Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocktails done right!
If you appreciate sipping a well made cocktail - you should appreciate this fantastic collection of recipes, stories, and home bar tending advice. Easily replicated recipes that produce amazing results are reason enough to buy this book, but I also enjoyed the history lessons detailing the demise (and subsequent revival) of the classic cocktail (I am glad to be past the...
Published on January 15, 2013 by Liam T. Lawrence

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This One's for the Gin Lovers
The author's attitude to gin is similar to most gin drinkers: You either like gin or you haven't given it a chance. As such, this book includes a lot of gin cocktails Sorry to say that there are some people that really just don't like gin and I'm one of them. I've tried gin and tonics, gin martinis, etc., multiple gin brands and I don't like gin.

This book...
Published 10 months ago by Greg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocktails done right!, January 15, 2013
This review is from: The New Old Bar: Classic Cocktails and Salty Snacks from The Hearty Boys (Paperback)
If you appreciate sipping a well made cocktail - you should appreciate this fantastic collection of recipes, stories, and home bar tending advice. Easily replicated recipes that produce amazing results are reason enough to buy this book, but I also enjoyed the history lessons detailing the demise (and subsequent revival) of the classic cocktail (I am glad to be past the days of frozen mixers and yellow tequila!). Is it wrong that I am craving an old fashioned at this hour...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Creative!!, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Old Bar: Classic Cocktails and Salty Snacks from The Hearty Boys (Paperback)
Aftering watching the Hearty Boys on Food Network and having their first cookbook, I knew this book would hit a home run and I was right. Love the receipes, photos and snack ideas, it was money well spent. If you like to entertain, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift and a must have in your food and drink library!, November 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Old Bar: Classic Cocktails and Salty Snacks from The Hearty Boys (Paperback)
Great photography by the author himself. Delicious cocktails, clearly the result of exhaustive, but fun research. Well written recipes for simple classics to sophisticated new techniques. Great glossary and list of bar tool must haves. A wonderful gift for many people on your holiday list! Excuse me now, it's Friday and I have to go make a "Carmen's Veranda"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raise your glass, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderful drink and snack recipes along with some history of the drinks themselves. I have many of the ingredients already and have tried a couple - pure pleasure! I am looking forward to another new old drink this weekend! Slante!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for anyone wanting to move beyond mixed drinks and into classic cocktails, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a comprehensive explanation of the ingredients, methods, and combinations that make up the classic cocktails, as well as a good background into how to apply these things to new drinks. When you are finished, you will be aware of what makes the classics great, as well as know at least two fundamental errors of James Bond's signature drink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Addition To Library, April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good book to have on hand when you want to impress you friends with some fun and sometimes "fancy" cocktails! Steve has delivered another winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, March 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written, engaging style. You can tell the author knows his stuff. I was looking for a good generic reference to add to my collection and this was a good one. He explains all the intricacies of bar materials and products very well. Worth the read if you want to get into bartending either professionally or as a hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of options!, May 8, 2014
By 
L A Cochran (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This One's for the Gin Lovers, April 2, 2014
By 
Greg (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author's attitude to gin is similar to most gin drinkers: You either like gin or you haven't given it a chance. As such, this book includes a lot of gin cocktails Sorry to say that there are some people that really just don't like gin and I'm one of them. I've tried gin and tonics, gin martinis, etc., multiple gin brands and I don't like gin.

This book does include a lot of cocktail recipes and I look forward to trying several. The recipes for bar snacks is nice is the toasts section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars some good stories and liquor information, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gave some good insight to the difference liquors with some stories and history. A lot of classic cocktails were missing, and I was hoping for better toast and cheers recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Old Bar: Classic Cocktails and Salty Snacks from The Hearty Boys
The New Old Bar: Classic Cocktails and Salty Snacks from The Hearty Boys by Steve McDonagh (Paperback - November 6, 2012)
$19.95 $14.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.