Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top transfer of top movie
This is NOT the poor (bizarre actually) Castaway DVD. Top quality transfer of a fascinating movie that combines suspense with a cynical exploration of war. Peter O'Toole's portrayal of General Tanz is by itself worth the price of the DVD.
Published on April 30, 2011 by Stan Mark Kaplan

versus
205 of 227 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Generals
I'd waited a long time for this to come out on DVD and was excited when I found this print available on Amazon. Regrettably, upon receiving the DVD I discovered that the quality was dreadful. This is undoubtedly the worst transfer of a film I've ever seen, and after looking at it for just a minute or so, I found myself getting a headache. The print is so blurred I...
Published on August 7, 2007 by K. Parker


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

205 of 227 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Generals, August 7, 2007
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
I'd waited a long time for this to come out on DVD and was excited when I found this print available on Amazon. Regrettably, upon receiving the DVD I discovered that the quality was dreadful. This is undoubtedly the worst transfer of a film I've ever seen, and after looking at it for just a minute or so, I found myself getting a headache. The print is so blurred I actually adjusted my glasses a few times to ensure that it was not me.
Do yourself a favor and wait for a cleaner version than this wretched one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 121 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, Poor qualty, March 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
I've purchased the movie because I love the movie. Returned it because of its awful picture quality. The foreground is blury, the background is dark and snowy. Take my words for it and don't buy it! You buy it, you'll suck it. supplier must improve the qualty. For $21 it must have a quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top transfer of top movie, April 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
This is NOT the poor (bizarre actually) Castaway DVD. Top quality transfer of a fascinating movie that combines suspense with a cynical exploration of war. Peter O'Toole's portrayal of General Tanz is by itself worth the price of the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Official US DVD Release (4/2011) Has Excellent Transfer, April 26, 2011
By 
AJ "AJ" (Northern Tier, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
Please be aware that the new Columbia DVD release of "Night Of The Generals" contains an excellent transfer of the movie. The complaints about bad picture quality refer to previously issued DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a viewer in Pennsylvania who likes dialogue in films., June 19, 1999
By A Customer
The object of any murder mystery is to keep the viewer or reader in suspense. The Night of the Generals succeeds. When I saw this film in the mid-sixties, I was spellbound. Yes, I was distracted with subplots and a film with a somewhat sluggish pace. But shouldn't a murder mystery work at distracting and confusing the viewer? When the murderer is finally revealed, you will feel rewarded at the final outcome. Although I enjoy Omar Sharif's acting abilities, I think someone else could have been better suited for his role as the investigator. Sadly, no one has bothered to complement Maurice Jarre for a brilliant score. His macabre waltz which is played throughout the film is chilling. View this film with the lights off and the receiver off the hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior quality, December 31, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
Folks, forget the reviews carping about quality. The DVD now being issued is the real thing - full length, full screen, and high quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible copy!, December 17, 2008
By 
C. Link (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
Do not order this DVD. It is unwatchable. It skips and freezes. I really like this movie but you will either send it back or chuck it in the trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine story, well acted, despite some B-movie elements, October 18, 2002
By 
Cesar Cruz (Albuquerque, NM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been recommending "The Night of the Generals" to friends for years. Although strictly speaking it is a murder mystery, it contains so many other elements that make this a very entertaining movie.
Take away all of the successful surface elements - the amazing cast, the historical backdrop, the many tensions of flawed leaders at war, etc. - and you still have a story that has a lot of important things to say. Every character is magnificent as they try to wrangle with murder, war, justice, love, fear, heroism, brutality, family, and other matters. This seems like a lot - and it is - but the acting and the script combine to make it work.
What tends to turn people off is that admittedly the large infusion of supporting characters and subplots can make this film a little confusing and strange. Peter O'Toole's character in particular is as cold and stiff as a corpse in a Russian winter. Omar Sharif's passion for solving the crime is at times over the top. But it is precisely each strong personality that makes each character compelling and vulnerable. The other perceived drawback is that 1960s WWII dramas tend to be somewhat campy. There are parts with very poor dubbing (from primarily the foreign extras). Also, the fact that most of the characters - including nearly every Nazi - have British accents has always made me laugh. One just has to get past those oddities and pay attention to the script/story.
Probably the best compliment is that it simply doesn't matter if you know who the murderer is. All of the other intrigue still makes this a fantastic movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars General Tanz "Nobody Rots With Me", April 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
Sony gets five stars for an excellent quality DVD, the picture quality is really sharp and this film looks like it has been completely restored. Very good image detail and lite film grain, no artifacts to speak of. Even General Tanz would approve this clean DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improved DVD, April 26, 2011
By 
R. Sutton (Rio Vista, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Night of the Generals (DVD)
The "Studio" has finally released this film to DVD (April 2011) and it is FAR superior to DVDs that have been out there. If you loved the film, you need to order the new release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Night of the Generals
The Night of the Generals by Anatole Litvak (DVD - 2011)
$14.99 $9.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.