Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Nonprofits Engaging in Social Media
I had an opportunity to read a copy of Beth and Allison's book and it's filled with great resources and tips on how to really engage constituents and measure your impact. I also appreciated the style of the writing - very straight forward and not full of marketing jargon that so many other books utilize.

I would encourage all nonprofit campaigners to read the...
Published on June 19, 2010 by Allyson Kapin

versus
38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A potentially useful primer, but not what I expected from Fine & Kanter
Allison Fine and Beth Kanter have impressed me with their perspective and insight into the opportunities that evolving technologies represent for the nonprofit sector. I read Momentum in 2006, and have read Kanter's blog for years, so I was excited to read this book. I was disappointed to learn that it offered nothing that hasn't been portrayed in their earlier works,...
Published on October 5, 2010 by Anthony H. Shawcross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A potentially useful primer, but not what I expected from Fine & Kanter, October 5, 2010
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
Allison Fine and Beth Kanter have impressed me with their perspective and insight into the opportunities that evolving technologies represent for the nonprofit sector. I read Momentum in 2006, and have read Kanter's blog for years, so I was excited to read this book. I was disappointed to learn that it offered nothing that hasn't been portrayed in their earlier works, and found it to be a rudimentary introduction that had no compelling crux bringing everything together.
While the book might be useful for those who are looking for an introduction to the promise of social networks for nonprofits, I actually found Momentum to be better-organized and more compelling (and still relevant), and have found more useful info (though no better organized) in Beth's top-ten blog posts [...]. There seemed to be little original research behind this book, only interesting-but-anecdotal examples of successes and trends in the nonprofit sector, and no comprehensive explorations of results experienced across any range of organizations (time-savings, increased expenses, cost-shifts, increased membership, etc).
I don't think nonprofits will find this book useful as a guide for how to replicate the examples provided, though it will help open their eyes to the same new ways of thinking that are presented in Momentum and Beth's Blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Nonprofits Engaging in Social Media, June 19, 2010
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
I had an opportunity to read a copy of Beth and Allison's book and it's filled with great resources and tips on how to really engage constituents and measure your impact. I also appreciated the style of the writing - very straight forward and not full of marketing jargon that so many other books utilize.

I would encourage all nonprofit campaigners to read the book, particularly Executive Directors, many who are still struggling to understand and navigate the online world and building online communities.

PS: I added my above comment to the discussion section as well but since it's more of a review I thought it was appropriate to have it here too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to become a Networked Nonprofit? Think Culture vs. Technology., June 17, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
The Networked Nonprofit by Beth Kanter and Allison Fine is an important read as it reminds us that success in social media is both a cultural and a technological issue. And, we need to stop just focusing on the "bells and whistles."

I particularly liked the chapter, "Creating a Social Culture." Before diving into social media it makes sense to have internal discussions about what the organization stands for, how it treats "insiders" and "outsiders," and to address fears about social media. This has to happen at the highest levels of the organization or social media efforts will fall flat.

Kanter and Fine also make the case that "free agents"- people working on social change outside of organizations - are here to stay and can be a nonprofit's best ally in achieving it's goals. All nonprofits should identify and befriend their free agents and encourage them to leverage their networks, ideas, and passion for the cause.

In short, this book will help you deal with the organizational landmines that you'll inevitably traverse if you want to become a "Networked Nonprofit" that works smarter, faster and is truly making lasting change in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Report: The Networked Nonprofit, October 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
Posted on Tobi's Nonprofit Management Blog ([...]) October 21, 2010

If you're wondering whether social media is just a fad, getting ready to dip your toe into the proverbial pool, or you've already taken the plunge and aren't getting results you hoped for, this book is for you.

Beth Kanter and Allison Fine, two leaders in nonprofit technology circles, recently published The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change. The book is split into two sections -- the first covering what it means to be a networked nonprofit and the second offers tips and case studies of how to work in a networked way.

Why It's a Good Read

Here are two reasons to spend a weekend on the couch reading -- one, because there aren't many good books out there that address nonprofit management needs beyond the basic level. This book is a refreshing change. More important, though, are Kanter and Fine's critical connections between the use of social media and the daunting challenges our sector faces in an evolving world. We are witnessing a sea change in the way leading organizations engage the public in solving societal problems.

If you're looking for a step-by-step guide on how to set up a Facebook page, this isn't it. Although it's chock full of tips, advice, and case studies, the book is more intriguing as a treatise on where we find ourselves today and where we need to head in the future.

Four Big Ideas from the Book

"Networked nonprofits are easy for outsiders to get in and insiders to get out." -- This goes beyond breaking down internal silos and sharing your annual report on a website. They point to a level of transparency and organizational "porousness" that is revolutionary. Trust me. It will give you pause.

"Nonprofits and the people within them have too much to do because they try to do too much as stand-alone organizations." -- Kanter and Fine assert that organizations, whether they realize it or not, are part of a larger ecosystem of individuals and groups at work. The coordination of this larger network is what is needed to tackle the complex issues we face today. Moreover, people aren't asking for our permission. They'll continue the work, with or without our support.

"Social media is a contact sport, not a spectator sport." -- Some organizations are already on the bandwagon, but they still use social media the same old way -- to send one-way information blasts. Two-way conversation is the key that unlocks the gate of engagement.

