Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate funny coffee table book!
This book is a hoot! I found it at a bed and breakfast I stayed at on their coffee table and it gave me quite a few chuckles. I guess this is what victorians did before tivo....
Published on June 12, 2000 by MP

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor delivery & quality of book
the book was received after 30 days and missed the birthday it was planned for
I was unable to track the book
It was used and in poor condition

VERY disappointed all the way round
Published 18 months ago by Dorothy Mulholland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate funny coffee table book!, June 12, 2000
By 
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
This book is a hoot! I found it at a bed and breakfast I stayed at on their coffee table and it gave me quite a few chuckles. I guess this is what victorians did before tivo....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's down under?, October 13, 2009
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
I was sort of stuck for a title for this Review,until I noticed that the author,Burton Silver, was from New Zealand.So,who better to inform us about what's down under than someone from "Down Under"?
This is a great little tome,and would make a good gift for someone who has a sense of humor ,but a very short attention span.I am sure you've heard the expression;"I was going to buy him a book;but then I remembered he already had one".Well,this is just the perfect gift for him.It will not only amuse him;but will greatly challenge his dexterity;especially if he tries to show you some of these great "Works of Art" while at the same time trying to manupliate a can of beer in his other hand.
It is hardly the sort of "Naughty Victorian Erotic Humor"" one would expect to find,but is funny nontheless. Maybe it would cause a great flap in a Convent ;were the Mother Superior to find some of her Novicates giggling over it during their recreation periods.
For those who are always looking for a little more depth in their humor;I suggest you try to figure out the titles for the illustrations.The last one in the book,of a little girl ,opening a door and finding Santa Claus in the process of getting dressed;is priceless;but the title "Farmer's Fold--Fundamentum rotrotundum" pretty much escapes me.
After finishing this book,I wondered what else this author had produced in his great literary career;and was surprised to find that he was the one responsible for a great piece of work for Birdwatchers at large or even astute Ornithologists.
To find out what that is all about ,see my Review of "What Bird Did That? ,posted on October 19,2005.These two books alone,could constitude a reference library for someone who is posessed with an overabundance of time and underutilized imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are easily offended by off-color humor, do NOT buy this book!, February 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
IF you have a ribald, "off color," "earthy" sense of humor or simply a dirty mind, you will love this book. There are no words, per se. It is not a book to be read. It is not a book of written jokes. Each page depicts a common scene from daily Victorian life. By following the simply instructions for hand placement under the page and aligned with a cut out on each page, you turn these common scenes into something somewhat obscene (depending on what is in your mind). The book is very entertaining and a great "gag" gift.

NOTE: if you are easily offended by off-color humor, do NOT buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your creative juices flowing ;), March 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
I purchased this book on a whim and I am glad I did. It is fascinating and amusing. The humor is a bit juvenile but don't we all need a little bit of that once in a while? Everyone who I've shared it with gets. at the very least, a giggle or two out of it. My mother absolutely loves it. If you are looking for a good book for your coffee table, bathroom, or an unforgettable gift, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect accent for your parlor table, December 9, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
The Victorians were prudes? You'll never look at old engravings with an innocent mind again. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and fun, February 22, 2008
By 
Laker1 (Medford Lakes, NJ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
Introduce this to your friends at the next party! They won't put it down. Good, clean Victorian giggles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Much Fun!, December 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
This is one of those gifts you buy when you have no idea what to get someone. Rich or poor, man or woman, the book is a hoot. The only thing you probably need is a silly sense of humor. I first bought it for my father maybe 30 years ago because I was tired of buying him ties. He loved it. Now I bought it for my nieces' beau. I think he'll love it, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious., June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
This is a very creative, funny book. It juxtaposes the staid Victorian Times with your own home made custom commentary using parts of your fingers and hands and the results are side-splitting. It's not dirty or pornographic. It is only slightly naughty and bawdy. Nonetheless use good judgment when breaking it out for laughs as only the most tender noses will get out of joint over this giggle-fest but they are out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Juvinile fun, April 30, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
Ok, so the hand jokes in this book are a tad sophmoric, but hey, I still laughed. Also, some of the more risque hand poses aren't included. This is pretty tame, but dang funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor delivery & quality of book, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation (Paperback)
the book was received after 30 days and missed the birthday it was planned for
I was unable to track the book
It was used and in poor condition

VERY disappointed all the way round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Naughty Victorian Hand Book: The Rediscovered Art of Erotic Hand Manipulation
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.