Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 28, 2007
The Nation is the National Review of the left, so don't subscribe if you're not interested in what the American left has to say. My assumption that anyone considering subscribing to the Kindle edition of the Nation already knows what the editorial policies of the magazine are and are wondering about the Kindle edition.

The print edition of the Nation is not a glossy magazine and does not rely heavily on graphics, so it's well suited to the Kindle format. Even though Kindle does support jpegs and could handle far more graphical content that is supplied with other magazines and newspaper Kindle subscriptions, this isn't as problematic with the Nation as it, say, with the New York Times, where very few pictures or charts are included with articles, even in cases where the articles make reference to charts that aren't produced.

Further, the price is right here. You're paying less for four issues the Nation than you are for several of the monthly magazines that they're offering Kindle subscriptions for.

Of course, why they take out the advertisements, graphics, etc, in the Kindle editions of these magazine continues to amaze me. The Nation's classifieds, which could easily be included in the Kindle are almost always a fun read.
1010 comments| 256 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2008
If you're not familiar with the content of The Nation, that's for you to discover via the free 2-week trial, or on their website.

The Nation is a perfect fit for the Kindle format.

- It's all text (making Kindle formatting a snap)
- It's serious (articles are of decent length and depth)
- It's a weekly, so there's no need to leave your wireless on all the time
- It's cheap, and would be good deal even if it weren't -- the Kindle subscription costs exactly half of the dead-tree edition.

To me, it makes a lot more sense to get this slim little pamphlet electronically than on paper. It's still portable, but much more green and mess-free on the Kindle. The 150-year-old magazine is a wonderful complement to the Washington Post.
0Comment| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 10, 2008
Because there really are very few good liberal/progressive publications available for the Kindle (or anywhere, for that matter), I subscribe to/support two "political" Kindle periodicals, The Nation and DailyKos. (For the more right-wing fare, I go read it free online.)

The Nation's issues are well organized, sometimes thematically linked, and the articles well written with ample depth. I find myself learning about global issues that normally are not even touched on in the usual "lowest common denominator" fare on TV. Happenings in the arts and sciences are also covered.

The Nation comes out once a week, which I find to be a good rate of publication for a magazine of this type. You don't get the breathless "breaking news" type of reporting (a la Wolf Blitzer) in The Nation, which I find refreshing, but the issues are current and usually of considerable importance. The editors have time to be editors and the writers have time to do their homework. It's a more measured, intelligent approach to the world than we've gotten used to with cable news and screaming-head blogs.

I do not find The Nation to be all that left-wing. On the contrary, I find a balance of perspectives from left (mostly left-of-center) to center-right. Importantly, there are no "Screaming of the Extremists" portions. There are well-articulated viewpoints and the occasional intelligent debate. I'd like to see more of that tone in our general discourse.

The Nation works great on the Kindle, and I find it very easy to get around each issue. So far, I have not encountered any typos either! I appreciate the work that goes into each issue.
44 comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 24, 2008
This is a great magazine! Well-researched, well-argued, well-written. It presents a wide range of political opinions, from those of staunch Obama supporters to the views of those who question his commitment to real change. Ideologically, it leans strongly towards progressive values. However, the tone of the articles is always calm and measured. It is very refreshing to read a political magazine that never resorts to outbursts of hysteria, which often characterizes today's political discourse. Every issue ends with reviews of interesting books on history, politics, cultural studies, philosophy, or literary criticism.

The Nation works great on Kindle. The presentation is convenient and very easy to navigate. If you subscribe to the Kindle edition, you will get it before your friends do, which is a greata added bonus. And at this price, it's a very good deal.

[...]
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 6, 2008
Unlike most of the other magazines offered thus far for Kindle owners, the print version of The Nation contains very few illustrations or photographs, making it an ideal product for the Kindle.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2009
Here we have the often talked about Liberal media finally represented.
Gives the progressive view and perspective always thoughtful and provocative. A Gold mine of information you can find nowhere else. It is the New Yorker for the left.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2010
I give this Kindle magazine a four star review because it is an excellent value. It's refreshing to see a well-written magazine published on the Kindle for a fair price. The articles present well on the Kindle, and it's obvious that some attention has been paid to formatting for display on the device. It's still more fun to read this magazine in the print edition than on the Kindle, but if anything that is due to the technical limitations of the Kindle (and most e-readers in general) and should not be held against the Kindle edition of The Nation. Someday, in the future, a larger, multi-columned color display Kindle will do this magazine better justice.

Yes, it is true that this magazine does come from a liberal perspective. I hope that other reviewers will evaluate this magazine fairly, based on its value and formatting for the Kindle, rather than its ideological perspective.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2008
- and in hand with it. As refreshing as a magazine engaged with our dreary political scene can be, it well earns each month's 149 cents.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2010
I am continually impressed by the writing in The Nation. Week after week this magazine devotes itself to well researched articles that affect our country, our culture and the world at large. All articles are extremely well documented, in depth, and extremely well written. You'll find no bumper sticker mentality here. What I like best about The Nation is how I am intellectually stretched by its content. They don't just report the news. It's the depth of analysis that they do so well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2010
The Nation on the Kindle is excellent. The articles in The Nation inspire thoughtful consideration by the reader of the issues most pressing for our nation. While one may not always agree with an author's point of view, reading opinions of those with which we may disagree is healthy. I'm always impressed by the arguements put forward on any given issue in The Nation -- there is always a point or two I never considered or do not recall being discussed elsewhere. It's wonderful to read intelligent, repectful discussions that place the human intelect above fear and the convenient political talking points of the day.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$21.99
$1.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.