Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positive and entertaining romantic comedy.
After his friends flake out on his planned 40th birthday celebration, Doug (Eric Dean) is feeling alone, with nobody special in his life, except for Jacob (Michael Nicklin), an older man with whom he occasionally gets together. When hunky 30 year old new neighbor Colton (Benjamin Lutz) comes to the door, a fortunate misunderstanding throws he and Doug together, and they...
Published on November 29, 2012 by Bob Lind

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the time
This flick had absolutely no redeeming factor.
The lead character made a mockery with a
performance that was extremely overacted.
Silly, cheap, stereotypical and absurd.
Published 20 months ago by N. L. Bernier


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positive and entertaining romantic comedy., November 29, 2012
By 
Bob Lind "camelwest" (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Men Next Door (DVD)
After his friends flake out on his planned 40th birthday celebration, Doug (Eric Dean) is feeling alone, with nobody special in his life, except for Jacob (Michael Nicklin), an older man with whom he occasionally gets together. When hunky 30 year old new neighbor Colton (Benjamin Lutz) comes to the door, a fortunate misunderstanding throws he and Doug together, and they start to develop a promising relationship. All goes well until he finds out that Colton is actually Jacob's son, so he has been dating "the boy next door" and his dad!.

An interesting and amusing screenplay by director Rob Williams, with an ambitious cast of supportive players that adds much to the story. An amusing situation, but it also raises serious issues about ageism in the gay community, as well as making a sacrifice for the happiness of someone you love. It's a positive message appropriate for viewing in mixed company.

DVD has deleted scenes, bloopers, commentary and a "making of" featurette. Not rated, but would be a light R for brief nudity and sexual content. Five stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie. Actually has a plot unlike most gay movies., February 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Men Next Door (DVD)
This movie was a great film. We watch a lot of gay movies that are plotless or it seems as if the film makers ran out of money during production. A lot of the movies just kind of end leaving you guessing what happens next. This film was very interesting and it has a surprise ending.

What I liked most about this film was the fact that it seemed real and it also addressed the older generation of gay men. Unfortunately 50 is like 80 to most gay men. Just remember that the older gay men paved the way for a more acceptable society for younger gay men. I am in my 40's and my partner is 30 years older than myself. We have had a wonderful and monogamous relationship for 13 years now. Yes this is a big age difference, but chemistry is chemistry and what we have together works on so many levels. I just wish that this film was available in Blu-ray format, but the picture quality is really great and it does not have black bars.

I would definitely recommend this movie to anyone who is dating an older or younger man as they will relate to the film more than the 20 somethings will, unless they have older partners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a 50-year-old gay man, I could relate to the plights of the 40-year-old and 50-year-old characters in this movie. It's simply not easy aging in the gay community, and being older on the gay dating scene is particularly challenging. The criticisms that some Amazon reviewers have made of this film didn't hold true for me. The production values were remarkably strong for an Indie. There were at least six distinctly different locations for the action -- a Pilates studio, "Doug's" house, "Colton's" rental, "Jacob's" mountain cabin, "Derek's" house & patio, and "Evelyn's" kitchen. The gay male characters weren't particularly butch or femme, they were just guys. The one exception was the flamboyant comic relief provided by "Doug's" employee at the Pilates studio. The gratuitous full-frontal nudity of actor Mark Cirillo was a pleasant surprise, and made me look at him in a different light, having just seen him in another gay-themed indie this weekend. On balance, this film was a delightful way to spend a little time on Christmas afternoon. And, best of all, the story ended far differently than I expected. A delightfully unexpected conclusion was frosting on the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Men Next Door: The kind of neighbors I would like to have., February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Men Next Door (DVD)
I found this movie to be sweet and funny. All the leads were endearing. A bit of nudity but nothing that distracts from the story. It has a nice pace to it and nothing seems rushed. These are the kind of movies that I enjoy the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun and interesting, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it was a nice and relaxing movie to watch. A nice evening in movie with things that make you go hmmmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute & Fun, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Would've loved to see more of the romance aspect, but I'll take what I can get with regard to gay films today. I had a good time with this film. Don't look for anything deep, just a light-hearted piece of entertainment. And exactly what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good to the last minutes, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Men Next Door (DVD)
Very good job by all the players. Each character added a new level of interest in the plot. It is difficult to decide who to root for success within the relation ship. In the end I think the right man got the job, in as much as he would meet the expectations of a husband rather than a lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must see, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie. Actors are gorgeous. Storyline is great. The movie holds your attention to the very end. It's definitely a just see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I should be so lucky, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So I'm a sucker for a happy ending. I probably would give it 3.5 stars, but that does not seem to be an option.
This is a fun story line, with just enough eye candy to keep you interested.
Lots of fun, and a few lol moments.
Good date movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awkward Drama That Sort of Works., February 2, 2013
Doug (Eric Dean - `Arizona Sky') is a forty year old gay man who is dating a fifty year old man Jacob (Michael Nicklin) and they are getting along just fine, but not ready to commit. Then on the night of Doug's actual fortieth birthday he invites all his friends around, and they all fail to show for various reasons. His brother does send a stripogram though, only it's a lady. Then hunky next door neighbour calls round with some mis delivered mail and things sort of happen, as they only can in the movies.

Any way his bestest gal pal Evelyn (Heidi Rhodes) turns up and catches them, but she is actually really supportive and Doug decides to see both men as Colton is thirty he has one lover ten years older and one ten years younger - possibly a dream come true. Colton is played by Benjamin Lutz who you may remember from `The Love Patient' and as ever is really rather good. But there is always going to be a problem with trying to see both men and his schedule gets busier and busier and it is inevitable that both men will eventually meet, even though they know it is an open relationship, but the real big deal is that they are father and son - oh very dear indeed.

Anyway this is billed as a fast paced gay comedy, well it is not my idea of fast to be honest and I did not find myself reaching for the Kleenex to wipe away tears of mirth - or for any other reason as there is not that much in the way of bed room diversion either let alone a gratuitous shower scene; never mind. However, that said I found this to be a rather an awkward funny and as such much more of a drama. There are some well observed lighter moments, but selling it on the gags is a bit mis leading. The acting is all above par and Eric Dean is a great leading man, we even get Mark Cirillo (Going Down in La La Land) doing a good supporting role, and at a ninety minute run it is a satisfying film in many ways.

This does deal with the obsession of youth rather well which is often missing from main stream films let alone those of this genre. So if you like a warm love drama and like a gay film that is not an excuse for lots of rumpy pumpy then you will find something here of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Men Next Door
The Men Next Door by Rob Williams (DVD - 2012)
$24.99 $12.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.