Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet romance with a good mystery too.
The Nude was a very nice story set in Regency England about the doings of the aristocracy. Elsbeth was an admirable heroine who was trying to recover from a very abusive marriage that left her practically penniless after her husband was killed. She was a very proper lady and her world was turned upside down when she was at an art show and a painting of herself in the nude...
Published on August 4, 2012 by Dafna Yee

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Nude
The story is very long, and there are so many characters without real clear information as to their role. Situations were presented as rather murky, and too many situations continue through the book, leaving loose ends. I did not find much historical reference in the book except for the ton. Confusion as to the dual identities of the artist.

I recommended...
Published 9 months ago by Natalie A. Clerc


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet romance with a good mystery too., August 4, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
The Nude was a very nice story set in Regency England about the doings of the aristocracy. Elsbeth was an admirable heroine who was trying to recover from a very abusive marriage that left her practically penniless after her husband was killed. She was a very proper lady and her world was turned upside down when she was at an art show and a painting of herself in the nude was revealed. The artist was the mysterious man known only as Dionysus who Elsbeth had never met but no one believed her. Nigel, a VERY eligible bachelor, took it upon himself to save Elsbeth's reputation by sponsoring her at a house party he gave. Events are complicated by an unknown person who was determined to kill Nigel and didn't care who else got injured or killed. Despite all of Elsbeth's fears, Nigel was so kind to her (as well as being irresistibly sexy) that she fell in love with him anyway.

I enjoyed reading this story very much not least because I didn't figure out who the murderer was until he was revealed. Dorothy McFalls writes very well and while there were some editing mistakes, I didn't find that they interfered with the smooth flow of the story. This story struck an especially deep chord with me because I used to work with victims of domestic violence. I was really pleased that Elsbeth got a HEA ending.

Overall, I found this to be a lovely reading experience and I would certainly recommend it to others. (BTW, in response to the reviewer that gave this book a one-star rating and said that it was "soft core porn," I found the sex scenes to be very tastefully done.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid historical romance, with a twist, October 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
I love a good romance with a HEA, and this author really knows how to deliver! Although the story took a bit to get moving, and dragged a bit from too many plot twists, I loved the heroine for her strength and resolve to finally be happy and the hero for his undying love, support, and understanding for Elsbeth. I know sex scenes can really put some readers off, so if this is you, don't bother. However, if you enjoy a little spice to your romance, I thought this was well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a best-seller!, September 3, 2012
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
Elsbeth had gone through hell in her first marriage and swore she'd never allow herself to be shackled to another man...ever. It had been her love for the allusive artist, Dionysus, whose paintings touched the very core of her soul, which had been behind her choosing her first husband. Then after the abusive monster died, she accepted financial help from her uncle in payment for her becoming the governess to his two marriageable daughters. Life settled down until the day she went to a gallery showing Dionysus work and found herself again in the center of a scandal. He had painted a nude of her!! But how? Who was this man who had the power to disrupt her sanity, her very life.
Nigel, Marquess of Purbeck, showed an interest in her situation and took it upon himself to save her reputation. Except, instead, he tarnishes it almost beyond repair. Then to make matters worse, he puts her life in jeopardy.
This book is written so well that it flows from page to page and the building emotion continues throughout. I felt as much pain for Nigel as I did for Elsbeth and had to continue reading to make sure they got their happy ending. It was well worth the time spent. Should be a best seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than the typical bodice ripper, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
I loved this novel; it was well developed, engaging, and had two dynamic main characters. This is definitely one that I'll read again and feel like I'm reading for the first time but in the best of ways. As other reviewers have stated, you don't know the identity of one of the villains until the end of the book and at that point small details come together to make sense. That in it self is a testament to the thought and skill that McFalls took in writing this book. Elsbeth was a well developed heroine and she grew as an individual as the novel progressed. Dionysus was never in the spot light but you could never forget him either, and the back story and history associated with him was something that kept me reading on. What really sold this novel for me though was Nigel and how raw and real he felt to me, I would say that even though Elsbeth was meant to be the star of the novel he stole the show. I personally don't believe in giving spoilers but I'm sure you can find some in other reviews if you're more interested in why I might feel this way. Either way, I highly recommend this novel.

I did, however, feel like a more in depth epilogue was missing. Personally, I enjoy seeing a it of what the characters lives are like 1,3,5, or even 10 years into the future. Even without glimpse into the future though, I did enjoy The Nude and the ending for Elsbeth and Nigel. This is a rather chaste romance with only a few exceptions, and even then the intimate aspects are rather veiled. It's not the typical brand of romance that I read but I still enjoyed the novel without the details. I also feel like there should be trigger warning in the synopsis for reasons of abuse even though the details that pertain to past abuse are glossed over you never know what can effect individuals. If you are sensitive to such things I suggest that you proceed with caution, but I feel like with the proper awareness of content you should still be able to enjoy the novel. The Nude is very much about healing and being able to let go of past demons in addition to being a romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nude, January 18, 2014
By 
D Gill (Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
I am truly shocked by the one and two star rating that this book has received... To each his own, I suppose. I ordered the book months ago and just got around to starting it a few days ago... I was hooked by the end of the first chapter and could not put it down!

