Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hanoi john
funny how there are no books for sale except for one trick trying to rip anyone off for $795? if kerry had any courage, pride, or any virtue left, he would allow a reprint of this treasonous book. marines who find the iwo jima memorial an icon for what was done in the name of freedom in the okinawan islands are not happy kerry took the symbol and turned it into a commie...
Published on February 23, 2004 by leevela

versus
64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kerry. a JFK Wannabe on steroids
Being a Vietnam vet, I read this book hoping to find open, constructive criticism of a war few loved. Instead I find a person that obviously went to Vietnam since it was the only opportunity available to follow his ambitions of being a JFK clone. I was in the Navy when JFK was assasinated, one of the saddest days of my life. Now this pretender wants that image.
The...
Published on March 23, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kerry. a JFK Wannabe on steroids, March 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
Being a Vietnam vet, I read this book hoping to find open, constructive criticism of a war few loved. Instead I find a person that obviously went to Vietnam since it was the only opportunity available to follow his ambitions of being a JFK clone. I was in the Navy when JFK was assasinated, one of the saddest days of my life. Now this pretender wants that image.
The entirity of his military, post-discharge, and political ambitions seem choreographed to build the image he wanted to portray. If these ambitions had been natural and sincere, then he might be believeable when he expresses a position. However, his changing positions on important issues, to affect others opinions of him, only further demonstrate his lack of sincerity and credibility. Too bad this book did not sell better, more Americans might have a better glimpse of the real person- not of his "image". He obviously cares about little besides his personal interests and will say whatever it takes, depending on his audience, to get what he wants.
How can anyone that knows about his record believe anything he says, about Vietnam or any important subject? I have considered burning only one book in my life- this one, just as he burned the flag and degraded those who died for their country whether they believed in the war or not. Their memories should haunt him to the end. I pray that anyone is president but him. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 122 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lieutenant Flip-Flop-The New Liar, April 21, 2004
By 
John P (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
The reason why you don't see the image of the book cover here, is probably the same reason why new copies of this book are no longer available: John Kerry doesn't want the American public see it! John Kerry has been actively involved in keeping the publishers of this book from releasing new printings. I guess despite his many short-comings, he is apparently smart enough to know this would raise way too many questions about his integrity (if he has ANY!) and his activities after the war. In closing, I let the US Constitution give its opinion on this:
No person shall be a Senator or Representative in Congress, or elector of President and Vice President, or hold any office, civil or military, under the United States, or under any state, who, having previously taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or as an officer of the United States, or as a member of any state legislature, or as an executive or judicial officer of any state, to support the Constitution of the United States, shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the same, or given aid or comfort to the enemies thereof. But Congress may by a vote of two-thirds of each House, remove such disability.
-- United States Constitution, 14th Amendment, Section 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A New Literary Classic?, May 4, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
Odd. I wonder why this book isn't available. The author is the Democratic party nominee for President of the United States of America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fairytale garbage!, July 31, 2004
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
This is a fairytale picturebook written by a bunch of unhappy Viet Nam vets with nothing but distain and hatred for their own country. Why, you ask, is the cover not shown? It's not that there is no image available, au contraire, it's that the cover shows several dirty, unshaven hippie types defacing an upside down flown U.S. flag, and would be political dynamite against the presidential aspirations of the author and main conspirator. Apparently amazon.com is too politically correct to ever let that happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ketchup Kerry, February 28, 2004
By 
jamescroak (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
How does one win three purple hearts in three months without ever having seen the inside of a hospital, well you won't find the answer in this book. Indeed the first and third purple hearts required no medical treatment at all, the second one two stiches for a small cut. But, presto, three purple hearts and according to Navy regulations one is out of combat forever, and thus so was Kerry. Oh, and he also won the bronze and silver star during his recuperation from his multiple, well what shall we call it, "wounds." I read this book when it came out, I was in college and it was assigned for my Poly Sci class as it was called then. We were very impressed as only nineteen year olds could be, three decades later my B.S. detector is tripping off the scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where's the cover picture?, May 4, 2004
By 
R. Bartlett (California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
The cover on versions I've seen and heard about is a picture of the Marines in WWII at Iwo Jima carrying the flag upside down. Mr. Kerry has ordered that that picture not be reproduced, and no re-printing of the book. That is how disgracefully dishonest this man is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kerry is a weakling, August 8, 2004
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
After reading this book you will know he's not the right man for the White House. I think the Bush-campaign should make it avaliable in the election campaign. Kerry would never stand a chance if people knew what a weakling he really is and how he hates his country. In these times of "terro-war" we don't need a man even weeker than Jimmy Carter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read America's "most banned" book!, May 4, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
Since hard copies are rarer than a straight answer from Hanoi John (and nobody beneath his lofty income bracket can afford them), try [...] At Ebay's going rate, you'll save about $800.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Post the book on DNC website!, April 26, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
$850 on Amazon (without autograph)? If Mr. Kerry wants to use Vietnam for his campaign, he should post the book so we could all see the REAL Mr. Kerry.
