Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST!, October 15, 2001
By 
RON STUBBS (camano island, wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
As an Instructor of Hypnosis, I not only read this wonderful book, but it is also on my required reading list for my college students. Never before have I seen such a comprehensive text written on hypnotherapeutic practices that is so well written even one with no knowledge of Hypnotherapy can relate to it as well as understand the techniques. Hogan should be proud to accept his position beside such modern Hypnosis greats as such as Rossi, Cheek, and Erickson among others. The Time Track piece is simply amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Advanced Hypnosis, October 9, 2001
By 
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
The New Hypnotherapy Handbook was one of my textbooks for Kevin Hogan's hypnosis certification training. I particularly liked this book because it offers a model of hypnotherapy, a number of useful scripts, and solutions to dealing with difficult problems in hypnosis.
First, the model. CARPETS is Hogan's anacronym for Case Analysis, Regression, Parts/Ego State, Time Track Therapy and Suggestive Therapeutics. The highlight of the model is the Time Track Component. Never have I seen such a beautiful piece of work in the field of hypnosis. What you learn is how to weave a clients past and future positive resources into their present day state of mind. This modality alone is worth the ... price of the book.
The discussion of ethical issues, case analysis and legal issues is first rate. The details of regression are sketchy at first but made clear later in the book when his co-authors give verbatim transcripts of their session work. The ego state therapy is better described in Ego States by Watkins, but the treatment is sufficient. The specialty chapters on Emergency Hypnosis, Past Life Regression and even UFO abductions are tantalizing and always prefaced with cautions of ethical use and careful handling of the client.
This book started off a bit clumsily and then by Chapter Two it was clear it was one of the finest books on hypnosis I have read.
The New Hypnotherapy Handbook is a wonderful book for the advanced beginner and the seasoned practitioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the original!!!, October 17, 2001
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
If you are a hypnotherapist who wants to really help people create permanent change this book is a must - period.
I own and have read, highlighted and reread the original Hypnotherapy Handbook. The pages are tattered because the concepts keep displaying deeper levels of understanding each time I read it.
Wow, despite that, I have gleamed even more insights from reading this one.
As I said above, if you want to really help people, buy and study this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right at the Top of the Hypnosis Must Have List, May 28, 2001
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
Kevin Hogan and company do it right this time. I bought the original Hypnotherapy Handbook two years ago. It was a good text but loaded with errors. The NEW Hypnotherapy Handbook corrects all the errors and adds so much new material that I couldn't wait to turn the pages and soak up the material. The layout is superb. The therapeutic process is brilliantly conceived and articulated. The indexed table of contents is rare in the field of hypnosis, the content is outstanding and the specialties addressed in the book are among the best treatments I've ever seen. The co-authors address difficult and controversial topics like UFO abductions, past life regressions, diabetes, emergency hypnosis and many other issues with sheer brilliance. This is a simply awesome text and is among the best I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Tool for Hypnotists, March 15, 2005
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
I recommended this book for a new hypnotist who recently joined my staff. She expressed feeling overwhelmed with all her new found knowledge and unsure of the theory behind some techniques.

This handbook covers a wide spectrum of techniques explained in concise and "user-friendly" templates and knew this was just the book she needed to pull together all her knowledge.

The part I found particularly useful was on Time Tack Therapy. I've learned it from other instructors, but never before had this therapy made as much sense as explained in this book

Definitely a must have for all new and experienced hypnotists or for anyone wanting to explore the mind body connection

Michelle Drum [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, Ethical Fundamentals of Hypnotherapy, October 12, 2001
By 
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
With the growing interest in alternative - complementary therapies, hypnotherapy is increasingly being recognized as a compelling choice. Kevin Hogan is an important voice in defining methods which are respectful of the client, highly ethical, and effective. His voice is credible because of his own ethics and practice and the effectiveness of his work. It was my privilege to edit The New Hypnotherapy Handbook and to train with him in Minneapolis. I have the deepest respect for his knowledge and wisdom and the efforts he has made to develop and establish hypnotherapy as a viable, trustworthy intervention. It's an excellent resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide for Hypnotherapy, January 7, 2009
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
Kevin Hogan has written a guide for hypnotherapists that is thorough, readable, and an excellent reference book. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mindfullness, the power within, July 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing (Paperback)
Thank you for sharing your insightful gleanings from your clinic. As a fellow professional, I thank you for the sense of sharing, and caring that we all need to connect with as we move through of adolesence of human development into the adulthood of maturity and realisation that we are all here as part of the universe and as such when we give freely, as you do of your knowledge, we receive a thousandfold in return. Namaste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Hypnotherapy Handbook: Hypnosis and Mind/Body Healing
$39.95 $34.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.