Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


185 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A to Z assistance for any business
More than anything, The New Rules of Marketing & PR ties things together. The book provides an easy to understand yet comprehensive view of the new online marketplace--a landscape that can appear quite bewildering, even to marketing specialists. With so many options at our fingertips (literally), where do we start? Blogs? Podcasts? Public relations? SEO? Paid search...
Published on May 30, 2007 by Brad Shorr

versus
143 of 156 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hype and generalizations
Get rich, be successful, blog, podcast, blah... I feel like it is 1999 all over again.

My issues with this book are:

1. It is very light on critical analysis of when these technologies are of value. Face it -- hundreds of thousand of businesses should not have blogs or employ most of these technologies.

2. There is almost no information on...
Published on June 16, 2009 by M. Ward


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

185 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A to Z assistance for any business, May 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
More than anything, The New Rules of Marketing & PR ties things together. The book provides an easy to understand yet comprehensive view of the new online marketplace--a landscape that can appear quite bewildering, even to marketing specialists. With so many options at our fingertips (literally), where do we start? Blogs? Podcasts? Public relations? SEO? Paid search? Viral marketing? The list goes on. To make matters worse, technology is changing and new tools are developing almost every day.

In the early chapters, David takes a high altitude look at online marketing options, showing us how they developed, why they're important, how they work, and why they work. In later "Action Plan" chapters, he jumps into the trenches and shows us how to actually use the tools and implement programs. Throughout, he uses detailed case studies to illustrate not only the programs but the amazing results they can achieve.

But it isn't just the latest and greatest technologies that are crucially important. Public relations, for example, has been around since Gutenberg but for the first time is practical for a small company. Traditional PR was cost-prohibitive and dependent on unreachable key media contacts. But in the new world--

"...your primary audience is no longer just a handful of journalists. Your audience is millions of people with Internet connections and access to search engines and RSS readers." (Chapter 5)

Today, public relations may be the single most underutilized tool in the marketing arsenal.

Another "old" technology David brings us up to speed on is the corporate Web site. In fact, the three most important points I got out of The New Rules of Marketing & PR have enormous implications on traditional Web development.

Those key points are--

1. The most important New Rule is CONTENT. Design is important. Technology is important. But without extraordinary content, you're doomed.

2. Interruption marketing (think spam and pop-up ads) has given way to consumer-driven marketing. Yippee! "The Web is different. Instead of one-way interruption, Web marketing is about delivering useful content at just the precise moment that a buyer needs it." (Chapter 1)

3. The starting point for any New Rule program is to create customer personas. If you're going to have extraordinary content that motivates buyers to take action, you'd better know your customers inside-out.

David explains how these three principles should influence not only your corporate Web site, but every other online program you undertake.

Thankfully, David is understandable as well as instructive. One reason I've enjoyed his blog for over a year is his conversational, entertaining writing style. He makes learning easy (which is harder to do than you might think). Anyway, his book is just like his blog--illuminating and fun.

The New Rules of Marketing & PR presents the most complete picture of any book I've read. For the marketing specialist, it will fill in the gaps. For the generalist, it will open up a whole new world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Wake-Up Call!, June 3, 2007
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
By embracing the strategies in this book , you will totally transform your business. David Meerman Scott shows you a multitude of ways to propel your company to a thought leadership position in your market and drive sales - all without a huge budget.

From my perspective, the best thing about this book is that everyone can gain value from it. There are so many places you can start applying these new rules of marketing and PR. For example, I'm an experienced blogger, considered an expert in my field and already have a strong online presence. Yet I'm immediately going to start applying the lessons in Chapter 14: How to Use News Releases to Reach Buyers Directly.

Here's what else I like about this book:

1. The author includes numerous examples from a variety of businesses in different industries & sizes that have all used these strategies for success.

2. The book shows you multiple venues to reach your buyers directly. This circumvents the high costs of mainstream media enabling firms who are running bootstrap operations to compete with the big boys.

3. The "how to" guidelines on leveraging news releases in a web-based world are excellent. You'll learn how to create news on a regular basis, capitalize on various distribution services, focus on key words/phrases in your writing that are used by your buyers, and incorporate social media tags.

4. The insights on optimizing a website's online media room for search engines is another easy-to-implement technique with high payback.

In summary, I guarantee you that your investment in this book will be paid back many times.

~ Jill Konrath, author of Selling to Big Companies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 156 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hype and generalizations, June 16, 2009
By 
M. Ward (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Get rich, be successful, blog, podcast, blah... I feel like it is 1999 all over again.

My issues with this book are:

1. It is very light on critical analysis of when these technologies are of value. Face it -- hundreds of thousand of businesses should not have blogs or employ most of these technologies.

2. There is almost no information on the return on investment of these technologies versus other marketing media or tactics. Having a media / PR person spend 10 hours developing a sketch media plan, buying ads in a circular, building an email list, etc. could be 1,000 times more beneficial than spending the hundreds of hours that costs to implement most of these tactics well.

3. The goals for using each technology should be crystal clear and realistic and the hype in this book does not reflect that.

4. Rising above the noise on the Internet is really, really hard. This book gives you no information on how to do that beyond the age old adage of "know your buyer."

