Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Simple and the Elegant
Pat and Gina Neely, who have done their own food show, a previous cookbook and opened a restaurant - have made a cookbook to take you through a year's celebrations It has about 146 recipes, many with the kicked up flavors that include red peppers and tabasco sauce (which you could leave out or reduce, if you are adverse to them).
The celebrations are divided by month...
Published on November 4, 2011 by wogan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's Cook
I am from the SOUTH and most of these recipes and the book were a little too fancy for me. I like simple. Saw them on Steve Harvey's talk show, so thought I would buy the book.
Published 9 months ago by Banjo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Simple and the Elegant, November 4, 2011
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
Pat and Gina Neely, who have done their own food show, a previous cookbook and opened a restaurant - have made a cookbook to take you through a year's celebrations It has about 146 recipes, many with the kicked up flavors that include red peppers and tabasco sauce (which you could leave out or reduce, if you are adverse to them).
The celebrations are divided by month and include menus for occasions such as; New Year's Eve, Super Bowl Sunday, a 21st birthday, Valentine's Day, Welcome home , March Madness, Movie night, Easter, Mother's Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Girl's Night, Labor Day, Back to School, and of course Christmas. Each holiday has a menu and the recipes. A personal introduction is given for each section and also a few sentences about each recipe. Serving sizes are given and an icon shows if it takes more than 1 hour for preparation. Many of the recipes that are written for frying, like the deep-fried Cornish game hens also have an alternative on baking them - a really considerate addition for those who do not like frying or are trying to cut down on fried foods. There is help when needed, such as Pat's guide to deep frying.

Recipes are also listed by course; although you can look them up in the index it would have been nice to have included the page numbers. An index lists by type of dish, name and main ingredient.
We have already tried the Hoppin' John and it is the best recipe for that, that I have run across, as is the hot crab and mushroom dip.

Pat and Gina also list 10 top party hints. The one for guys begins sensibly enough with #1. If Mama ain't happy, ain't nobody happy.
Some of the menus are for simple gathering, some for more elegant, but what is wonderful, is the emphasis on family and friends and gathering together to enjoy some good food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Neely's Return With Recipes & Moments That Make You Want To Celebrate, November 2, 2011
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
One thing you can always expect from Neelys is their ability to combine great food with family, friends and moments you are not sure to forget. In their latest book THE NEELYS' CELEBRATION COOKBOOK they take us through each month of the year and share recipes that are just right for any event or occasion you might be planning for.

Written in their voice with a beautiful collection of photos of the couple and those closest to them, the book is more than just about food. You can feel the love that goes into each recipe as well as the love as it is portrayed through those preparing it. There's no wonder that the couple has found success in doing something they enjoy and are great at and have been able to share it with all of us.

This is one of those books I can see members of the family not only using together in the kitchen but just gathering around to thumb through looking at the pictures. It is just that kind of book that you want to share, something that the authors know alot about. Presented with loving care, THE NEELYS' CELEBRATION COOKBOOK gets you in the mood to celebrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOUTHERN FOOD AND HOSPITALITY, November 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
The Neeley's are a wonderful couple. There new cookbook is full of awesome recipes and family stories of celebrating with food. Love it! Highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adventure for your kitchen- great book!, December 23, 2011
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
If you can not find something in this cookbook to start your mouth drooling, then you obviously did not open up this book. What I like most about the Neely's recipes are that they are made with simple ingredients that most people have in their cupboards, the instructions are easy to follow and the recipes are something most people would typically fix or fix for a special occasion. I loved the Easy If-Ya-Ain't-Got-a-Smoker BBQ Pork, Grilled Shrimp & Pineapple Skewers, Fried Chicken Sliders with Sweet-Pickle Mayo and Honey BBQ Sticky Drumsticks. This book is sectioned off by months of the year and there are recipes for each month based on what type of holiday or celebration you could be celebrating that month(graduation, Girl's Night, Back to School, Tailgating, 16th birthday, Super Bowl, etc.). Each month has 2 or 3 different celebrations with different recipes for each celebration (yes, lots of recipes!). Great drink ideas too: Minted Iced Tea,Peach Sprtizer, Shot of Love, Blood Orange Bellinis,etc. they are just great and such a great variety. The dessert are just wonderful too! Some of the recipes in the book are deep-fried and I am not a big deep-frier and I was really excited to see that at the bottom of a lot of these recipes they had separate directions on how to make these recipes in the oven. Each recipe also has its own tidbit of information at the top of the page to help you create the recipe. The Neely's start off each month's section with commentary about the celebrations of the month and their personal take on them and that is what makes the Neely's so special and the cookbook something you're glad you embarked on. It's not just a cookbook, it's an adventure in your kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cook book, December 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I just love this cook book..great dishes..best BBQ sauce , I make it all the time. I would for sure tell people to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, April 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
This book is their best yet. I'm a huge fan of the Neely's and I think the pictures along with the personal stories for each occasion makes it so special......great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, March 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I loved the stories they shared and the recipes. I will be using some of the recipes. I loved the menu for Easter and will be making it for my family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased!, February 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I really loved this cook book! Great recipes...I've only cooked 3 things so far, but I'm looking forward to cooking more dishes. GREAT CHOICE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Neely's Celebration book, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I truely enjoy cooking from this book. There is so many mouth watering recies, all the yummy looking pictures of the food. Their recipes is good. I purchased their first book several years ago and know that I need to buy this book as well. I enjoy watching their show on the Foodnetwork. I cooked a few recipes from this book and they are yummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neelys' 2nd cookbook, January 6, 2012
By 
Ed Pollock (Julian, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
This is my second Neely's cookbook. I like the first better. That is not to critique this book, just personal preference. This is another well done cookbook, featuring old family favorites, often updated for today's cooking styles. Very nice and fitting family photos are included. I have a friend who really enjoyed this volume, so away it went as a Christmas gift. Oh well, my new copy is just an order away.
Enjoy and try the recipes, just good down home cooking and eats in special settings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion
The Neelys' Celebration Cookbook: Down-Home Meals for Every Occasion by Patrick Neely (Hardcover - November 1, 2011)
$28.95 $20.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.