"There is no one-size-fits-all friendship." -- Social media tools don't create relationships, people do. And, it's appropriate to ask for different things at different levels of a relationship. Kanter and Fine share a model called the Ladder of Engagement. It's a helpful way to look at how to deepen support and resources, whether you need volunteers, donations, or both.

Finally, the book also includes reflection questions at the end of each chapter. If you are expecting resistance to social media at the office, these questions might help get the conversation started in a meaningful way.

As a footnote, I'm hoping that when the second edition is published, they'll add an entire chapter on program evaluation using networks. Right now I'm helping develop a performance improvement system. It makes me wonder. Who's using social media to involve stakeholders in program evaluation and how? Can social media help us make program improvements in a truly authentic and participatory way? Once we understand what we need to change, how can we continue to engage our network in supporting the transformation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
I liked the book. It was, however, more of a "why to" as opposed to a "how to" book. I would have like a little more "how to" I am new to the whole network process and would like a little more information to get me started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready to let them inside the box? Then network your non-profit with social media, November 2, 2011
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
After reading The Networked Nonprofit by Beth Kanter and Allison Fine it is clear that social media is not merely another tool in the marketing arsenal. Yes, it can help you reach your target audiences, but it is much, much more. Social media is actually a way of thinking and engaging that can break open the box that constrains non-profits.

That is refreshing and scary. In the conclusion of the chapter "Creating a Social Culture" the authors note: "Shifting the culture of an organization is not just about having new ideas or working with new tools; it means actually thinking about the work and organization fundamentally differently. Organizations need to practice being social and engaging with the outside world."

The book underscores that we are witnessing a sea change in the way organizations engage the public. Rather than hiding from the criticisms of bloggers and tech-savvy citizens ranting online, venerable organization like the American Red Cross are finding ways to implement social media to engage their critics in conversation. Yes, blog posts, comments on Face book, tweets and other online tools give naysayers a voice, but they also give non-profits the chance to bat back misconceptions and inaccurate information and educate the broader public at the same time.

The rub? The public gets to peak inside the box.

But if organizations are truly ready to shift their approach, to open the lid, to be transparent and reap the rewards of building relationships, strengthening and widening connections, being more transparent and garnering trust, then put social media in the arsenal.

There will be growing pains, no doubt, but this book will serve as a guide and provide inspiration that could be truly transformational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Networked Nonprofit - straightforward, practical, and proven, July 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
Allison Fine and Beth Kanter are leaders in the social media (SM) movement for nonprofits. They are the people that people like me go to for advice; we follow their blogs, tweets, FB pages...they are our virtual guides in this world of getting our non profit organizations connected to clients in a meaningful way beyond the borders of our organizations' walls.

Both Fine and Kanter are energetic, knowledgeable, and engaging. The Networked Nonprofit is what you'd expect from them. Straightforward advice, tested and with proven examples, on how nonprofits need to change their view of the world to survive and flourish in the digital world.

The Networked Nonprofit introduces and defines this concept of the networked nonprofit, describes the social media revolution, and examines the myths surrounding it. These myths, along with lack of a comfort level (shall we say skill?) with social media, is what prevents many non profits from embracing a set of digital tools that could help them with their mission. Fine and Kanter then examine the challenges and trends that non profits face, which creates an urgent need to confront their own lack of understanding in this area and make the transition into becoming a networked nonprofit. The remaining book is divided into how organizations can become a networked nonprofit and how they would operate as one.

You can read my longer review at [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Nonprofits Interested in Using Social Media, October 11, 2010
By 
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
I work with a number of nonprofit clients who are trying to build communities online and I have recommended The Networked Nonprofit by Beth Kanter and Allison Fine to all of them. This book is both a conceptual and practical guide for how a "networked nonprofit" can utilize social media to engage communities, build relationships, and foster trust online. Both Kanter and Fine are highly respected experts in the field of social media and The Networked Nonprofit is filled with their strategic insight into how these technologies can transform a nonprofit organization. For those starting out, there is a primer on understanding social networks along with practical advice on how to create a social culture both inside and outside your organization. There are also numerous practical resources, best practices, and case studies illustrating real world examples of organizations who are using social media effectively and the lessons they have learned along the way.

There is no doubt that social media can empower the efforts of non-profits around the world. Kanter and Fine have written a book packed with ideas and information to help you use social media more effectively to support your organizational goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Networked Nonprofit makes change easier, June 18, 2010
By 
Lucy Bernholz (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
Change is hard. The Networked Nonprofit makes it easier. Kanter and Fine are practiced experts - every one of the big visions and detailed case studies in this book comes from their work as leaders, consultants, advisors, and blogger/twitterer/experimenters.

The book focuses on the human, organizational, and cultural changes that our new technological connections both allow and require. Its written for nonprofit executives - with or without social media expertise - but is actually useful for anyone who works in any kind of organization.

Kanter and Fine provide both clear and compelling possibilities of new organizational practices and well-told stories of people who are making these changes. Executives and individual change agents will find both practical ideas and creative provocations that can improve their way of working. Lying somewhere between a "how-to" guide and "vision of what is to come," The Networked Nonprofit is the one book all organizational leaders should have on hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great value, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change (Paperback)
The book was exactly what I needed for a project and met my expectations sufficiently. I would recommend this to someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Networked Nonprofit: Connecting with Social Media to Drive Change
$34.95 $23.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.