I started to write - it's ironic that there is a chapter on "how to develop thoughtful content" and then I had a realization that the author is actually a good marketer. This book isn't about imparting knowledge and being useful to businesses and organizations. It's about selling books. The author is very aware of his buyer - it is somebody who is rightfully in awe of the Internet and its viral potential, heard Dell figured out how to make $3 million on twitter (their ad budget is $1.5 billion per year), and doesn't know what their first step should be. Unfortunately, this book isn't a good place to start. That person would be better served by learning about these technologies on wikipedia, reading the ClickZ website (an actually useful resources for online marketing) and asking themselves the critical questions about how these new tools could realistically improve their marketing effort.

More critical analysis of when these technologies should be used is needed, not this drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 146 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas, but several misguided assumptions, August 16, 2007
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
If you are a marketing or PR professional who pays attention to new trends, you likely know much of the information in this book. Some sections may be useful for your executives to read when you are having trouble justifying investments in blogging and other new media activity. You may also find some useful ideas or techniques in the many examples presented here.

However, the author's arguments are hindered by his assumption that corporate marketing and PR staff are dinosaurs stuck in the practice of indiscriminate push advertising and media pitches. Scott spends too much time touting press releases as the best way to reach blog readers, a concept that ignores the true potential of blogs and related media for communicating in a deeper and more engaging way with potential customers. He also ignores the very real legal and market constraints that control much of corporate communications in his longing for businesses to adapt the free-for-all communications style of the independent blogging world. It is an unfair judgment to criticize corporate communicators for not living up to this unrealistic expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Rules of Marketing & PR, February 3, 2008
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
Waste of time for small business owners, this is more for bigger company that has millions of marketing budget. A lot of theory, but few practical stuff that I can actually do without money. Instead I would recommend Word of Mouth Marketing by Andy Sernovitz, I found it to be a lot more helpful for my business. There are things in there I can actually start doing right away to better my business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Rules brings together online marketing & PR in an accessible form, May 27, 2007
By 
Barry S. Graubart "b graubart" (Irvington, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
For those who read David's Web Ink Now blog [...], the themes of this book will be familiar. David released an eBook, the New Rules of PR, last year, focusing on direct-to-consumer press releases. That eBook, plus all of his experiences in viral marketing have led to this new book.

The book expands beyond PR to include online marketing, viral marketing and leveraging content. As David points out, in this new environment, these areas are all converging. A news release, posted to your website, simply becomes marketing content to the reader. As with his previous book, Cashing in With Content, Scott uses compelling real-world examples to demonstrate the benefits of these methods.

Roughly half the book is focused on putting these concepts to practice in your own environment. These ten chapters provide specific guidance for understanding buyer personas, using content to position your company as a thought leader and writing content that will resonate with your buyers. There are also hands-on chapters on blogging, podcasting and leveraging social networking sites.

The New Rules of Marketing and PR covers a lot of ground in less than 300 pages. For traditional marketers and executives, the book is an accessible guide to the emerging models. For those knee-deep in online marketing already, the New Rules serves as a useful checklist of tips and tools to ensure that your marketing, PR and content are working together to help you achieve your goals.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Commense Sense and Internet 101, April 5, 2008
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
I am a Flash Developer at a media production company in Indianapolis. I was hoping to get more insight into internet marketing, but instead I just found a long drawn out series of articles that could fall under the title of Common Sense or the internet 101.

I still gave it two stars since I guess it could be useful to people who do not know what blogs, forums, or wiki's are. To the rest of you, stay away. Try Meatball Sundae instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for people completely unfamiliar with online marketing., April 19, 2009
By 
I have to say that after reading some of the reviews of this book, I expected a little more substance and detail. Unfortunately, this was not the case.

The author correctly points out that to increase your business presence, one should utilize providing good content through blogging, podcasting, and video podcasting. However, there isn't any good information on how to go about doing it. There are some basics covered but not much in detail.

In addition, he mentions several times that the "old rules" of PR don't completely go away, but doesn't give insight as to how to combine the old and new. This would have been a good point to cover.

In the end, this is a good starter book for those completely new to the concept of online marketing and promotion. However, if you already know the basics, you'll be craving for more material than what the author provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for anyone doing business online, July 10, 2007
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
Sending a "dash and blast" press release to a reporter's already overflowing email inbox no longer cuts it.

To survive in today's "user generated content" world you have to join your buyers and customers in their world -- that is, online, where they are reading and commenting on discussion boards, updating Wiki entries, and writing blog posts.

Miss or ignore a negative post and you can potentially see millions of dollars drain from your corporate coffers.

What I liked about this book is that David explains how all the new techhologies and old media can work together -- RSS in media rooms, corporate blogs and PR, and podcasting and branding -- to help buyers find your company's products and services.

He gives practical advice on how to pitch the media (hint: don't spam them with untargeted press releases), how to monitor and respond to discussion forums, and how to monitor the blogosphere for "viral eruptions."

Whether you're a corporate PR pro or a small business owner, this book will help you navigate your way through the new methods of reaching your customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basic primer, July 26, 2007
This review is from: The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to Use News Releases, Blogs, Podcasting, Viral Marketing and Online Media to Reach Buyers Directly (Hardcover)
This is not a technical manual that goes into detail about the ins and outs of marketing and PR. It's really geared toward the novice or intermediate without much of a general background in the above mentioned categories. Scott's reputation precedes him; however, I don't know much about him beyond what I've read in this book and snippets elsewhere such as on the internet. Nevertheless, if you're a novice in the field of online marketing and need some good general insight into what's out there on the World Wide Web and how to use those tools, this is a good place to start. I've found that shopping online for additional detailed information on the material covered here in a general manor is the next step beyond Scott's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.