Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPADER 4 LIFE
Simply put, this movie rules. You've got James Spader. You've got Lori Laughlin. You've got Sean S. Cunningham directing, and he not only produced HOUSE IV: HOME DEADLY HOME, he also produced LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT, and directed some movie called FRIDAY THE 13TH.

But the kicker, and the reason I really sought it out, is novelist Harry Crews' involvement. After...
Published on July 22, 2004 by Donkey Dick

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "New Kids" disapoints old viewer
well, i remember seeing this horror flick when i was about twelve on tv and thought it was a really cool movie. but, unfortunately, i couldn't find it anywhere till finally amazon delivered the goods to me. as the old saying goes, memory is a selection of images for which we think are accurate, but not quite the truth. this film fits that description. Lori Loughlin...
Published on August 4, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPADER 4 LIFE, July 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: The New Kids [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Simply put, this movie rules. You've got James Spader. You've got Lori Laughlin. You've got Sean S. Cunningham directing, and he not only produced HOUSE IV: HOME DEADLY HOME, he also produced LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT, and directed some movie called FRIDAY THE 13TH.

But the kicker, and the reason I really sought it out, is novelist Harry Crews' involvement. After some research, I've found it difficult to determine exactly how much he had to do with the script. He's not credited, but is thanked in the end credits. Stephen Gyllenhaal and Brian Taggart get screenwriter nods, but in an old Crews interview, he mentions, "I wrote this script called THE NEW KIDS" (but that's all there is of the interview, the snippet posted on his website). So who knows. Actually, I'm sure there's someone fatter and uglier than me out there who knows, and assuming the person surely doesn't have anything better to do, they should contact me with more information.

THE NEW KIDS has nothing to do with Crews novels like "A Feast of Snakes" or "Car" or "The Knockout Artist," all humorously grotesque (sometimes stomach-churning) portraits of bizarro Southern life, which makes his direct involvement even more suspect. But it is a better-than-expected genre picture. Just look at what you get!

1) James Spader in speedo underwear.

2) James Spader doing a really bad, on-again-off-again Southern accent.

3) James Spader snorting cocaine in his van while his gang of cretins run around outside, dousing Lori Laughlin with lighter fluid and taunting her with lit matches in an attempt to get her to submit to a good, Southern-style gang rape.

4) Some dude named Shannon who plays a character named Loren.

5) Death by Ferris wheel.

6) Death by bumper cars.

7) Death by house of mirrors (in a super-lame LADY FROM SHANGHAI "homage").

8) Death by roller coaster.

9) A Lori Laughlin shower scene where you can clearly see, numerous times, her flesh-colored bikini hiding her wares from the filmmakers.

10) Eric Stoltz getting called "faggot."

Still not convinced? Well, there's nothing more I can do. If you require a plot description, you're already on the internet, so why don't you take some initiative?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "New Kids" disapoints old viewer, August 4, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Kids [VHS] (VHS Tape)
well, i remember seeing this horror flick when i was about twelve on tv and thought it was a really cool movie. but, unfortunately, i couldn't find it anywhere till finally amazon delivered the goods to me. as the old saying goes, memory is a selection of images for which we think are accurate, but not quite the truth. this film fits that description. Lori Loughlin and Shannon Presby are two recently orphaned young kids who move down to Florida with their aunt and uncle and look to start over again. but, as always a cliche in horror films, their hopes for a new beginning by the local bullies led by James Spader who just decide to terrorize the kids up until a bloody showdown which is both predictable and a bit cheesy. it might have faired better with a better writer at the helm and not such a quick paced ending. as a loyal moviegoer and film addict, i was quite saddened, the good thing about the film was the good performance by shannon presby and lori loughlin. other than that, this is a b-film all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Fantastic Trip Back To The 80's, January 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: The New Kids (DVD)
I can't believe I bought a cheap VHS of this movie only to find out they now have it on DVD. I'm buying it anyway.

I think the acting is fantastic and the thrills will keep you on the edge of your seat. It's also fun to see James Spader, Eric Stoltz and Lori Laughlin in their younger years! I find Shannon Presby hot now that I'm older.