The plot has been well summarized by other reviewers, so I will stick to what I personally enjoyed: the characters were fully developed and their motivations were clear. By the end of the book you're not only left with an account of what the characters did, but, more importantly, WHY they acted in a particular way. The book is definitely enjoyable as historical romance, but the mystery elements were well done and appreciated. True, some answers are revealed to the reader early on, but it is still enjoyable to "watch" the other characters figure it out. The only thing that bothered me by the end of the book was a small unanswered question: How did the painting get to the London exhibition in the fist place? Was it stolen... Packed up accidentally... By whom? It was not enough to lower my rating, but I do wish it had been addressed. Overall, a highly satisfying book at a really great price.

(The book is similar in romance/mystery feel to "To Walk In The Sun" by Jane Charles, although "The Nude" deals with darker relationship subject matter. I would recommend either book without hesitation.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
I am giving this a 5 because of the powerful emotions this novel evoked in me. I loved it and absolutely hated it at the same time. I loved and loathed the hero in equal measure. Nothing is sacred in this dark tale. This is not a light regency novel, do not let the blurb convince you. This novel is dark and twisted and passionate like the canvases of the mysterious artist that haunts the pages within. This book as well written but at times it seemed a little schizophrenic. The plot would bounce around rather crazily and I am still not sure what happened in the artist's childhood. I want to like this book. I want to like the hero. But he is all too human with human failings and I don't know if I can forgive the author for exposing them. I don't really want such a heavy dose of reality in my fantasy. But if that is your cup of tea then this book is right up your alley. I cautiously recommend this book to Regency Romance lovers who don't mind a dash of Gothic and a side order of realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soo excited that I found this book!, September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
I have read a lot of great books lately but this one is the very best! I am in love with Nigel. I won't to go back to a time where he is! This story has everything that a reader looks for in a good HR. Everything and Nigel too :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Nude, February 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
The story is very long, and there are so many characters without real clear information as to their role. Situations were presented as rather murky, and too many situations continue through the book, leaving loose ends. I did not find much historical reference in the book except for the ton. Confusion as to the dual identities of the artist.

I recommended this book to both my daughter and granddaughter, because they are avid readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising start but deteriorated, August 24, 2013
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
I'm not sure why I've persevered with this author because I don't think I like her style in general. This book really seemed different from the start and I was really enjoying it and the mystery of who was trying to kill the H. Then the author just had to make the h unlikeable. She had some really good ingredients happening like the mysterious artist and his paintings but about mid way through the story became inconsistent and went downhill.

***Spoilers***
I struggle when h's fight against marriage in an illogical way and this h does fight it. Yes I know she'd had a terrible first marriage but she already knew that the H was different. The H marrying the h in a semi-legal way was never cleared up. We were told that he intended to fix it with the Bishop but it's not confirmed and I think it needed to be. The h was forever wavering over the h, sneaking into his bed at night but rejecting him by day. Usually by the time there is a marriage in a book it's a good idea to start building the relationship in a positive way. I just didn't like the h in the end. Throwing in an ex-mistress and a son by that ex seemed gratuitous and I'm totally unsure why the author thought it necessary. Overall there were way to many problems with this story and it's a pity after such a good beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair Historical Romance, September 7, 2012
This review is from: The Nude: full-length historical romance (Kindle Edition)
I am used to formulaic Historical Romances and often find them comforting to read. I mean, I know what I am getting and I am seldom disappointed. They can be like visiting a familiar old friend in which the experience is guaranteed again and again. And that is just what I need sometimes. I wouldn't like a full diet of this, but it is often a safe, comfy, and consistently rewarding read. My path to this "friend" is well worn and easy to tread. There is nothing like safe, fun predictability when the world is in upheaval and I need a respite.

However, in the case of "The Nude," I was disappointed. IMO this cannot touch the pleasure of reading Ms. McCall's book: "The Huntress." I not only enjoyed it and gave it a 5-star rating, that book set me up to expect the same quality in her others books. In this case, I found that the formula was used carelessly. The need to extend the sexual tension between the two characters grew very old and anti-climatic. It was like listening to those old Soap Operas on T. V. where the romantic protagonists keep up the game for at least a year until they finally decide to finally consummate the relationship. I don't like this. Nor did I enjoy it. I will definitely look forward to reading other books by Ms. McCall, but I advise staying clear of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Nude: full-length historical romance
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.