Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'Must-Have' For Bay Shoppers, March 13, 2000
By 
Greg Valentine (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
When I was in the market for a medium to large sized sporting dog, I began to research dogs such as the Chesapeake Bay retriever and of course the Golden and Yellow retriever. My search led me closer to the Bay retriever because of 2 reasons: athletic ability and intelligence.
Upon closer scrutiny I soon discover from 'The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever' that indead this was the superior choice over all other retrievers. The book explains that the Bay retiever is less popular than other retrievers simply because not many people have heard of this American breed. And as a benefit, over breeding has not occured with the Bay retriever. Hunters prefer the Bay over other bird dogs due to their undistracted committment to retrieve. As a family dog, they are gentle and stoic enough never to over react or bark in any situation
The book was a terrific guide for shopping for a pup and especially for raising and field training the dog as a hunter or as champion show dog.
My dog is a family pet and I owe plenty to this book for guiding me logically with the raising, training and breeding of my dog.
I discovered later that my dog's ancestry is mentioned in the book. His grandparents are previous champs and are showcased through out 'The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever'.
'The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever' is thorough, logical and very acurate with selecting, raising, and training the Chesapeake Bay Retriever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Latest "Encycopedia" for Chesapeake Bay Retrievers, January 2, 2000
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
This book has wonderful information on the history, breed standards, and the hidden advantages of owning a Chesapeake Bay Dog. I have owned (or been owned by) a Chesapeake for 4 years now, and this book was nice to fill in the gaps of information that most people do not know about. I can tell that Janet Horn has a true understanding of the breed, an understanding that only comes from owning and being in the company of such wonderful dogs. I appreciate her geneology research for this work. Her passion for the breed is what makes this book such a joy to read. This book does not cover training tactics and is not meant to do so. Please take great care in researching training methods for Chesapeakes, as many methods (used on Labradors and Goldens) are not productive on these dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for chessie owners and fanciers!, March 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
I purchased this book shortly after getting my Chessie puppy. Although I knew a fair bit about the breed, this book gave me tons more info and a real feel for the history of the breed. Lots of great photos and helpful advice, but if you need help specifically regarding training, best buy a book on training, too. Highly recommended - every Chessie owner (or potential owner)should have a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most up-to-date book on Chessies we have found!, October 13, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
This book was what we have been looking for! It included topics on Chessies that we had not seen covered before, such as the "snarl" that is unique to this breed. There were many good photos showing different types of Chessies, and many specific details on grooming, breed traits and behaviors. We highly recommend this to anyone who has a Chessie or is thinking about getting one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book before you buy a Chesapeake, January 10, 2007
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
I have browsed this book and if you are thinking about getting a Chesapeake you should buy this book first. It will cover many of the things I mention here in greater detail. Many people have bought Chesapeake Bay Retrievers without doing enough research and then gotten rid of their "problem" dogs. In almost all cases "the problems" were caused by the owners because they did not understand the requirements of this breed.

I have owned and trained my Chesapeakes for over 12 years now and I can tell you that they are a wonderful and unique breed. There is no other breed with the qualities of a Chesapeake. They are very intelligent, extremely loyal and dedicated to their masters, great with kids (if raised with them) and love to be part of the family, have unbelievable determination and will, and in many ways have almost human like personalities. For these reasons and others, Chesapeake Bay Retrievers make absolutely wonderful companions.

However, as Chesapeake breeders will tell you, these dogs are not for everyone. Their intelligence and energy requires a need for daily activity that challenges them physically and mentally and that is rewarding to them. They thrive when given what they interpret as a problem to solve. They respond much better to praise then they do discipline. Robotic methods of training don't work as well on Chesapeakes and for that reason many pro trainers won't train a Chesapeake because they think they are too stubborn or just dumb.

This is rarely true, but it takes a strong commitment on the owners part to provide the dog with an environment in which it thrives. Chesapeakes have a lot of self-pride and if you try to force them to do something against their will, they may often resent you and become uncooperative.