One who throws away medals (ribbons represent medals) as worthless objects of shame ought not to hang them on his senate wall. You can't eat your cake and have it too.
To the reader from Colorado Springs: Too bad that literacy is no longer required for voting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars John Kerry Called Vietnam Vets "babykillers", February 20, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Soldier (Paperback)
John Kerry and his associate Jane Fonda ran the The Vietnam (faux) Veterans Against the War Organization. They were instrumental in helping North Vietnam win the war and turning the tide. North Vietnam was ready to surrender conditionally until Kerry & Fonda rendered their aid.
As the American POWs returned home in 1973, they spoke out about the inhumane treatment and torture they had suffered as prisoners of war. Their stories directly contradicted Jane Fonda's earlier statements of 1972.
Some of the American POWs such as Senator John McCain, a former Presidential candidate, stated that he was tortured by his guards for refusing to meet with Jane Fonda and her group. Jane Fonda, in her response to these new allegations, referred to the returning POWs as being "hypocrites and liars."
The Wall Street Journal (August 3, 1995) published an interview with Bui Tin who served on the General Staff of the North Vietnam Army and received the unconditional surrender of South Vietnam on April 30, 1975. During the interview Mr. Tin was asked if the American antiwar movement was important to Hanoi's victory.
Mr. Tin responded "It was essential to our strategy" referring to the war being fought on two fronts, the Vietnam battlefield and back home in America through the antiwar movement on college campuses and in the city streets. He further stated the North Vietnamese leadership listened to the American evening news broadcasts "to follow the growth of the American antiwar movement." Visits to Hanoi made by persons such as Jane Fonda, former Attorney General Ramsey Clark and various church ministers "gave us confidence that we should hold on in the face of battlefield reverses."
Mr. Tin surmised that "America lost because of its democracy; through dissent and protest it lost the ability to mobilize a will to win." Mr. Tin further advised that General Vo Nguyen Giap (Commanding General of the North Vietnam Army) said the 1968 Tet Offensive was a defeat. Gen. Giap in his book, made the same statement, adding that they were surprised by the news media reporting and the demonstrations in America. Instead of seeking a conditional surrender, they would now hold out because America's resolve was weakening and victory could be theirs.
From 1969 to the end of the war over 20,000 American soldiers lost their lives in a war that the United States did not have the resolve to win. If General Giap was accurate in his assessment that North Vietnam was going to seek a conditional surrender at the Paris Peace Conference, but stopped due to the sensationalism of the American news media and the anti-war protests following the 1968 Tet Offensive, it follows that those who participated in these anti-war activities have to share partial responsibility for those 20,000 + Americans deaths.
We won the war on the battlefield but lost it back home on the college campuses and in the city streets.
Americans must realize that there are agents* operating in this Country attempting to undermine our Country and it's leadership through our democratic principles in an effort to achieve a foreign country's goal. A prime example of such a person during the Vietnam War was Jane Fonda, an admitted Socialist, who blatantly supported North Vietnam. * Agent - Any person who works to obtain the goals of another nation either for money or for their own political beliefs.
A valuable lesson was taught by North Vietnam to other nations on how the United States may be defeated by fighting a two front war - the battlefield and the American home front. We must be aware of this vulnerability.
In 1975, after the fall of the South Vietnam Government, Jane Fonda returned to Hanoi with her newborn son Troy for a celebration in her honor for the work she had done for North Vietnam. During the celebration, her son was christened after a Viet Cong hero, Nguyen Van Troi. Troi had attempted to assassinate Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara while on his visit to South Vietnam in 1963. The South Vietnam Government executed Troi for this attempted assassination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New Soldier
The New Soldier by John Kerry (Paperback - Oct. 1971)
Used & New from: $13.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.