Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Night Of The Generals
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 7, 2007
I'd waited a long time for this to come out on DVD and was excited when I found this print available on Amazon. Regrettably, upon receiving the DVD I discovered that the quality was dreadful. This is undoubtedly the worst transfer of a film I've ever seen, and after looking at it for just a minute or so, I found myself getting a headache. The print is so blurred I actually adjusted my glasses a few times to ensure that it was not me.
Do yourself a favor and wait for a cleaner version than this wretched one.
66 comments|224 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2011
Please be aware that the new Columbia DVD release of "Night Of The Generals" contains an excellent transfer of the movie. The complaints about bad picture quality refer to previously issued DVD's.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2011
This is NOT the poor (bizarre actually) Castaway DVD. Top quality transfer of a fascinating movie that combines suspense with a cynical exploration of war. Peter O'Toole's portrayal of General Tanz is by itself worth the price of the DVD.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2008
I've purchased the movie because I love the movie. Returned it because of its awful picture quality. The foreground is blury, the background is dark and snowy. Take my words for it and don't buy it! You buy it, you'll suck it. supplier must improve the qualty. For $21 it must have a quality.
11 comment|111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 1999
The object of any murder mystery is to keep the viewer or reader in suspense. The Night of the Generals succeeds. When I saw this film in the mid-sixties, I was spellbound. Yes, I was distracted with subplots and a film with a somewhat sluggish pace. But shouldn't a murder mystery work at distracting and confusing the viewer? When the murderer is finally revealed, you will feel rewarded at the final outcome. Although I enjoy Omar Sharif's acting abilities, I think someone else could have been better suited for his role as the investigator. Sadly, no one has bothered to complement Maurice Jarre for a brilliant score. His macabre waltz which is played throughout the film is chilling. View this film with the lights off and the receiver off the hook.
55 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
Folks, forget the reviews carping about quality. The DVD now being issued is the real thing - full length, full screen, and high quality.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2011
Sony gets five stars for an excellent quality DVD, the picture quality is really sharp and this film looks like it has been completely restored. Very good image detail and lite film grain, no artifacts to speak of. Even General Tanz would approve this clean DVD.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2002
I have been recommending "The Night of the Generals" to friends for years. Although strictly speaking it is a murder mystery, it contains so many other elements that make this a very entertaining movie.
Take away all of the successful surface elements - the amazing cast, the historical backdrop, the many tensions of flawed leaders at war, etc. - and you still have a story that has a lot of important things to say. Every character is magnificent as they try to wrangle with murder, war, justice, love, fear, heroism, brutality, family, and other matters. This seems like a lot - and it is - but the acting and the script combine to make it work.
What tends to turn people off is that admittedly the large infusion of supporting characters and subplots can make this film a little confusing and strange. Peter O'Toole's character in particular is as cold and stiff as a corpse in a Russian winter. Omar Sharif's passion for solving the crime is at times over the top. But it is precisely each strong personality that makes each character compelling and vulnerable. The other perceived drawback is that 1960s WWII dramas tend to be somewhat campy. There are parts with very poor dubbing (from primarily the foreign extras). Also, the fact that most of the characters - including nearly every Nazi - have British accents has always made me laugh. One just has to get past those oddities and pay attention to the script/story.
Probably the best compliment is that it simply doesn't matter if you know who the murderer is. All of the other intrigue still makes this a fantastic movie.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2008
Do not order this DVD. It is unwatchable. It skips and freezes. I really like this movie but you will either send it back or chuck it in the trash.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2011
FINALLY they have released this for the U.S. market. Others have complained, and maybe rightly so, that their copies of earlier releases were crappy. Rest assured - this one put out by Sony is awesome.

Peter O'Toole plays such a butthole in this movie. I would use stronger language, but you get my drift. The cast is superb, the color and sound is great. Omar Sharif - what an actor. But his movie belongs to Mr. O'Toole.

If you have been waiting for this movie - wait no more. Buy it, buy it, buy it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.