Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bang for the buck in a CCD imaging book
I'm surprised there aren't more reviews on this book since it is the first book recommended to anyone who has questions about CCD imaging. If you haven't tried imaging yet, and want to know what it is like, this book will describe what you might find on a typical night imaging under a variety of circumstances. If you want to buy equipment, the book discusses some of the...
Published on August 5, 2003

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertized
This book is no longer available as advertized.
The book is a paperback with no color at all. Supposedly, the online version or a downloadable pdf version (as earlier buyers remarked) is in color. Following the instructions printed on the book cover, you can go to the website of the publisher, where you find that you must provide proof of purchase to receive user and...
Published on November 11, 2009 by vivere


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bang for the buck in a CCD imaging book, August 5, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
I'm surprised there aren't more reviews on this book since it is the first book recommended to anyone who has questions about CCD imaging. If you haven't tried imaging yet, and want to know what it is like, this book will describe what you might find on a typical night imaging under a variety of circumstances. If you want to buy equipment, the book discusses some of the more popular CCD instruments as well as software which is incredibly important in CCD astrophotography. (But you'll want to check contemporary sources of course, because models are always added and prices fluctuate.) It will help you match a scope to a good fit CCD camera and will discuss why certain focal ratios are better than others for beginners. You'll get an idea of how to capture actual images of deep space objects and/or planets. And, it will give you an idea of how to process all of those raw images you will eventually collect using Photoshop, Maxim DL and other software. You use different techniques depending on the type of object - planet, globular cluster, nebula, etc. And, you can download a PDF version of the book in full color, so you can have the resource on your computer at all times.
The only complaints I have about the book are extremely minor :
- It is a non-linear read. That probably can't be helped because everyone is going to come at the book with different levels of understanding. As you gain insight, you'll want to go back and reread sections, or skip ahead when a question raised in the current section but not answered.
- It is biased toward more expensive software and hardware. Much can be done with middle-of-the-road equipment or even lower end equipment, if you have the desire but not the funds so long as the emphasis is on FUN and not competing with the Hubble. However, the more $$ you throw at the problem, the less effort is required.
- With respect to this, it does not address webcam imaging with modified webcams but that's a very minor thing as theory can be applied straight across the board.
... You'll have to check out the publisher's site or Sky and Telescope to see what I mean. I think both books are must reads for anyone interested in imaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Must-Have" Book for CCD Imaging, July 28, 2003
By 
Ron Bissinger (Pleasanton, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
Having read nearly every book on the subject, I would say that if you must buy one book for CCD imaging, this is the book. Wodaski's book is a comprehensive how-to guide for anyone interested in or doing CCD imaging of astronomical objects. While Wodaski does cover the theoretical aspects of CCD work, he focuses most of his efforts on providing a step-by-step guide for the novice to the expert. Additional, puchasers of his book can join his web user group for personalized advice. Just two words...Buy It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertized, November 11, 2009
By 
vivere (Detroit Metro, MI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
This book is no longer available as advertized.
The book is a paperback with no color at all. Supposedly, the online version or a downloadable pdf version (as earlier buyers remarked) is in color. Following the instructions printed on the book cover, you can go to the website of the publisher, where you find that you must provide proof of purchase to receive user and password info. I did that, but I have not yet received even an acknowledgment that my e-mail was read, as I requested (although I received an automatically created delivery receipt, so my e-mail went somewhere). I have sent two e-mails so far.
If you decide to buy the book from the listed sellers, may be you should inquire in advance whether they will provide the login information or whether they can e-mail you the color pdf version, especially since the sellers' prices are much higher than the price listed in the publisher's website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Digital Imaging Book, December 4, 2002
By 
De Bene (Boiling Springs, South Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
If you are interested in CCD astro-imaging as a novice or as an experienced imager, this book is for you.
Written in straightforward American English, the book covers just about every aspect of astronomical imaging in remarkable depth. Regardless of the imager you use or the software you run it with, this book is a goldmine of information for improving the way you image.
Even better, purchasing the book gives you a one-year subscription to Wodaski's updated on-line information as well, at no extra charge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but get out your checkbook, November 9, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
This book has been a fabulous learning tool for me. My only complaints are two 1) No color photos, which others have mentioned; 2) The equipment and software the author recommends are high end. Not all of us can afford to spend $7000 to $10,000 to get started in CCD imaging.

