young child. Cumulative, predictable (something young children enjoy) and engaging, The Napping House is terrific. The child in the story could be a boy or a girl. It opens and closes with an inviting look at the...
Published on July 13, 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too drawn out
I am an avid reader and am trying to instill this in my son. I purchased this book because the ratings were extremely high. However, once I opened this book, I was quite disappointed. It goes on and on and is not very rhythmic; in fact, my 2 and a 1/2 year old son told me that he did not like the book.
Published 10 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough!!!!!, July 13, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Napping House (Hardcover)
I've been a bookseller, librarian, mother and read-aloud volunteer and this is my absolute favorite children's book for curling up with and reading to a young child. Cumulative, predictable (something young children enjoy) and engaging, The Napping House is terrific. The child in the story could be a boy or a girl. It opens and closes with an inviting look at the exterior of an old fashioned home (which looks like the author's home, BTW). Inside the house, everyone is alseep, but there's soooo much going on here. The characters are changing positions. The changes in perspective and the light as the book progresses make it interesting. The illustrations are amazing, detailed, beautiful, and at the same time humorous. And the Granny! You've got to love this Granny. She there just snoring, wearing her bed cap, nightgown and stockings (with reinforced toes & heels). She has all of these characters piling up on her and when the bed breaks, instead of looking mad or alarmed, she just looks like she's having a grand time. After you get this book, you'll want King Bidgood's in the Bathtub, and Piggies also by the Woods. And if your child likes things a bit scary try Heckedy Peg. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bedtime fare, October 18, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Napping House (Board book)
Ah, is there anything more relaxing than a cozy nap in a warm house on a rainy day? Every inhabitant of the The Napping House manages to pile on to granny's bed for a few sociable ZZZZZs, until that damnable wakeful flea appears! If you remember cumulative stories such as "the old woman who swallowed the fly (I don't know why she swallowed that fly)", then you'll know what to expect from this charming and funny book. The illustrations are tremendous, and will keep the book fresh even after many readings. This is a book that an adult reader will enjoy, too. The board book is sturdy and easy to clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read at Bedtime, October 28, 2000
This review is from: The Napping House (Board book)
This is the Napping House, where everyone is sleeping. It's dark, raining and very subdued. First there's the cozy bed, followed by the snoring granny, the dreaming child, dozing dog, snoozing cat, slumbering mouse and finally, the wakeful flea. And then the wakeful flea bites the mouse... The team of Audrey and Don Woods has put together a wonderful, gentle bedtime story pre-schoolers will want to hear again and again. With easy to read, repetitive text and beautifully detailed, expressive illustrations, youngsters watch the ever growing pile of sleeping bodies move, change position and then slowly lighten and brighten as one by one, everyone wakes up. As the book ends, the last page shows the napping house where no one is sleeping. It's sunny and cheerful with a rainbow in the sky. This is a classic the whole family will enjoy and a must for all home libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can You Find The Flea?, January 22, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Napping House (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book, not only for its words, but of course for its pictures as well. I've read it to all of my nieces and nephews, ages two to ten, and they've all gotten something out of it. I especially like to get the children to follow the pictures and let me worry about the words, and this book makes it easy to do so. Talk to your kids about the pictures; there's so much to see! The little girl and the granny change positions while napping, the dog gets added, then the cat, then the mouse. And, see if they can find the flea! It's great fun, and by the time the sun comes bursting its way into the room after the story's rainstorm, you'll be a whole lot closer to your kids. It's a great book for snuggling up with in bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book (but get a larger version), January 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Napping House (Board book)
My toddler son just loves this book, and he's memorized many of the lines. He asks for it often at bedtime, and i never get tired of reading it with him because it's so darned cute. But as another reviewer noted, the board book version is rather small. I was disappointed when i saw a larger version (still board pages) in a store. I'd go for that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Napping on the job, February 6, 2004
This review is from: The Napping House (Board book)
I'm not sure exactly how to recommend this book. At the very beginning it's the perfect story to read to any child you want to put to bed. Halfway through, however, it becomes a lively rollicking/jumping/bouncing kind of tale. The premise follows a grandmother, her grandchild, a dog, a cat, a mouse and a flea as they all nap (save the flea) on a wet and rainy afternoon. Slowly, one by one they crawl on top of one another to sleep. Quickly, one by one, they wake one another due to the untimely flea bite the mouse acquired.
Don Wood, the illustrator, has done wonders with the light in these scenes. The dreary drizzly afternoon pours steadily, making the reader really want to snuggle up in a warm bed too. Then also, his drawings are quite clever. Each character appears in every single spread. The flea is represented more as a circular black dot with a halo about it. Almost as if the flea was lit from inside. Kids will probably enjoy locating the mouse and the flea in each and every picture as the scenes change and the characters toss and turn in bed. In the end, I was particularly taken with the grandmother. Sleeping in her nylon-like socks, her reaction upon falling back upon her bed and breaking it is one of pure joy. Atta girl, grandma! In that second to last scene in the book, daylight streams into the room, the blue walls now a cheery and dazzling yellow. Any child uncertain of the benefits of napping (of which there may be one or two) will enjoy seeing how lively and boisterous the characters are after getting a good afternoon's rest. The last page of the book speaks volumes for the benefits of sleep. A marvelous story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is a House,a Napping House,where everyone is sleeping., August 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Napping House (Hardcover)
Not Long ago, I was at a pizza party at my High School. A classmate recited the entire story-in-rhyme to me. She had read it in the school library. Then I went and told Mrs Weyers, one of the teachers in the student club, about the book. She said that she loved that book. When her kids (now into their twenties) were little and their granny would visit, Granny would say, "It's time to be quiet, because this is the napping house." Mrs Weyers will be glad to know that it is still in print, because she desperately wants to acquire some copies in preperation for grandchildren someday.--Robert Metz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Adorable Book, December 28, 1999
This review is from: Napping House (Hardcover)
My 2-year old daughter loves this book, and insists on reading it every night. We have several books by Audrey and Don Wood, and as always this is creatively written with wonderful illustrations. It's the perfect length for a bedtime story, and it becomes more and more fun each night, as we now recite the book together. Fun, humor, and creativity - you can't ask for much more in a children's picture book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful art and peaceful story make a great combo, August 26, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Napping House (Hardcover)
The Napping House covers a whole family falling asleep: granny, child, dog, cat, mouse... until the wakeful flea bites the mouse... and then everyone wakes up! Audrey and Don Woods have written a gentle bedtime story pre-schoolers will want to hear over and over. The text is easy to read and repetitive, perfect for young children. The gorgeous, expressive and detailed illustrations, provide enjoyment to children and to adults alike. It's fun to sit and just look at the pictures and point out the details that are there. My kids love that! This is a classic book and is a wonderful addition to anyone's library. I've used it sucessfully in children's literacy programs - kids never seem to get tired of reading it and looking at the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soothing Music Accompanies Great Classic, February 25, 2006
By 
Bookworm Mom (Fredericksburg,VA) - See all my reviews
This book has always been one of my children's favorites, and now they like it even more. The accompanying CD really helps create the mood of the story, with a smooth narration, soothing music, and the sound of rain in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Napping House (Board book)
The Napping House (Board book) by Audrey Wood (Paperback - 2000)
Used & New from: $4.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.