Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 3, 2013
I wonder if Sister Nelson includes Prozac on the list of things Tyler should try not even once. Because when poor Tyler grows up and feels so guilty and depressed because he's a human and makes human mistakes he's going to be needing a lot of counseling and pharmaceuticals to help him feel normal if he takes the message of this book to heart. This book is embarrassing, completely disregards the Atonement of Christ, and should never have been allowed to be printed.
0Comment|259 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
Once upon a time there was a group of people who wanted to be better than everybody else. They forgot about weightier matters of the law such as love, humility, and Grace and began looking beyond the mark.

They decided to form a club, an elite group of people who were better than the rest, detached and separate. They called themselves the prushim (pharisee) because they were superior to lesser mortals.

In order to meet where nobody else could meet they build a Great and Spacious Tree house, up above the other people where only the select few could meet.

They decided to name the Great and Spacious Tree House, Rameumptom, and whenever they would gather there they would talk about how thankful they were that there was nobody else like them and how thankful they were that they didn't believe in the Grace of Christ.

What they didn't understand is that everybody thinks they are better than everybody else, and the only way to be truly unique is to be humble.
99 comments|236 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
Whatever happened to Jesus Christ and the Atonement? What an awful message to our children. WE ALL MAKE MISTAKES. ALL OF US. We grow from them and (hopefully) become better people. I do not like the message of this book at all.
0Comment|162 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
This book teaches children that they must not disobey God's commandments: "Not. Even. Once." This is a COMPLETELY impossible standard, and it sets children up for failure, shame, and humiliation.

Mistakes are part of life. They are necessary for growth. God's grace is amazing precisely because it helps us learn from our mistakes and become better people.

Children deserve much better than this book. Zero stars.
1212 comments|207 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
All kids need is to feel guilty. That's the purpose of this book. Make them feel the stress of guilt. Because you know what? NO ONE EVER on this planet has ever, and I mean EVER made it "not even once" through any sin. And Sister Nelson wants kids to think they can. Well, the first moment they falter, how are they going to feel? They've lost their battle with Satan ALREADY! And they're only 8 years old! Seriously, this is a terrible book for children.
0Comment|173 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
This legalistic view of the gospel completely denies the need for an atonement. Seeing yourself or others as broken for committing one sin/breaking a commandment is offensive to Christ as someone who can help us overcome all sin. This book's premise is sure to lead to kids judging each other and deeply shaming themselves in the process. This seems to be a trend in the Mormon culture that belittles the power of Jesus and his greatest commandment, love.
11 comment|160 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
It may be a nice idea to teach our kids to never make bad choices "Not Even Once", it's just not a realistic idea.
The fact is, we teach our children what is right, but it is just as important for them to have the agency to choose for themselves. It is also just as important for us to teach our children that we as humans are not perfect and we will make mistakes. Where is the repentance part in this book? Didn't our Savior die for us so we can be forgiven? Isn't that a HUGE part to leave out?
For a more detailed review of this book check out this link. [...]
0Comment|110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
This book carries a damaging message, teaching kids they can go through life without making any mistakes is probably the worst message to teach children. WE ALL MAKE MISTAKES. We grow from our mistakes. For a church that has Jesus Christ in the name, this book has nothing to do with Jesus and his atonement. Sounds more like Satan's plan in the pre-existance. If you want to teach your kids false teachings - buy this book! I gave it one star because I couldn't give it 0 stars.
66 comments|99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
This book teaches children that they are not allowed to make mistakes, that they must be perfect. There was only one perfect person to walk the Earth and that was Jesus Christ. He died for our sins and provided a way for us to atone for our mistakes through repentance. The gospel of Jesus Christ is based on love . We all make mistakes and to market a book to children that tells them that mistakes are not allowed is damaging. This book does not promote Christlike love or teach the gospel of Jesus Christ. Please do not buy it for your child. If you want your child to know about keeping the commandments and about Christ, read them the scriptures.
0Comment|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
Feeling down? Like you can never win? Wendy Nelson agrees with you! If you want to feel worthless, this book is perfect for you and your impressionable children.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.