Chesapeakes love to swim, retrieve, play, hunt, or just show off their physical strength and stamina by lifting large logs and rocks out of the water for hours on end. If not given the proper physical and mental outlets a Chesapeake bores very quickly and can become destructive and depressed. For these reasons Chesapeakes do not like being left alone in a kennel for hours. Being part of the family is very important to them and they love attention. They are fine in the house but need a large fenced yard also. Again, if they are ignored or neglected, they will resent you and it will lead to destructive behavior or depression.

Other things to consider:

They are protective of their home and family and may bark at strangers. They are not naturally agressive towards strangers or other dogs, but if their protective side is overly encouraged, or if they are taunted, they could become that way.

They shed. A lot. Nuff said.

They eat a lot so they poop a lot. Nuff said.

The Chesapeake Bay Retriever is a very special breed and they make great family dogs and excellent hunting dogs. But they require a patient but dominant personality in their owner, training adjusted to the Chesapeakes personality with lots of positive reinforcement, love and respect as part of the family, room to run, and lots of happy and rewarding activity. If you feel you can fullfill and commit to these needs, then a Chesapeake Bay Retriever may be the right dog for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Chessies owners to be, January 27, 2000
By 
Rebecca Baldwin (Hagerstown, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
I have read all the books written about Chesapeake Bay retrievers. This was the best written book that I had read. It gave precise information about the breed, its personalitly, care etc. There was no gobbly gob information given. After reading this book. I made a final decision and now own a Chessie. Its a must read for anyone who is thinking about owning a Chessie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chesapeake Bay Retrievers are Fun, but They are also Lots of Work, February 26, 2006
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
This book is very thorough and complete, covering all aspects of this breed of dog, from buying a new puppy, to training, to grooming and preparing for a dog show. If you're intrigued by this breed of dog, just keep in mind that this is a very active breed of dog, and its activity level can drive some people bonkers! This book is quick to point out this fact, and it is an important one to consider.

I'm happy with my Chesapeake Bay Retriever, but he can be quite a handful at times. My dog, through daily spoiling, weighs around 90 pounds, which is about 15 pounds larger than the average male of this breed. He isn't fat, just more muscular than average, which makes him even more fun to handle. What this book says about this breed is pretty accurate, based on my personal experience. These dogs are hearty, active, and have unique personalities. One needs to keep these facts in mind before making this breed a member of one's home.

If you are interested in knowing more about this breed of dog, then this is an excellent book to buy. It will quickly familiarize you with the basics of this breed, and let you know what you can expect if you decide to add a Chesapeake Bay Retriever to your household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Waters Owner, August 6, 2006
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
I bought this book through Janet Horn, our dog's (Timothy Scott)beeder before she passed away.I feel Janet's insight into a Chessie's personality to be dead on.She really loved her dogs (Her home in New Jersey was filled with Chessie's) with all her heart .When I visited her the day we bought our dog I could feel that knowledge as she advised me on what to do with our dog.He is a shining example of what a Chesapeake should be- so are his puppies!Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not what I was looking for, September 12, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
I bought this book because my son had just gotten a Chesapeake Bay Retriever mutt. She is not purebred but clearly is mostly Chesapeake with some Lab tossed in. So I was looking for a book that talked about Chesapeake personality, training, temperament characteristics that would give them some insight into their new puppy. And perhaps some history and general interest stories that would interest the kids. Although this book has a little of this general breed information we could get much better and more information off the internet. This book is basically one picture after another of one champion Chesapeake after another along with bloodlines and awards, and has very little to offer for the non-show owners. So if you want show dog histories and a book clearly geared to serious breeders and dog showers perhaps this book would delight you and be everything you were looking for. If you are just a casual owner of a family dog Chesapeake looking for insight into your dog and perhaps some training tips geared to this breeds characteristics this is not the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for learning about the breed but not for training your Chesapeake., January 11, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever (Hardcover)
This is a great book detailing the history, nature, standard, and history of various trials and championships associated with the Chesapeake Bay Retriever. I would not recommend this book for the training advice though. The instructions regarding training are too vague to be of any use. Very informative and interesting read though for anyone looking to learn more about the CBR breed as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever
The New Complete Chesapeake Bay Retriever by Janet Horn (Hardcover - April 1994)
Used & New from: $17.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.