This movie always makes me want to work! I can't imagine why! The song "Stand Up" is awesome (wish I had it on CD). But the transitional music between the scenes is bad - though appropriate for 1985 when the movie was made.

It's a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Rule and James Spader Steals the Spotlight, July 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Kids (DVD)
I saw The New Kids years ago and loved it, when I saw the DVD was released I was so excited but I wondered if It would stand the test of time and if I would still love it.
Well I did and do.
James Spader is at his best as the ring leader for the the school/town bullies.From Sean S. Cunningham of Friday The 13th fame it has to be good.

The entire cast is quite good including a very young Lori Loughlin as the New girl and Shannon Presby as the new boy.they play brother and sister who move to Florida with relatives after their staunch military father and mother die in a plane crash,thank goodness their father taught them how to defend themselves.It's a constant power shift as the New Kids get terrorized by the bullies and the new kids retaliate leading to a big showdown in an amusement park that the new kids happen to live in.
Lot's of thrills and good ole 80's charm.A must for the 80's collector.not a slasher movie but slasher fans will like it.it's more suspenseful but it does have death scenes although not very grisly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool movie, but more suspense thriller than horror., May 6, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Kids [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Two high school parents are killed in a car accident, and the teens are sent to live with their aunt and uncle in Florida. Soon after they start at their new school, the sister, Abby, becomes the target of five redneck bullies, led by James Spader, who pressure her to go out with them, making bets about which of them will sleep with her first. After she refuses their advances, and her brother Loren comes to her defense, they begin to terrorise the teens, scratching up the family car and vandolizing the famly's home built amusement park. Soon there is a feud building between the siblings and the gang, and eventually it builds to a climax. This film has memerable charecters and a decent amount of suspense, and is definetly worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Kids bring back Old Memories..., April 20, 2009
This review is from: The New Kids (DVD)
Many people my age might remember this movie from being frequently played on cable in the eighties. It was one of my favorites back then, but for some reason it had escaped my personal DVD collection until now. Upon watching it again after almost 20 years I realized how much I used to love this movie. In fact, much to my suprise, I remembered a good chunk of the dialog. It was fun ride that revisited my movie-viewing past. If you're like me, and it's been 20 years since you've seen this movie I strongly reccomend getting your hands on one for a fun walk down memory lane. Also, if you've never seen it before I am confident that you'll enjoy The New Kids as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hooligan High..., May 20, 2010
This review is from: The New Kids (DVD)
After the sudden deaths of their parents, Abby and her brother Loren McWilliams (Lori Loughlin and Shannon Presby) are taken in by their kindly uncle in Florida. All seems fine until high school begins. An eeevil gang of hillbilly hooligans, led by a hilariously psychotic James Spader, stalks and torments Abby and Loren. Luckily, dad (Tom Atkins!) had taught the kids how to defend themselves against such neanderthal-ish thugs! The violence escalates, culminating in abduction, a pitbull mauling, and the great apocalyptic showdown at the family owned amusement park! Sort of an R-rated KARATE KID, THE NEW KIDS is pure, unadulterated, 80s cheeze! It's also loads of fun to watch!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a Thriller with a little of everything., March 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Kids (DVD)
It begins on a millitary base. Two teenages living with their mother and father whom is a high ranking officer soon learn that their parents have died in traffic accident. At the cemetery they are approached by their long distant uncle, whom invites them to live him and his wife in Florida. The young boy and his sister start their new life on a Christmas Funland attraction site. They attend a high school where they soon meet a gang of bullies that terrorizes the boy his sister and their new family. A lot of blood and action......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing cast, and filmmaking is creative in every way, November 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bizarre and entertaining. 80s classic. Amazing cast, and filmmaking is creative in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars close to home, December 13, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Kids [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For a B movie, this film is great. The only reason I saw it was because it was filmed across the street from my house and at my highschool. The film was suspenseful and entertaining. I plan to add this movie to my collection. I think it is has also been categorized as a cult classic by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Kids
The New Kids by John Archie (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: $33.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.