Much of the instructions are given for Maxim DL ($500) and CCDSoft (which primarily supports SBIG cameras). The most popular CCD cameras on the market now are the Meade DSI line for introductory users, and no attention is given to them at all, or the Autostar and Envisage software.

As well, many of us are LX200 owners who bought our scopes and went into imaging later and can't afford to upgrade to Astro-Physics mounts and Takahashi OTAs. Or purchase SBIG cameras. I would recommend some section devoted to entry-level equipment, as many of us will eventually upgrade later and use the information in the text, just not right away.

Other than that, I learned a ton from this book and still recommend it highly. It will last me for years, and the web site support is fabulous. Just wish I had the author's budget for equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty basic stuff, January 2, 2007
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
I got the book and was pretty disappointed in two respects:

1) no meat to the book from a technical perspective: really a superficial "what" instead of an in depth "why"

2) hard to find things after the read. It reads OK and has decent flow, but it isn't easy to find things after the fact.

If you are completely non-technical and want to get into ccd astronomy, don't; it will drive you crazy with frustration and bankrupt you. But if you insist then you may like this book: again if you are a completely non-technical type.

If you are a tekkie type, then you may find it to be a waste of time and not much more than a bunch of common sense hardware suggstions and a collection of photoshop tricks that anyone could mine off the internet.

Making matters worse is that the menus in photoshop change from time to time, so use it to try to extract the concepts and not look at it as a recipe for following to the letter.

I felt like the book was a waste of my time and money but I bought mine cheap, so the time was really the only loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Astrophotography with CCD cameras, January 1, 2006
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
This book does a wonderful job in taking the reader from the basics to advanced concepts of astrophotography with CCD cameras. It has an excellent section that explains how to choose a Telescope, the Mount, and the Camera. I wish I had read this section before I purchased my first Telescope and CCD camera. For example, one usually ignores the importance of having a solid Mount for CCD work. As it results, it is the single most important element to consider in this field. Even more important that the optics themselves. The techniques presented in this book have been very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate manual for CCD astronomy, January 23, 2011
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
This book is rightfully considered to be the best source of information in learning how to do astro-imaging. Although it is out of print and hard to find I discovered that Orion has new copies in stock. I purchased several other books first because I could not find this book and thought the price sounded expensive for a paperback book. Big mistake! If I had held out for this one I wouldn't have needed the others. This covers the subject step by step in about as understandable a terminology as is possible for a difficult subject. I saw other criticisms about no color and about his partiality to expensive equipment. As to the color, well I don't think it was intended as a "picture book" but rather as a "how to" manual. As to the expensive equipment criticism, I think that is because he is trying to show what it takes to do it best and unfortunately that takes the costly equipment(one of life's unfortunate realisms). I have a limited budget too and will have to make do with what I can afford and hope to improve my equipment and my results with time and experience. I didn't want a book that would teach me to do a mediocre job with nothing better to aspire to! This subject is very technical and many parts of it are very difficult for the layman to understand and/or master but I guess that's why it has appeal to some of us. I think after reading this book you will have a better idea as to whether you want to go any further in pursuing the hobby and whether you do or don't you will consider the price of the book money well spent. I should add that I was a little afraid that it might be a little outdated because it was written nearly 10 years ago but after reading it I have concluded that 90% of the info is "timeless" and since there is no other book with anywhere close to this much information available it is still a very good value. This manual is absolutely the best there is on the subject!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What color is that?, July 1, 2006
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
If you're expecting to see color images in what is considered to be the "bible" of astrophotography, you'll be disappointed. Don't even look for them in the 40+ page chapter on (get this) Color Imaging. Not sure what the reasoning is behind that choice, but Mr. Wodaski could have served the readers better by provided some color images so we could better understand the color processing techniques described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The CCD Bible!, December 28, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard (Paperback)
From a beginner's perspective, if you are attempting DSO astrophotography on a shoestring budget this book will break your heart! But it speaks the cold hard truth in that astrophotography and shoestring budget in the same sentence is an oxymoron! It does however contain fundamental and valuable information for anyone getting into CCD imaging and is an excellent reference to keep on hand. Love the website and the electronic version of the book is very convenient, just a computer away if I need it. Wodaski's new book has recently been released and I look forward to that purchase also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New CCD Astronomy: How to Capture the Stars With a CCD Camera in Your Own Backyard
$29.95 $24.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.